We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, stunning views”
Review of The Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Moorings
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect location, stunning views”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We called in here on spec without a booking and were lucky enough to get a king studio on the first floor, clean modern room very well equipped with kitchenette area. The view of the lake was amazing. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. 2 mins walk to lake and shops,restaurants ect
Don't hesitate

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank pazzNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking time to post your review and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our stunning views! We hope the rest of your trip went well. Thanks again! The Moorings Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    124
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
59
270
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gunnedah, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Pulling into this Resort, already I was inlove with the setting. At looks like a family run Resort with a very friendly personable welcome.
I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the room, it was superb!! I wanted to congratulate the owners on that. I have stayed in lots of rooms and this room was the cleanest! The bath was so clean!!!!
Very comfortable bed and pillows with a beautiful outlook over the water.
Very nice place, highly recommend it.
My husband accidently pocketed the key! Whoops. But the owners were onto it and even though my husband did remember of his own bat, we did get an email notification in a friendly manner that we still had the key. It was great that it was so prompt as normally you would be well on your way from the town before being notified. We were able to get the key back before we drove out.

Room Tip: Just enjoy your friendly welcome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MummaD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi Jodi, Thanks so much for your kind review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! We have passed your comments on to our cleaning staff - the cleanliness of the rooms is top priority for our team here and they were thrilled to hear their hard work was recognised and appreciated.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you again sometime. Kind regards The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alstonville, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

These are beautifully located apartments close to town with breathtaking views over Lake Wanaka and the mountains. Clean, well-equipped room with a lovely balcony to relax on with a glass of wine. Great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macnut577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for taking time to post your review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction, and that you enjoyed Wanaka.
Thanks again and regards The Moorings Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Right on the lake front, a short stroll to the majority of shops and clean and modern room. The staff were excellent and I found it be be amazing value. The room had all the furnishings you could need including wine glasses. We even opted to get take-aways and wine just so we could sit on our balcony and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Coco, It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, thanks very much for your kind comments and yes we are very fortunate to enjoy our views every day! Its always great to hear our guests enjoying what Wanaka has to offer. Thanks again and regards The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a really nice place to stay. Great location, right next to the lake and within 50 meters of several cafe's, places to eat and supermarkets. Great lake and mountain views. There is also a kiddie park right across the street. Really enjoyed our stay during Christmas.This could have been an excellent rating if not for the poor wifi connection which the owners could easily remedy by installing a $50 signal booster and the special prices that they offered to walk-in customers which were 15% cheaper then what we paid online months ago. Parking is a little tight. But the owners make up for it with their attitude and seem to enjoy their work and understand the hospitality concept.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelreview77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest, thanks very much for your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us overall.
Just a note on the internet - Telecom the main internet and telephone provider for NZ have been addressing the internet in Wanaka - it is not our individual internet but that of the main cable coming in to Wanaka as explained by the following from Telecom:-
Telecom - An Update / Explanation
"Over the past two weeks, we have seen an enormous increase in mobile traffic nationally compared to previous years. This increase has been particularly noticeable in holiday hotspots such as Wanaka, where consumption of mobile data was six times as high as last year (we had anticipated and planned a 2-3 times increase.) This explosion in mobile data is the result of our customers using data-heavy smartphone technologies and apps – such as Facebook, YouTube and Instagram - to share their experiences via pictures and videos. Unfortunately in Wanaka this jump in demand is coupled with a geography that makes it difficult to deliver mobile coverage.
Data volumes in the region were approximately two times higher over the same holiday period when compared to 2012 (and the Cardrona site data volume was roughly three times higher over the peak period).
To support Telecom customers during Christmas 2013, Telecom increased the number of our Radio Frequency carriers from 12 to 16. This was an investment of nearly $250,000 to augment the capability of these mobile sites supporting the Wanaka township.
Looking to the mid and longer term, the learnings from this summer will assist analysts in determining requirements for annual and quarterly planning for future usage peaks (including for the New Year 2014/2015). Wanaka will have 4G coverage by May/June 2014 and this will provide further relief for the growing mobile data consumption with faster on-demand access to services customers choose which turns around traffic faster and lessens the risk of congestion.Looking to the mid and longer term, the learnings from this summer will assist analysts in determining requirements for annual and quarterly planning for future usage peaks (including for the New Year 2014/2015). Wanaka will have 4G coverage by May/June 2014 and this will provide further relief for the growing mobile data consumption with faster on-demand access to services customers choose which turns around traffic faster and lessens the risk of congestion.
Looking to the mid and longer term, the learnings from this summer will assist analysts in determining requirements for annual and quarterly planning for future usage peaks (including for the New Year 2014/2015). Wanaka will have 4G coverage by May/June 2014 and this will provide further relief for the growing mobile data consumption with faster on-demand access to services customers choose which turns around traffic faster and lessens the risk of congestion.
Looking to the mid and longer term, the learnings from this summer will assist analysts in determining requirements for annual and quarterly planning for future usage peaks (including for the New Year 2014/2015). Wanaka will have 4G coverage by May/June 2014 and this will provide further relief for the growing mobile data consumption with faster on-demand access to services customers choose which turns around traffic faster and lessens the risk of congestion"
Hoping this clarifies it a bit and we are all looking forward to an improved service.
Thanks again and regards the Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlemaine, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Fantastic views of lake and mountains. A few minutes walk into town. The rooms were tastefully furnished and king bed very comfortable. In fact it was hard to find any fault. Hard to imagine any better in Wanake.

Room Tip: The top floor has better views because of the elevation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Annie, Thanks very much for posting your review, its always appreciated to receive our guests feedback and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and our lovely town. Thanks again and regards, The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

First moment we entered the room, we fell in love. Amazing lake view, clean room with adequate faclilities to cook you own dinner (or breakfast!), quite, and yet close (walking distance) to everything that's important and interesting around the lake. Warm welcome, great hospitality and kind team. Next time i am in Wanaka, I will not think twice :-)

Room Tip: we stayed both in top and bottom floors, both were great. if you dont like stairs, choose the bottom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hadar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks very much for your review and it was great that you came back to stay with us again on your trip! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Thanks again, The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Property: The Moorings
Address: 17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#2 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings Motel and Apartments offers stylish accommodation for the discerning traveller. We offer lakefront studio units with outstanding un-interrupted views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains and our family apartments are ideal for larger groups. Our complex is just one minutes walk to the nearest cafes and shops and the lakes edge or just a two minute stroll to town. Complimentary wifi available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Moorings Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing