We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for an outdoor beer”
Review of Cardrona Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cardrona Hotel
Ranked #3 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great spot for an outdoor beer”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a beer in the garden bar on a beautiful sunny day.

Great spot for a couple of photos and break on the way to wanaka.

Bar staff are fine. Did not eat here as there was a limited menu. The fire was going which was relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GM007_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    78
    23
    12
    0
See reviews for
70
137
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sumbawa, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice pub with good atmosphere and great garden out the back. Food is standard for the now common 'Alehouse'.
Accomodation is comfortable, clean and has good heating. Great location amongst the ranges and very close to Cardrona and Snow Park access roads, still close to Wanaka, about 15min drive.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jono P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked Cardrona for 2 nights over New Years. We were quite disappointed with the hotel considering we paid $150 per night.

The room contained a queen sized bed and a cupboard with a CRT tv and kitchen supplies.

The bathroom was small but adequate, however missing a hair dryer. The tiled shower was low pressure, fluctuated in temperature, and lacked a door so flooded the bathroom.

The room was missing some essential elements such as a table, iron and ironing board.

The service was ok however it wasn't clear where we should check in and out, staff offered us the wrong room and didn't offer to change it.

The spa also wasn't working.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muriwa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardronaHotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay in January. The Hotel is now under new ownership and we have addressed the issues you experienced during your visit. The water pressure in all rooms has been resolved and the spa pool is up and running again.

Ironing facilities, along with a washing machine and dryer are available in our laundry room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Been to the Cardrona Hotel several times, as love having a drink in their outdoors area. On Sunday went there with friends and after drinking outside, we moved to the restaurant area for dinner. Our table was shocked when my request to a waitress for a drink with dinner was met with a request for me to go up and queue at the bar to order it. I've never known a venue to provide table service for food, not drink.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidFarrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardronaHotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and our apologies for the service you received back in January. The new owners, along with our Restaurant Manager, aim to ensure that all wait staff are providing top quality service to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Restored historic pub with all the mod cons tastefully tucked away in rooms.
Food very good, not fancy but wholesome. Staff great and very helpful
Playground for kids, open fires for adults to sit around lovely surroundings
Would recommend
only draw back was that the spa was closed

Room Tip: ask for room with balcony so you can people watch
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I lived in Wanaka on and off for a few years before returning to the UK.
Have to say, this was by far my favourite place to eat in the area.
The food was amazing, we treated ourselves to some loverly wine too and had a great evening.
The locals are friendly and welcoming and have many a tale about the area.
Excellent quality food, service and the ambience is amazing.
A great restaurant which we saved for special occasions.
Oh and if you visit in the day, dont miss the gorgeous gardens at the back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmc1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

If you dont stop at this pub and drive past it, you should be arrested!! Its an icon.You cant miss it. On the Crown Range Road mid way between Queenstwon and Wanaka ( 25 km from Wanaka if coming from that direction) It is right on the side of the road with a vintage car parked outside.
This is a excellent example of the "days of yore". A beautiful little old country pub steeped in local history. You have to go out the back to the beautiful gardens and if the weather is fine have a lunch out there among the flowers, trees and birds. The meals are excellent and good value.
Staff very cheerful and friendly. I am a reasonably frequent traveller and what better advert than to say I have never driven past this wonderful "oasis" without stopping.- mainly for lunch! When we stay in Wanaka we always take the short trip to have lunch there and to visit the garden. A welcoming open fire is usually burning in the cooler days. Accommodation is available-I have not used it. In short- dont drive past it!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
13.9 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
779 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
14.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 52 in Wanaka
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardrona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardrona Hotel

Property: Cardrona Hotel
Address: Crown Range Road, RD1, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardrona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Crown Range Road between Wanaka and Queenstown, the Cardrona Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore the stunning Central Otago region. Twenty minutes from Wanaka, 40 minutes from Queenstown and 30 minutes from Arrowtown, the hotel is close to many major tourist attractions in the region. It's also close to four major ski areas, including Cardrona Alpine Resort. All ensuite rooms are all equipped with Sky TV, WiFi and tea and coffee making facilities. A continental buffet breakfast served in the historic dining room is also included in the room rate. Make use of the cosy guest lounge, beautiful cottage gardens, laundry facilities and spa pool. Rooms are a mix of queen beds, twin queen beds, twin singles and family rooms with one queen bed and two singles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Cardrona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardrona Hotel South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing