We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Te Wanaka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Te Wanaka Lodge
Ranked #18 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were quite nice with a very comfy bed and roomy bath. The hosts were wonderful and extremely helpful. They were also interesting to chat with. There were 2 rooms set up as libraries, both very comfortable for looking through their books or having a glass of wine. It felt like home. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, we are really pleased you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at Te Wanaka Lodge. We appreciate your recommendation to other guests.
Kind regards
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 288 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our South island tour the welcome we received as wonderful we checked in and were asked to help ourselves to tea and cake. The rooms were good and very well maintained. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silversurferted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review on Te Wanaka Lodge. We are pleased you enjoyed the lodge facilities and complimentary daily afternoon tea. We appreciate you recommending the lodge to others. We trust you had a wonderful trip throughout our beautiful country
Kind regards
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous bed and breakfast lodge in the heart of Wanaka. Mandy and Wayne are amazing hosts making everyone feel welcome and at home. Gorgeous rooms and surroundings. Delicious breakfast. 5 star accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, we are thrilled you enjoyed your short stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your breakfast and the homely feel of Te Wanaka Lodge.
If you are back down this way again, we would be delighted to have you stay back with us
Kind regards
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The host is wonderful and makes the personal touches to a memorable stay. Located within walking distance to the Main Street you can get advice on best places to eat and visit which is definitely worth listening too as she was spot on. The rooms are spacious with comfy beds and great heating. Tea and coffee is not in the rooms, but available in the communal dining room. Breakfast is wonderful with cereals, fresh fruit, toast and jam as well as the wonderful cooked breakfast of bacon and eggs. If you're lucky sometimes you get a freshly made cakes for afternoon tea........yeah like you will need to eat again!!

Room Tip: Be aware some rooms are upstairs so make sure you can carry your luggage, otherwise book a ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_n_flip25197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Great that you enjoyed our central location and convenience with getting around our lovely town.
We are also thrilled that you enjoyed our delicious breakfasts and home baked afternoon tea. Wanaka is a delightful town with some fabulous restaurants and cafes, and we thoroughly enjoy experiencing these so we can assist out guests with their choices.
Kind regards
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We loved staying at Te Wanaka Lodge for 5 nights in September at the end of the ski season. It's only a short walking distance to shops, bars and restaurants but far enough away to be a quiet retreat. The rooms were a perfect size as we weren't spending all day in them. The generous breakfast (cooked and continental) set us up for the activities of the day ahead. Cheryl, Wayne and Mandy were all extremely helpful and welcoming, we were given heaps of ideas of where to go for dinner and what to do off the slopes. Most of the time we were just happy to read in the lounge room in front of the fire with a glass of wine at the ready! I thoroughly recommend staying at Te Wanaka Lodge for a touch of true lodge 'home away from home' feel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridgeyokido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your week with us - it was a pleasure having you. We love sharing our home away from home with guests and also sharing our local knowledge about where to go, eat, see etc.
We hope to see you again one day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed the night, after just turning up at the door. The owners wre really friendly and made us feel very welcome, felt like we were old mates! For an extra $10 spring for the cottage, it's a great little room. The recommendations for dinner were spot on, and the breakfast served in the morning was far more than we expected. In fact everything about the place exceeded expectations, highly recommend you pay them a visit. Don't want to give it all away as its nice to discover the lovely touches yourself.

Room Tip: Go the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billi_BNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thanks for choosing to stay with us at Te Wanaka Lodge. I am delighted you enjoyed our garden cottage. Being a larger accommodation option, and located in our quaint courtyard garden, this is certainly a popular choice with our guests.
Thanks again for staying and taking the time to provide a review for Te Wanaka
Kind regards
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The Te Wanaka Lodge is convenient situated in Brownston Street, at walking distance from shops and the Lake.
The room was small but very clean. We had a small balcony too. There were nice lounges and you could relax in a wooden bathtub, surrounded by flowers in the small garden downstairs.

The staff was very helpful, nice and friendly and the breakfast was absolutely good.
Nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Te Wanaka Lodge does have a great location, with only a 1 minute walk to the village centre, shops, cafes and wonderful restaurants. I am delighed you enjoyed our facilities and service.
Kind regards
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
848 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
1.1 mi away
West Meadows Motel
West Meadows Motel
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Wanaka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Wanaka Lodge

Address: 23 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: $113 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Wanaka Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Wanaka Lodge is a contemporary European-style ski lodge and B&B, in the heart of Wanaka. The lodge has a great reputation as a fun and friendly place to stay. Te Wanaka is an easy stroll to the lakefront and village centre with restaurants, shops and cafes. On a hot summer day, guests can relax in the private courtyard garden with a local wine from the house-bar. In the winter skiers enjoy complimentary Apres-Ski, in the guest lounges, in front of the log-fire or a soak in the cedar garden hot-tub. Breakfast is served around a huge antique dining table and features a delicious continental and cooked selection. Then whether skiing, golfing, trout fishing in the crystal clear waters, hiking in the Mt Aspiring National Park, or visiting superb local wineries, you will enjoy a memorable day in our spectacular region. All bedrooms have en-suites, balconies and flat-screen LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Te Wanaka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing