We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place”
Review of Cardrona Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cardrona Hotel
Ranked #2 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

my husband and i spent a few nights here i can recommend highly the hotel and spa is fantastic the food very good and staff so helpful i thought i would share this as i have just spent the weekend at Cameron house which was such a disappointment it comes well below the Cardrona i certainly wouldnt recommend it but Cardrona is one to recommend

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank isabel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 338 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

We called in after a day on the slopes and enjoyed the hospitality of Cardrona Hotel. We had visited a few years ago and the standard is still very high We love the fact that they don't try and modernise it by ripping out all the old walls and features. The mulled wine went down very well and although we didn't eat on this occasion we overheard very good comments on the food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went to the Cardrona Hotel for a late lunch on a rest day from skiing/boarding. Upon arrival we were disappointed to find they only had a "snacks" menu on offer. We ordered 2 meat pizzas, a bowl of wedges and a plate of vegetarian nachos to share between the 4 of us. Each item we ordered was almost enough to feed 2 and we couldn't finish the wedges but went very close with the pizzas and knocked over the nachos. The quality of the food was good but the pizzas were a bit rich for me and it was very cheap, all around the NZ$12 if I remember right.

The pub itself is in an old heritage listed building with other old buildings around it and a vintage car out the front. They had the fire going inside and the ceiling is plastered with foreign currency. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming and when we went back past it later that afternoon it was packed with skiers and boarders from Cardrona stopping by for an Après ski and a "snack".

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardronaHotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hi there,

Thanks for your feedback on our snack menu. We often find after a day on the mountain hungry and skiers and boarders love the hearty snacks, however if you're not that hungry sharing them is often a good option!

Thanks again for stopping in, hope to see you next Winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I've always enjoyed our meals at the Cardrona Hotel. The place has so much history dating back to the gold rush of the 1800s. Great ambiance, good beer on tap and a very well thought out wine list. Very much approved of their selection of Central Otago Pinot Noirs ranging from value for money choices to some of the very best available such as Felton Road Cornish Point and Gibbston Valley Reserve. As this is a rustic style historic pub in a very isolated location you cannot expect Cordon Bleu type food. That said the food was excellent for our large family and we all enjoyed it very much. I had an excellent steak, my wife was very happy with her lamb shank, my 17 year old daughter enjoyed her stuffed chicken breast and our other teen age children enjoyed a great duck salad and excellent herb encrusted local venison dish. The new owners have worked hard to keep the historic character but have also rejuvenated it and made it clean and comfortable. Highly recommended after a hard day on the slopes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic themed hotel, rooms nice. But the food was very average for the price, staff appeared to have problems communicating amongst themselves. We were a party of two couples, our orders were taken and paid for but one couples meal was forgotten and therefore served late

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjoyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardronaHotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you for your review and our apologies for the confusion you experienced with your meals. We've recently appointed a new Restaurant Manager and we're confident all our wait staff are now providing top-notch service!

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

On Saturday night we stayed at this historic hotel. We found it reasonably priced with a continental breakfast included which was pretty upmarket. Our room was lovely with a balcony looking over the grounds. Two delightful cats became our friends. We were there with 2 other couples and we all enjoyed our evening meal. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherM129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Nothing better than coming off the slopes and hanging back in a place like this. Always great food and service from the staff here. Great places for mates or for couples wanting to grab something to eat or just unwind after a long day in the snow

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterson_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
13.9 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
810 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
447 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#6 of 53 in Wanaka
102 reviews
1.1 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
359 reviews
14.6 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardrona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardrona Hotel

Address: Crown Range Road, RD1, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: $125 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardrona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Crown Range Road between Wanaka and Queenstown, the Cardrona Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore the stunning Central Otago region. Twenty minutes from Wanaka, 40 minutes from Queenstown and 30 minutes from Arrowtown, the hotel is close to many major tourist attractions in the region. It's also close to four major ski areas, including Cardrona Alpine Resort. All ensuite rooms are all equipped with Sky TV, WiFi and tea and coffee making facilities. A continental buffet breakfast served in the historic dining room is also included in the room rate. Make use of the cosy guest lounge, beautiful cottage gardens, laundry facilities and spa pool. Rooms are a mix of queen beds, twin queen beds, twin singles and family rooms with one queen bed and two singles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cardrona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardrona Hotel South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing