We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for (much) more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Moorings
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for (much) more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, which was modern, clean, warm and had lovely lake glimpses. The sheets were strangely noisy (a weird complaint, I know) but the beds were comfortable and the apartment generally well appointed. The bathrooms were very clean. I would award bonus points if they were to install a drying machine alongside the washer in the garage, but was happy without doing laundry. A great spot.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripVisorAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    120
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
57
258
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

You're paying for the view...rooms were small. I'm surprised that other reviews have said the staff was friendly...they were ok, but they didn't go out of their way to make you feel welcome

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewZealandCreate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed in the motel area as alot of people on tripadvisor mentioned the great views from the motel rather than the apartments. We were a little surprised at how small the room was, however it was comfortable, quiet, clean and did have the great views. The room had some nice touches but decor was fairly basic at this price. You are paying for views & location as the shops are a short walk around the corner.
Maybe we hit a bad day -- when we turned up the cot was not yet ready, and the manager directed us the wrong way to Cromwell (Lucky I spotted a roadsign!).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank engbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

If you are looking for a more economical option than The Moorings, then they have the answer right next door.

We stayed at the Durry Hills villas, beside The Moorings, which are offered at a more competitive price. The location is just as sensational and the accommodation is great but at a greatly reduced rate. Our accommodation was 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, so ideal for families or couples travelling together. It is at the "value" end of accommodation; it is clean, has everything you could possible want and is really well located and appointed.

There is SKY TV (with the movie channel) but no DVD or games, shower in the ensuite and other add ons and atmosphere you may expect to find at more expensive accommodation. If you are okay with this, then I would definitely recommend Durry Hills as a place to hunker down in Wanaka. Bookings are made through The Moorings (which is right next door). It's an easy 2 minute stroll into the shops and is nice and quiet.

The staff at The Moorings are exceptional. We left early on account of the weather and they were entirely understanding. As well as this, we were inadvertantly overcharged for our stay and they very quickly redressed the issue. Nothing is too much of a problem for them so as well as staying somewhere very reasonably priced you are also getting the service of a top notch establishment.

Stay here if you are looking for something reasonably priced, comfortable and well located and set out without the additional extras you may expect in a quality more expensive luxury accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FarflungEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

View was amazing, walk out onto a view of the beautiful moutains and lake. Service was great and staff were lovely and very helpful. Room was modern and very clean. 3 minute walk to centre of Wanaka. Did not want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auscp09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, AUS
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

Clean and very comfortable. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The view was stunning. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EsmeBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

What a wonderful place this is! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location and views. Room was excellent and electric blanket was a nice touch. Will definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannonluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Property: The Moorings
Address: 17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#2 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings Motel and Apartments offers stylish accommodation for the discerning traveller. We offer lakefront studio units with outstanding un-interrupted views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains and our family apartments are ideal for larger groups. Our complex is just one minutes walk to the nearest cafes and shops and the lakes edge or just a two minute stroll to town. Complimentary wifi available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Moorings Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing