We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historic hotel with good food and beverages”
Review of Cardrona Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cardrona Hotel
Ranked #3 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great historic hotel with good food and beverages”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I've always enjoyed our meals at the Cardrona Hotel. The place has so much history dating back to the gold rush of the 1800s. Great ambiance, good beer on tap and a very well thought out wine list. Very much approved of their selection of Central Otago Pinot Noirs ranging from value for money choices to some of the very best available such as Felton Road Cornish Point and Gibbston Valley Reserve. As this is a rustic style historic pub in a very isolated location you cannot expect Cordon Bleu type food. That said the food was excellent for our large family and we all enjoyed it very much. I had an excellent steak, my wife was very happy with her lamb shank, my 17 year old daughter enjoyed her stuffed chicken breast and our other teen age children enjoyed a great duck salad and excellent herb encrusted local venison dish. The new owners have worked hard to keep the historic character but have also rejuvenated it and made it clean and comfortable. Highly recommended after a hard day on the slopes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    81
    23
    12
    0
See reviews for
73
138
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic themed hotel, rooms nice. But the food was very average for the price, staff appeared to have problems communicating amongst themselves. We were a party of two couples, our orders were taken and paid for but one couples meal was forgotten and therefore served late

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjoyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardronaHotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your review and our apologies for the confusion you experienced with your meals. We've recently appointed a new Restaurant Manager and we're confident all our wait staff are now providing top-notch service!

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

On Saturday night we stayed at this historic hotel. We found it reasonably priced with a continental breakfast included which was pretty upmarket. Our room was lovely with a balcony looking over the grounds. Two delightful cats became our friends. We were there with 2 other couples and we all enjoyed our evening meal. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherM129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Nothing better than coming off the slopes and hanging back in a place like this. Always great food and service from the staff here. Great places for mates or for couples wanting to grab something to eat or just unwind after a long day in the snow

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterson_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

On the road from Queenstown to Wanaka, a great place to stop for a meal or a drink and to look at all the history for the area. A point to note about the road over the crown range ... it is the highest sealed road in New Zealand!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IansTrippings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stopped by for a drink and some food at the historic Cardrona Hotel and found an unexpectedly great experience. The olde world charm is very much evident as is the warmth and friendliness of the staff. The food was piping hot and fresh and I doubt you could find a pub anywhere in New Zealand that serviced better pub-grub. The beer garden would be lovely in summer and the old Chevrolet in the barn at the back was worthy of a look - even tho it was raining the day we were there. The pub was kept warm and the atmosphere was convivial. It is a must see and experience for any tourist heading over the ranges from Queenstown to Wanaka or vice versa.
I didn't realize it had rooms until afterwards - it would certainly be an experience to stay there.

Room Tip: Sorry didn't stay there. Wish I had as it looked to have the same old world charm as the pub its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed two nights for a wedding, stunning location and grounds.

The rooms are rustic and basic with room for improvement but fit the historic ambience of the setting and are probably made up for by the rest of the establishment.

I think the rooms were on the pricy side for how basic they are and we did miss having a fridge in the room but overall it was a stunning location

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schumax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
13.9 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
783 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
509 reviews
15.2 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 52 in Wanaka
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardrona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardrona Hotel

Property: Cardrona Hotel
Address: Crown Range Road, RD1, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardrona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Crown Range Road between Wanaka and Queenstown, the Cardrona Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore the stunning Central Otago region. Twenty minutes from Wanaka, 40 minutes from Queenstown and 30 minutes from Arrowtown, the hotel is close to many major tourist attractions in the region. It's also close to four major ski areas, including Cardrona Alpine Resort. All ensuite rooms are all equipped with Sky TV, WiFi and tea and coffee making facilities. A continental buffet breakfast served in the historic dining room is also included in the room rate. Make use of the cosy guest lounge, beautiful cottage gardens, laundry facilities and spa pool. Rooms are a mix of queen beds, twin queen beds, twin singles and family rooms with one queen bed and two singles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cardrona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardrona Hotel South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing