We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven on earth”
Review of Wanaka Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wanaka Haven
Ranked #8 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Haven on earth”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We only had one night in Wanaka, and kicked ourselves (well, each other) because we wished we could have stayed longer. Steven and Anne-Mie are ideal people to host such a very agreeable place as Wanaka Haven. They exude warmth and sophistication, and welcome their guests as if they were old friends. The rooms are understated and very modern, with a European / Scandinavian edge which somehow suits the setting perfectly. Our breakfast was superb, and we shared the meal with some delightful visitors from Australia. Next time? A week of it, please!

Room Tip: They're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
87
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This place is incredible. The hosts are amazng, flexible and willing to do anything to make your stay pleasent. The breakfasts are delicious and the variety is vast. The facilities are there if you need them. The views from all the rooms are incredible but our room - the Premium King Delux has almost 180 degree views. The rooms are well equiped with everything you need. I cant recommend this enough!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MAXIGARRIDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We feel quite fortunate to have found Wanaka Haven. It is truly a gem. The setting, the rooms, the views and the graciousness of Steven and Anne-Mie made for a perfect stay. The attention to detail shows. Rooms have a sophistication with simplicity that is rare to find. From our warm welcome to our departure we felt comfortable and at home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank telschmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We spent 18 days in NZ on our vacation and this is the best experience in terms of our NZ accommodation. The place is so beautiful and spacious we didn't feel like going anywhere else in Wanaka during our 2 nights stay there. Anne and Steven are fantastic host and you can clearly see that they are genuinely keen to make us feel at "home".

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanGohCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We booked Wanaka Haven after the recommendation of my son and his new wife... it was good!
WE were looking for a place that is quiet and relaxing.. and this is the place.
It is about 3 minutes easy drive to the lake and town ( you need a car !), your bedrooms and living areas are facing the snow capped mountains ( in winter it must be magical)... we enjoyed the quiet reading in the lounge and in the backyard; with the mountains in front of you. It is quiet and beautiful..you can even hear the humming echo in your ears.
The place is well designed and built, very concise in details and functionality. The hosts are extra friendly , relaxed and nice... even their lovely dogs.
The pictures say it all. Anna-mie and Steve are very interesting people and great to have a conservation with them

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fhkfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

How to write this review without being too gushing? Wanaka Haven is the epitome of travel excellence. Anna-Mie and her husband run a luxurious lodge with a warmth and comfort that feels like home... Except with scrumptious breakfast and attentive service!

The location is so stunning, tranquil it's hard to leave. Anna-Mie was generous and attentive during our stay, adding the finishing touches to a special event (our wedding). FYI if you're planning a heli-wedding, Wanaka Haven is one of the few accommodations in Wanaka that are able to have a helicopter land in the grounds to pick you up: awesome.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank splashcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

From the luxurious ensuite room to the fabulous home cooked breakfast, every detail is taken care of by these exceptional hosts. Steve and Anne-mie are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Highly recommended. Fantastic scenery right at the front door and lots of great things to do. Spring snow was good and we could hike and ride bikes in good weather.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
4.0 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
779 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
343 reviews
14.9 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 52 in Wanaka
347 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#4 of 52 in Wanaka
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Haven

Property: Wanaka Haven
Address: 42 Halliday Road, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wanaka Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanaka Haven offers the luxury of beautiful surroundings inside out with a chic decor and uninterrupted mountain views. Warm up to the cozy roaring fire in winter; dine outdoors in the summer, a glass of Pinot Noir from our collection in hand. Expect a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere, gourmet breakfasts and five-star service. Wanaka Haven means comfort with top of the range bedding and under floor heating throughout. Your holiday can be as indulgent or active as you like, with plenty of space to lounge around and the beauty of Wanaka to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanaka Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing