We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base for a Stay in Wanaka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wanaka Springs Lodge
Ranked #11 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bromsberrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Base for a Stay in Wanaka”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in February 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed them. The location is convenient for the town but is nice a quiet, the accommodation excellent and a bonus are good laundry facilities, sorely needed after 2 weeks on the road. The garden is very nice a contains a hot tub with a pleasant view in which you can lazily sip a nicely chilled wine! Wine is also a feature of the evening pre-dinner drinks for all guests which we found to be an excellent way for breaking the ice and meeting your fellow travellers and swopping stories and suggestions as well as setting up the evening out. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    16
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
115
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We spent one night in the lodge.
We enjoyed the afternoon homemade snacks and drinks.
They gave us some recommendation for the dinner which was really good.
The homemade cooking breakfast is really good.
The room are nice and clean, maybe a little bit old furniture style.
Would really recommend Wanaka springs lodge !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petitcoeur25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alstonville, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was an excellent place to stay. 10 minute walk to restaurants, 15 to shops. Very welcoming and helpful hosts. Excellent beautifully presented hot and cold breakfast. Included drinks and nibbles 6 to 7pm. Plenty of parking.Rooms and beds good quality. A great 5 days while attending Warbirds Over Wanaka.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paullesley783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

we spent only one night in that lodge on April 28th, 2014.
at that time, wan a ka is quite an empty town. the winter season has not started ans the summertime is over.
thus, we were the only guests in the lodge.
John and Glynis, the owners, are perfect hosts. not only they pay a constant attention to your comfort but they offer guest a wine testing at 6pm in the cosy living room.
the bedrooms are comfortable.
the breakfast in the dining room is fantastic.
keep that address and stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

rooms are good and breafast sets you up for the day. only small grouse is no tea/coffee in room but available in kitchen. John is a welcoming host, who has early evening drinks so that guests can meet each other. there is a laundry in the basement.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alecver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiscasset, Maine, USA
Level Contributor
258 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

John and Glynis are the bee's knees in hosting, simply the best. From the initial greeting, the lovely room with a view and a porch, to the evening gatherings and delightful breakfasts, this is as Hospitality should be experienced.
A call to find pointers on local fishing, to wonderful and accurate reviews of local eateries, we got the best steers,even an invitation to tour a neighbors gardens.
We played 18 holes at the adjacent Wanaka Golf Course, true delight and a treat, but a bit dear.
So much fun, we stayed an extra day, and advise you to do likewise. Enjoy the hot tub too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanRafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brora, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I was travelling alone and spent more time in Cordrona than I should have so arrived in Wanaka about half past 7 with nowhere to stay! I asked my 'Angels' to guide me and after stopping at 2 or 3 other places and sensing they were 'wrong' I arrived at the door of Wanaka Springs...as I knocked...,the hall light went off....I tried again...nothing.....but I was determined.....! Finally John came to the door and offered me a choice of rooms. Fantastic place, super comfortable bed - lovely fully tiled bathroom with everything you could need...balcony with a view of the mountains (and just a bit of the lake) - wonderful breakfast with his lovely wife producing the delicious cooked fare - and great chat and banter from the other guests....some of whom were friends. I would recommend this place to anyone - especially if you have nibbles and wine in the evenings (I must have been too late!) and all the other things that I didn't have time to do... Wonderful stay - I will remember it as the best place I stayed in New Zealand - thanks again John for taking me in!!!

Room Tip: only saw my room.....but by the look of the photo's there is quite a choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELEMGEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Springs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Springs Lodge

Property: Wanaka Springs Lodge
Address: 21 Warren Street | PO Box 25, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wanaka Springs Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Wanaka Springs Lodge for a real taste of New Zealand! Wanaka Springs Lodge celebrates New Zealand's culture and its quirks with its decor and food. This accommodation combines the luxurious comfort and attentive service of a boutique hotel, with relaxed Kiwi charm and located just a 3 minute walk from Wanaka's town centre. Enjoy the warmest welcome, luxury bed and breakfast accommodation and your separate guest facilities at this purpose built boutique hotel. Discover the cosy lounge (with a real fire!), tea & coffee making facilities in your room and large deck areas with outdoor furniture - to enjoy the mountain views and the natural springs which help form our beautiful and tranquil garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Wanaka Springs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing