We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Great place, great value, great views"”
Review of The Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Moorings
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2010

We stayed in a top floor unit for three nights. We had the most fantastic view of lake Wanaka and the surrounding mountains. Room was clean and tidy, owner / manager was friendly and helpful. Close to shops, waterfront, cafes, etc. Had a great time and would definitely return again.

John & Nicki

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Docker73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
There are newer reviews for The Moorings
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 437 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights while taking part in Challenge Wanaka. Great location with fantastic views over the lake, although the price seems to reflect this. Room was clean and comfortable, although there was nowhere to store our breakfast stuff. Kitchen and bathroom both well-appointed. We did have a couple of issues though, despite the promising start.

One morning we went out, locking the room up as we went, but came back a couple of hours later, luckily, to find the french windows wide open and the room completely open to anyone who happened to fancy pinching the $20k worth of bike gear that was in there. Thankfully nothing was missing, but if we hadn't come back when we did, who knows what could have happened, as the room was on the ground floor.

On our last morning, we were having a lie in at 8.45, only to be rudely disturbed by the cleaners shouting over the vacuum cleaner while making up the room next door. This went on at high volume for at least 15 minutes, until we got up and shouted at them to shut up - they apologised and were then quiet, but the damage was done, lie-in over.

We mentioned both our complaints when checking out (we had brought the open room issue to their attention immediately we came back, but all we got was an apology from a stand-in member of staff), and got a minor reduction off the bill (<5%), but our initial good impressions were ruined by those 2 major concerns. The person in charge when we checked out blamed the fact that he had not been around at the time, otherwise he would have dealt with the issues better at the time, but quite frankly staff who can't be trusted to lock a room up and then ruin guests' precious leisure time should be fired.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

These smallish studios are smarlty, if rather minimally, furnished - much like a 3-star hotel (eg Holiday Inn Express) but with a microwave & hob. Although fully eqipped for cooking, including a frying pan, there is no extractor fan or any other ventilation!
The balcony had a lovely view over the lake & catches the afternoon/evening sun.
I thought the room a little pricy, but Wanaka is a resort town.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetroniusMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

We stayed on the second floor, another awesome view we had :)
lake wanaka,black's peak is just outside of our balcony, and onto our right we could see snow-capped mountains (not sure of the name). Kitchenette inside,and new world supermarket is a short drive from the moorings. Overall conclusion, one night stay is not enough!LOL.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancingkueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

We recently spent three nights in Wanaka at the Moorings. I would recommend a room on the upper level as you will have a better view and be further away from any noise. The view out over the lake is beautiful. Good cooking facilities and a central location to town was also nice. Wanaka is a very nice town and a breath of fresh air after Queenstown. You could pay more for boutique lodges, but the Moorings was great. Laundry facilities are a plus.

Lastly, Gary, Jude, and their dog Mika were wonderful and made our stay a pleasure. We felt like Gary took a personal interest in helping us on our stay. Gary won our best host award on our vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talktoandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Great, very clean rooms, with the best views over the awesome lake in Wanaka and out to the snowcapped mountains . Hosts were very helpful and friendly. Overall the nicest room and views we have ever stayed in.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank TiggyDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Somebody had been cooking indian, so the room absolutely stunk of indian food. The bed was uncomfortable (we found some blood on the sheet). The room was a big dingy. Standard bathroom. Managers were friendly and helpful. Great views. Please note that the score is in comparison to 14 other hotels/B&Bs we stayed in during a 3 week trip to NZ

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisab80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
791 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Address: 17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: $128 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings Motel and Apartments offers stylish accommodation for the discerning traveller. We offer lakefront studio units with outstanding un-interrupted views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains and our family apartments are ideal for larger groups. Our complex is just one minutes walk to the nearest cafes and shops and the lakes edge or just a two minute stroll to town. Complimentary wifi available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Moorings Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing