We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Moorings
Nearby Hotels
$162
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Resort Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Edgewater(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$115
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wanaka Luxury Apartments(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Distinction Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$102
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cardrona Hotel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$90
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wanaka View Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$123
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wanaka Haven(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$217
$211
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveler rating
312
140
23
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
140
23
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationview of the lakea couple of minutes walksmall kitchenettestudio unitafternoon sunclose to townrestaurants and shopswithin easy walking distancefirst floorthe ground floorenjoy the viewsouth islandawesome viewstwo night staygreat roomsurrounding mountains
Filter
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 480 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Unfortunately we where on a pre arranged holiday and where only booked to stay for one night. This was a shame as the hotel is in a great location with great hosts. We stayed in a lakefront room which had under floor heating that is great for those winter months. It also had a balcony so you could check to see how cold it was outside . Small kitchenette if you so desired , nice touch. Now that we know more about " Wanaka " and "The Moorings" we will definitely be back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: A room facing the lake is a must.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TandM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Guests, Many thanks for posting your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved our great wee town! Many guests like yourselves plan to come back and we look forward to hosting you again! Thanks again and kind regards The Moorings Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel exceeded all our expectations. Owners and Managers are all super friendly and helpful. The rooms are kept to a high standard and serviced daily, which we didn't expect considering it was a small apartment style hotel room. Location is ideal so you can disappear into the town of Wanaka for dinner or shopping with only a short walk. The view is the best from the verandah, I think I took several sunset photos every night. Scrapping ice of the window of your car was just one small thing done for us without question. Congratulations The Moorings you should be proud of what you have, simply tasteful with everything you need and a smile.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Guests, Thanks so much for your kind comments and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoy hosting our guests and its always a pleasure to hear positive feedback such as yours. Thanks again and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip! Kind regards The Moorings Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great property and fantastic hosts! Location is perfect. Views amazing. Ian was fantastic every morning helping to remove the ice from my car windows. You really can't go wrong staying here (and I will again).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Hi Jason, Thanks so much for your review, your feedback is appreciated. Its very pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again at a later stage! Thanks again and regards The Moorings Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This hotel is one of the best in Wanaka with its breathtaking views from the balcony of the room and also the friendly staff who recommended good food and activities to keep us occupied during our stay in Wanaka..Staff is also flexible when we ask for late check-out. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JL0537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Guests, Many thanks for your kind comments! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and especially that you loved our fabulous views! We are extremely fortunate to live here and its great to hear guests also enjoying our lovely town. Thanks again and regards The Moorings Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Great clean facilities. We loved having the bath to soak in after a long day on the snow. The place was always extremely clean, they do a great job. The only thing is dont use the phone in the unit, unless you are calling a local business in Wanaka. All calls to any other numbers in NZ will cost you heaps.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank krispy_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Guests, thanks very much for your review and letting us know you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments are much appreciated and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kind regards The Moorings Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews