We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced & Poor Quality”
Review of The Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Moorings
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced & Poor Quality”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hosts are very welcoming and kind it must be said. However, the quality of the room was pretty poor considering the price. There are certainly many hotels in Wanaka which you would recieve much better quality for a similar room rate, so would advise people to look around first. The room was also very unclean which was not a nice way to start the trip. Poor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Joe, Thank your for taking the time to post your review. We are extremely disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your unit. Cleanliness is one of our top priorities and we pride ourselves on the fact that many other guest reviews reinforce this and we are sorry that you did not notify us of the problem during your stay to enable us to rectify it. Once again our apologies and we do appreciate your feedback. Kind regards The Moorings Mangement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    129
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
60
278
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay in Wanaka. The Moorings is ideally located close to everything. Really enjoyed our stay in a very comfortable 3 bedroom unit which was well equipped. Very accommodating hosts with nothing too much trouble.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Anna, Many thanks for your review. It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and also that you enjoyed our lovely town. It was a pleasure to host you and your family. Thanks again and regards The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a 6 night stay with our family of my parents, my husband and I and 2 young children. The 3 bed apartment was very clean and comfortable for all of us with a double and 2 x single beds with bath upstairs and double bed and bath downstairs. Great views of the mountains, with lovely small patio outside to catch the afternoon sun. Easy walk into town and across road from excellent kids playground, as well as fresh spring water from the mountains at the public water well. Owners were very attentive and helpful, good laundry and drying room for ski gear. Only thing would suggest to owners that they could improve is free wi-fi. Thanks Ian, you really looked after us and appreciated you going the extra mile for our family :)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank V_A_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Manager at The Moorings, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks very much for your review and it was great to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! Just a small point - we do offer our guests complimentary wifi upon arrival and we sincerely apologise if there was some confusion and you did not receive any, and recently we have just installed a new wifi system throughout our complex which will provide guests with a faster, stronger and more user friendly system!. Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had to stay at here overnight at short notice for a work trip, I couldn't have chosen a nicer place to stay. Ian the owner was really friendly and the room had a great view of Lake Wanaka. The location is excellent being only 3 mins walk into town. I will stay here again if I have to come back for work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebcat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Manager at The Moorings, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks very much for your review and we are very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us even though you were working! We look forward to having you stay with us again. Many thanks and regards The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed at The moorings for 6 nights in the wonderful town of Wanaka. 2 bedroom apartment that was warm and immaculately clean. The host provided a very warm welcome. Perfectly equipped fro self catering as the town has a friendly supermarket that is ideal. The apartment had partial mountain views as stated but these were impressive. It is a shame i can only give it 4 stars as the weekend sleep was disturbed by a close club. Not at all the fault of the Moorings but did disturb the evening and sleep. However i would certainly stay again as the apartments are great and very well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave07_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Manager at The Moorings, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks very much for your great review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again! Our sincere apologies for your interrupted sleep, this is not a regular occurrence and we have since found out there were two functions on that weekend nearby. Thank you again for your review, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip! Kind regards The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doonan, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Moorings provided a perfect family base for us to explore the beauty of the "big country" local area! Great location, quality accomodation, great welcome and advice from Ian & Bev Sutherland (thanks guys) and value for money!!!! We will definately be back, hopefully soon. We stayed for 5 nights - I had to push my boys out of the door to go home! The Moorings is a GEM!!!

Room Tip: All I can say is that the three bedroom apartment was faultless!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello Rob N, It was a pleasure having you and your family to stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to having you come back and stay with us again.

thanks Ian & Bev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed at The Moorings for a second time in July 2013. The hosts were fantastic, welcoming and provided fantastic information about some hidden dining gems around town. They were always focused on ensuring as a guest I was comfortable and had everything I needed.

On top of this the view from the first floor studio were as fantastic as I remembered. Clean, warm room with all the facilities I needed. Not to mention this is probably one of the best located accommodations options in town being positioned to benefit from lake views, while only a minute walk into the centre of town.

Top marks yet again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeapfrogFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello LeapfrogFun, Thank you for your comments. We are please that we were able to provide local information to make your stay in Wanaka an experience, especially being your second stay.
We look forward to have you stay again.

Nick & Karlene, Bev & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
509 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Property: The Moorings
Address: 17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings Motel and Apartments offers stylish accommodation for the discerning traveller. We offer lakefront studio units with outstanding un-interrupted views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains and our family apartments are ideal for larger groups. Our complex is just one minutes walk to the nearest cafes and shops and the lakes edge or just a two minute stroll to town. Complimentary wifi available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Moorings Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing