We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wanaka Haven
Nearby Hotels
Ramada Resort Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Edgewater(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$116
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moorings(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$75
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$101
$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairway Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wanaka View Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$123
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
140
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanne miesensor lightsluxurious lodgenew zealandlovely poolfabulous roomprivate terracehot and cold optionsfantastic hotelswimming poollarge guest loungelounge and dining areabreakfast spreadeach morningstayed longersuperb hostsshort drive
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 144 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2013

From the moment we walked in the door, we felt 'at home'. The character of the house, the rooms, the views, it all was better then expected. Our hosts served delicious breakfasts, and spoilt us with great baking to have with our afternoon tea ( even the teas are a real treat! ). The rooms are very luxurious and have beautiful ensuites with quality toiletries. My husband and I booked for 2 nights, but were so impressed that we decided to stay 2 nights more. It is a shame we can only rate 5 star, because this is definitely worth more. Thanks again Steven & Anne-Mie for making our stay perfect. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWB149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family of four (2 teens) stayed here for 2 nights in November. The lodge is situated away from town with nothing around it. It has lovely views of the mountain but you cannot see the lake. We found the rooms very well appointed, clean, modern and to our taste. We had two rooms with a connecting corridor, which was nice, but these rooms don't have the nicest view.
We had ordered a bottle of champagne and as the weather was nice, we had drinks outside. Anna-mie and Steven provided some nice cheese and snacks and we enjoyed a couple of hours just relaxing.
There is a large dining table where a very nice breakfast is served. Anna-mie offered to cook hot breakfast for us. There are also cookies and coffee available most of the day. There is an honour bar stocked with soft drinks, wine and beer.
Wifi was available throughout although we had some problems the first day. It was later sorted.
Overall a nice place to relax. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Probably one of the higher category rooms facing the front which have a nicer view
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Wow Wow Wow. If you love peace and quiet and restaurant quality food and want to be pampered at a reasonable price then stay here....Steve & Anne-Mie have created a stunning getaway here in Wanaka. My husband and I have spent 4 nights here and have loved our stay.The views from Wanaka Haven are incredible. We have been waking up to views over snow capped mountains from our bedroom! Not only could the views not get any better the rooms are incredibly luxurious(fantastic fluffy robes and gorgeous high quality toiletries) it really is like staying at a 5 star hotel - only better because we have been truly spoilt by our hosts. Each night Anne-Mie brings us a beautiful glass of NZ wine and some of her incredible cooking. Yesterday she served us some white bait, the night before smoked salmon as we sat on our own patio overlooking the mountains! It's so quiet and peaceful and yet you are so close to Wanaka town. Now breakfasts are a highlight too - these two could easily open a successful restaurant with the tastiest breakfasts made to order! YUMMY!! (poached runny eggs and some of the yummiest bacon ive tasted). I cannot recommend it highly enough in every way it is the perfect NZ holiday. I know this place will zoom up the ratings as more people come to stay- it has only recently opened. I will definatley be back!

Room Tip: all rooms have mountain views
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fleur z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The name "Wanaka Haven" says it all in many ways. My wife and I decided to book 4 nights as part of our honeymoon travelling the south island and were not disappointed. We were pleasantly welcomed by Steven and were instantly taken back by the beautiful views of the mountains from the dining area and our spacious room. No expense was spared from the perfectly designed lounge and dining area with fire place to the huge king size bed and luxurious fittings including our favourite, the heated towel racks and heated thermal floors. The lodge was only a few minutes drive out of town and was perfectly positioned with absolute peace and quiet all day. Both Steven and Anne-Mie were perfect hosts who were always willing to help or offer any assistance with our travel plans or advice on somewhere to eat. The continental and cooked breakfast in the morning was also a highlight with nothing ever too much trouble. We plan to return to New Zealand for an anniversary trip and would love to stay at Wanaka Haven again. Thanks to Steven and Anne-Mie for making our honeymoon so special.

Room Tip: We were lucky to get the corner room facing the mountains which caught the morning sun and helped keep the room nice and warm
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had the perfect holiday in Wanaka Lodge with our excellent Belgian hosts, Anne-Mie and Steven, who went all out of their way to make our week's stay fabulous in every way you could think of. The lodge is almost brand new with luxurious fittings within a french provincial theme - they certainly didn't spare a cent to furnish the lodge to its best e.g. geothermal heating, luxurious bedding and towels, quality toiletries, wall-fitted censor lights in the bathroom for the night (I haven't seen this in any 5-star hotels I have stayed in before so am suitably impressed this was thought of at Wanaka Lodge!), and classy chic furniture throughout the lodge. The views from the bedrooms and the sitting and breakfast rooms were stunning. We were greeted with snow-capped mountains every morning. The lodge is also serenely quiet as it is located within grassland but is less than 5 minutes drive from Wanaka lakefront, therefore away from the noise.

Both the hosts are foodies and are excellent chefs! There is a generous continental breakfast spread every morning including delicious cooked breakfast included in the rates. They were only too happy to oblige when we requested french toast in the mornings instead of eggs, bacon and sausages after the first few days. Btw, they really know how to cook perfect eggs. I was also impressed at the quality of the bacon and sausages and how they were cooked - not too greasy and done very well with just the right amount of char (better than some cafes in Melbourne!). To my husband's delight, Anne-Mie served the french toasts with abundant berries harvested from their own berry farm. Every couple of days, they would also bake cakes and biscuits for the guests and we could help ourselves to these with espresso coffee or tea any time of the day. Our favourite were the chocolate chip cookies, brownies, and vanilla butter cake. Couldn't have enough of these. Anne-Mie was so kind to offer us to bring some of their cakes and cookies with us when we went skiing.

Included in the rates were complimentary evening drinks and amuse bouche every evening. We had a glass of fabulous NZ wine every evening, and were so impressed to be served "quality" food including pate, cured beef (the best!!), gourmet cheeses, salmon which Anne-Mie had to order from Auckland as they couldn't get it locally - obviously they had given this a lot of thought to only serve the best to their guests without so much a thought about the extra penny spent! Both Anne-Mie and Steven would sit with us for drinks and a chat every evening so it felt like we were amongst friends rather than staying in a hotel. They are a very warm, lovely and friendly couple with vast experience after travelling around the world with their kids, so we had lots to chat about our life experiences, things to do and where to eat in Wanaka, etc. Two other guests also joined us one evening and it was really nice. We were free to do our own thing as well if we couldn't have evening drinks with them. They were also happy for us to bring take-away food back to the lodge for dinner and set the table for us etc.

There is no where else we would stay when we go back to Wanaka again as this place offers such excellent value, and I'm not sure there is a place we have stayed in before that could top the service and quality of accommodation provided here (and I'm a snob when it comes to quality accommodation!). For NZD195/night (7 night stay) with all that was provided, it definitely beats staying at other local hotels for NZD300-500/night where you get so much less. We would highly recommend Wanaka Lodge to everyone...except that we might not get a room when we go back next if it gets too busy!

Room Tip: All rooms have mountain views.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nonblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews