We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to Chill Out”
Review of Te Wanaka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Te Wanaka Lodge
Ranked #17 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here with my husband in early January for two nightsand we were delighted with our choice. We arrived from Queenstown a couple of hours before "official" checking in time - "no problem, just leave your bags with us and we will have your room ready as soon as possible". When we checked in, still early, we were given a tour round the property by Wayne and shown to a very comfortable room with balcony. We were instructed to make the place our own and just ask if we wanted anything and this is the ethos of the place. Wayne and Mandy, the owners, work extremely hard to make you feel welcome and provide a relaxed atmosphere during your stay. We found that nothing was too much trouble.
There is plenty of room to relax in either of the two lounges or the dining room and hot drinks are available all day on a help your self basis - quite a welcome touch when the weather was a bit miserable. Speaking of relax the hot tub is not to be missed and is available on a private pre-booked basis.
The Lodge has a pleasant communal feel about it and we enjoyed chatting with other like minded guests but complete privacy is an option if required. You can always find a quiet spot in one of the lounges and browse a good selection of reading material. A freshly cooked breakfast was enjoyed both days and taken around one very large table in the dining area.
All too soon our stay came to an end. Even though the Lodge is situated quite close to the centre of town Mandy insisted on giving us a lift to the coach stop in her car. It was pouring down with rain at the time and this was a very welcome gesture, indicative of just how far this couple are prepared to go to provide top class service.
I would recommend Te Wanaka Lodge whole heartedly - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SashaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thanks for staying with us in January. We are delighted you thoroughly enjoyed Te Wanaka Lodge, and made great use of all of the guest facilities. You are correct the lodge is a friendly place where guests enjoy sharing their travel stories and interests. I think you must have caught the only bad weather for the summer, so it was our pleasure to drop you at your coach. Thanks again for staying, we hope our paths cross again in the future
Kind regards
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 286 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

I spent two nights with my wife. The hosts are very friendly and breakfast is nice but room we got was very small. No view in spite of a promise we got. The morning cleanup of the room took one minute and was not satisfactory. Too hot in the room and if you open the window you lose privacy and get lot of noise

Room Tip: Check the room before you ook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am terribly sorry you did not receive the room you were promised, it is certainly not our intention to mislead you. This summer had amazing weather, with above average temperatures in the afternoons. We do recommend our guests open the ranch sliders onto the balconies in the afternoons to cool off the rooms. Generally we have lovely cool nights which makes sleeping very comfortable. We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your travel throughout New Zealand.
Kind regards
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The double room we booked was not really what we had expected. Although equipped with a King sized bed the room was very small, the bathroom had only cheap interior equipment. But what bothered us most was the fact that the room temperature at 4 P.M. was about 30 degrees (room was right below the roof) and there was no air condition available.

We decided not to spent the night in this 'oven' and to check out immediately. Although the owner apologized and assured us not to pay the fully amount for two nights 2 days later the full amount was charged.

Room Tip: Not at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HansJuergenT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry you did not feel you wanted to stay at our property. We placed you into a room with a King sized bed as per your specific request. You are correct that we do not have air conditioning in our rooms. We do recommend that our guests do open windows or the ranch slider to cool the room during the warm afternoons, and being in an alpine location the temperature drops considerabley overnight, making sleeping comfortable. We explained this to you when we showed you to your room.
Wayne also explained on your departure that we would only charge you if we were unable to sell this room for the 2 evenings. Unfortunately we did not get an enquiry for these 2 nights.
Again I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations, we do wish you a wonderful remainder of your trip ithrough NZ
Kind regards
MandyEnoka
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wayne and Mandy (and lovely Cheryl) have clearly learnt from running a luxury lodge - they are exceptional hosts and anticipate every need: from all day tea and coffee facilities (with a cake of the day!) and an "honour system" bar with local wines & beers, to a pre stay email asking what you would like to do during your time there - down to actually organising all your activities (and including personal recommendations). We stayed over Christmas and they organised a fabulous hamper. Thoughtful touch. Plenty of space to chill out with two guest lounges and the main dining room. Rooms are smallish, most with balconies, with beautiful white bed linen and extremely good beds. Felt like we were part of the family - will definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RION67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Rion it was such a pleasure hosting you both over Christmas, I am so glad you had a special time here in Wanaka. You certainly made the most of what Wanaka has to offer, especially all of the fantastic activities. The Christmas hampers were a huge hit, and we are going to make these an annual option for our guests. We had such a delightful Christmas with a lovely group of guests. We are thrilled you want to return, and look forward to catching up with you during your next stay
Kind regards
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Te Wanaka Lodge has a great welcome, lovely garden with a hot tube, tasty breakfast, great location 5 minutes from the lake and GREAT hosts. Our room was small but clean and nice breeze from the lake kept the room cool in the night even though it was +30C outside during the day. Good value for money if you want something more personal than a hotel room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Katja, thanks so much for your lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. Great that you got to enjoy the hot tub, even during one of the hottest summers we have had. Perhaps it was to soak away the muscles you used when you had your canyoning experience!!! I am pleased you had a comfortable stay, and hope you get the chance to return one day
Kind regards
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Thanks to Mandy and Wayne for being such welcoming and generous hosts. The hot tub in the garden was perfect for relaxing our muscles after our trek -- the tub is wood-crafted and produces the best bubbles ever! They had a good selection of local wines in their honesty bar and delicious choices for teas as well. We enjoyed breakfast, and really appreciated the information they provided to guide our onward travel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you very much for the review. I feel you have captured the true essence of Te Wanaka Lodge and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were quite nice with a very comfy bed and roomy bath. The hosts were wonderful and extremely helpful. They were also interesting to chat with. There were 2 rooms set up as libraries, both very comfortable for looking through their books or having a glass of wine. It felt like home. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, we are really pleased you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at Te Wanaka Lodge. We appreciate your recommendation to other guests.
Kind regards
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
820 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
264 reviews
1.1 mi away
West Meadows Motel
West Meadows Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Wanaka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Wanaka Lodge

Address: 23 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: $112 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Wanaka Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Wanaka Lodge is a contemporary European-style ski lodge and B&B, in the heart of Wanaka. The lodge has a great reputation as a fun and friendly place to stay. Te Wanaka is an easy stroll to the lakefront and village centre with restaurants, shops and cafes. On a hot summer day, guests can relax in the private courtyard garden with a local wine from the house-bar. In the winter skiers enjoy complimentary Apres-Ski, in the guest lounges, in front of the log-fire or a soak in the cedar garden hot-tub. Breakfast is served around a huge antique dining table and features a delicious continental and cooked selection. Then whether skiing, golfing, trout fishing in the crystal clear waters, hiking in the Mt Aspiring National Park, or visiting superb local wineries, you will enjoy a memorable day in our spectacular region. All bedrooms have en-suites, balconies and flat-screen LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Wanaka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing