We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and peaceful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tin Tub Luxury Lodge
Ranked #19 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic and peaceful stay”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Tin Tub Luxury Lodge is located in the lovely city of Wanaka. Trish and Baz welcomed us warmly in their fantastic house and gave us a great overview of the town. We spent a fantastic time thanks to their advises and we're glad we could enjoy such a fantastic place.
The view from the Lodge is just bluffing. You get the best of New Zealand in a nutshell.
We spent two days in the Lodge during our honeymoon and we shared great moments.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
MELBOURNE
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a great three night stay with Trish and Baz who are the perfect hosts. The villa suites are huge, well appointed with beautiful views over Lake Wanaka. Outside there are large tubs to soak in whilst taking in the views! Tin Tub is a relatively new operation and there is one more villa to complete. This did not impact out stay at all however and when the villa is finished, Tin Tub would be an excellent candidate for Mr and Mrs Smith as there is no comparable accommodation in Wanaka at non excessive prices. Trish's breakfast is delicious whilst Baz is full of suggestions and more than happy to book restaurants or activities for you. All in all a fantastic stay! Hope to see you again. James and Hannah.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAMES A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Tin Tub for 2 nights of our recent honeymoon in NZ and can't recommend it highly enough.
The lodge itself is secluded with great views over the town and lake (and is especially well positioned for evening sunset views) but has impressive amenities for boutique accommodation (pool, gym, bikes to borrow, washing facilities, etc). The self contained room we stayed in was newly completed and furnished to a very high standard.
Also, the level of personal service provided by Barry and Trish really made the experience for us. Nothing was too much trouble for them and the only issue we had was trying to prioritise between all the activities available during our stay.
Next time we are in Wanaka we will certianly be returning to the Tin Tub!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Tin Tub for 3 nights in January and enjoyed every minute. The house is stunning, as are the views over Lake Wanaka. Trish and Barry were great hosts and made us feel very welcome and relaxed from the moment we drove up to the lodge, which is in one of the most secluded, elevated and quiet locations in Wanaka - despite being a 25 mins walk or 5 mins drive to the lakefront restuarants and coffee bars. There are also laundry facilities available (with state of the art washer and dryer). Watch out for Trish's home baking as you may need to do some serious climing or walking to walk off the calories. Real luxury experience all round. Try and visit Cinema Paridiso on the back-streets of Wanaka if you get time.

Room Tip: Book one of the luxury suites if you can afford it. We got a sneak preview of them as they were bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lowe103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have sayed there for our honeymoon trip and it was the perfect choice. We stayed in one of the villa room. The room is very spacious, with a luxurious bathroom with big shower and big spa bath. The bed is enourmous and really comfortable. There is an outdoor living room with direct view on the Wanaka lake where it's nice having a cup of tea or a glace of wine. But above all, what we loved the most was the 2 outdoor bath tubs which had direct views on the lake. So nice to take a bath with such a fantastic view !
The hosts are very nice too and gave us good advices for our 4 days stay in Wanaka.

Room Tip: Choose a villa room with teh 2 outdoor bathtubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sev2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Don’t let the name fool you… this is NO tin shed. Instead, this relatively new 5-star luxury accommodation is a jewel in Lake Wanaka. The Tin Tub Lodge is located just outside the downtown area on a hillside overlooking the Lake and surrounding mountains. We spent 5 nights here exploring the Lake Wanaka area. Our days were filled with hiking stunning areas such as the Rob Roy Glacier, followed by a lovely bottle of NZ wine at night sitting in lounge chairs outside our room staring at the amazing views of Lake Wanaka and surrounding mountains. This place is beautiful and a labor of love by the owners, Trish and Barry, who are adding on stand-alone luxury studio rooms adjacent to the main house. During our visit, two additional villas were under construction. The fit-out of our entire room and the bathroom were all 5-star and a lot of thought was put into the details. Additional amenities on the property included an outdoor patio with lounge chairs, his & hers outdoor soaking tubs (overlooking the stunning view of the lake and mountains), tennis court, gym, outdoor patio & barbecue, vegetable garden and newly planted fruit trees and a coup of chickens who work hard to produce eggs for Trish’s fantastic homemade muffins and other breakfast fare. Our wonderful hosts went out of their way to assure our visit was top notch. They helped with everything from recommending and booking activities to letting us use their laundry. We had a wonderful time and highly recommend a stay here…in fact, we plan to come back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Warm hosts Barry & Trish made us feel at home. They organised a lavish christmas dinner for us. Every amenities required was just a walk away. And not to forget the fresh and yummy eggs from their own little poultry. The town is just a 5 minute drive from the lodge, perfect location..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#8 of 52 in Wanaka
114 reviews
14.9 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 52 in Wanaka
350 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#4 of 52 in Wanaka
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tin Tub Luxury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Tub Luxury Lodge

Property: Tin Tub Luxury Lodge
Address: 41 Peak View Ridge, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tin Tub Luxury Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge sits high on a ridge overlooking Wanaka with breathtaking views over Lake Wanaka and to the mountains beyond.The perfect base for skiing, tramping, biking, or just relax around the lodge with its stunning views over Lake Wanaka. On-site are tennis court, swimming pool (heated in summer), sauna and gym, and mountain bikes.Sleep in the silence of the countryside and wake to a leisurely breakast before setting out on another day of adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tin Tub Luxury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing