We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile”
Review of Te Wanaka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Te Wanaka Lodge
Ranked #16 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at Te Wanaka during the madness of the Rugby World Cup.
The room was very clean but a little dated, but the service definitely made up for it. The staff were friendly and very helpful in suggesting activities for during the day.
Good selection of food for breakfast and a well stocked honesty bar in the lounge.
Easy walking distance to town but away from the bars and noise.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntipodeanAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review for Te Wanaka Lodge, since your stay we have completed a soft refurb of our rooms (see attached management pics). This has been met with fantastic favourable feedback from our guests, which is pleasing.
Thanks again for staying with us, we look forward to hosting you again at Te Wanaka Lodge
Kind regards
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for Te Wanaka Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 274 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2012

Every second of our stay here was delightful. There was free chocolate mud cake, coffee and a selection of teas to enjoy in the afternoon in any one of the lovely cosy lounges. Huge cooked breakfast plus all continental choices. Our room was beautiful and clean with a mountain view. Comfy bed with nice sheets, japanese bath robes, wardrobe, writing desk, heater, tv etc The bathroom was great too - everything supplied right down to cotton wool buds, ear plugs etc. The rooms are a good size but balcony wasn't huge but there are lots of nice spaces to enjoy like the wooden hot tub in the lovely flowery garden. I love the layout and feel of this place - wooden alpine hideaway. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. This is the first review I've written but just wanted to share how great this place is.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your "first" review. We are so delighted you enjoyed Te Wanaka Lodge. It is an absolute pleasure to host you. You have certainly captured the essence of Te Wanaka Lodge, and we are thrilled you enjoyed what we offer here. It was an honor to hear that you feel we were your favourite stay in New Zealand. Thanks again for your recommendation
Kind regards
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from NZ after a Hike along the Milford Track. We decided to spend 5 to 6 days longer to wind down and recuperate. Wow what a suprise. Do not miss out on the chance to spend time in Te wanaka Lodge. 5 star treatment, location and accomodation without the false service equivalent you would get from hotels. Wayne, Mandy (mom) and the kids made our stay so unique we stayed for an extra 2 days beyond what we intended. Dont forget to visit the tv room upstairs a place of solice to kick back. If you like me are into Lego Wayne and Mandy will be only to happy to loan the kids for a few hours with the promise of a slice in payement.
If you truly want to experience NZ at its best in a location central to everything go Te Wanaka Lodge.
Another rare item of note Mc Donalds havnt got there yet. Lots of great local eateries without the coperate logo.
Last but not least for all you walkers, Bikers, sports gurus and romantics try out the old style hot tub.
Thanks wayne and Mandy for making our stay top of the accomodation experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Wow, what a review, we are indeed stoked you had such a wonderful stay. The boys thoroughly enjoyed meeting you, and you will be pleased to know that our lego collection has now multiplied, and they are waiting in anticipation for your return!!!! You were such kind, lovely guests, and we enjoyed sharing our family time with you.
We are also delighed you enjoyed Wanaka and the surrounds. We certainly hope you get the opportunity to come back to Wanaka
Kind regards
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in 2010 by chance. Bad weather pushed our trip around a bit. Te Wanaka was super accommodating at our last minute arrival. The rooms are clean but a little small however; the town is so cute that you won't stay in your room to long. The staff was very friendly. They washed and folded our laundry while we went on a bike ride around the town. This is located just a short walk from many stores and restaurants. It is very quant and has a nice family atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmb11752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Manager at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for the kind review! We pride ourselves on our customer service, location and cleanliness. With our spacious communal dining, living and outdoor areas we are glad you got to spend some time in our cozy lodge while the weather was unfavorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Starting to become a bit blase about the fantastic kiwi welcome everywhere we went, but this was exceptional. Rooms were a bit small but had everything and were clean and comfortable. The small size was made up by the comfortable guest lounges and great breakfast. Location very convenient for the restaurants and lake.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

So pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations with our warm and welcoming atmosphere here at Te Wanaka Lodge! The guest lounges are indeed are fabulous space to enjoy complimentary newspapers, relax or plot your next Wanaka adventure. Our breakfasts are hugely popular and changed daily so every ones palate is satisfied . Thank you so much for taking the time to place your comments and that you had such an enjoyable stay, it was lovely to share our special part of the country with you and hope to do so again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is a small B&B but with several rooms just a short walk from the lake. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable with a little balcony.
The best part was the friendly service, the people working there could not have been nicer.
The breakfast was wonderful with both hot and cold selections. We would have happily stayed longer.
We quite enjoyed the hot tub with a nice glass of wine!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colsolare02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay within the heart of Wanaka at Te Wanaka Lodge your stay so special. We are renowned for our fabulous Breakfast that sets you up for the day and keeps you coming back for more! Set in our private garden the hot tub is often an unexpected bonus and it is good to hear you made the most of this with a glass of bubbles. We hope to entertain you again in the not to distant future and thanks again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We were misled by the guidebook claiming this was a luxurious B&b with lavish breakfasts. Neither is correct. Our room was like an old Butlins' chalet with very thin walls and a very basic en suite. Nice enough public areas but it is located on a noisy main road. Breakfast is just ok, but good coffee.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scot-abroad-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your stay your comments have been taken on board. Our breakfasts are hugely popular and served hot or cold with menu changing daily, we are disappointed your expectation was not met on this occasion. The lounge rooms are a great space to relax and catch up after the days exciting activities although the hot tub is also just as alluring! We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
792 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Wanaka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Wanaka Lodge

Address: 23 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: $93 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Wanaka Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Wanaka Lodge is a contemporary European-style ski lodge and B&B, in the heart of Wanaka. The lodge has a great reputation as a fun and friendly place to stay. Te Wanaka is an easy stroll to the lakefront and village centre with restaurants, shops and cafes. On a hot summer day, guests can relax in the private courtyard garden with a local wine from the house-bar. In the winter skiers enjoy complimentary Apres-Ski, in the guest lounges, in front of the log-fire or a soak in the cedar garden hot-tub. Breakfast is served around a huge antique dining table and features a delicious continental and cooked selection. Then whether skiing, golfing, trout fishing in the crystal clear waters, hiking in the Mt Aspiring National Park, or visiting superb local wineries, you will enjoy a memorable day in our spectacular region. All bedrooms have en-suites, balconies and flat-screen LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Wanaka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing