We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of The Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Moorings
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The location is Nice central with stunning views. We had a 2 bed apartment that was very comfortable and modern and equipt with everything you would need. The owners were very helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to accommodate our needs and answer our questions. I would highly recommend this accomodation and this lovely town!

Room Tip: We had a mountin view room but could still see the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi Amy, Thanks very much for your kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoy hosting our guests, so its always reassuring to hear comments such as yours. Kind regards, The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    125
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
59
272
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambewarra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Fantastic view from the upstairs balcony overlooking Lake Wanaka. We were a bit worried about being on one of the main roads and the traffic noise but it was quiet during the night and did not disturb us at all. The Hotel is within easy walking distance of the village where most of the eating places are and it is a pleasant walk along the edge of the lake.
The rooms were spotlessly clean, the bed and pillows very comfortable and the kitchenette well equipped. There is a good sized sink so one does not have to wash dishes in the bathroom- something I hate having to do. Everything was provided with enough dishes and pots and pans to cook a decent meal if you prefer to do that.
The staff were helpful and friendly and ready with advice on the best places to eat.
Parking is adequate although a bit tight to get in and out of if all the rooms are booked .
Would have stayed longer but we had booked at Mt Cook which is an easy drive from Wanaka.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor overlooking the Lake have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello Wendy, many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are very fortunate to live in such a beautiful place and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here, thank you for your kind words. Kind regards, The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The apartment was well situated, just a few hundred metres from the lakeside village. The room was clean and comfortable although looking just slightly dated. There was a great view of the lake and mountains. The staff were very friendly and helpful, including setting up the BBQ for a fish I'd caught in Queenstown.. There is Wifi but only a modest allowance is included in the price. In my view internet access for travellers should be provided automatically and after a brief but friendly discussion the limit was raised and this lasted me the three day stay. The area has many fine walks including Mt Iron and we even managed a drive towards Mt Aspring, the last 30km of which was on an unsealed road. All in all, Wanaka is a good 2 day stop and this apartment was good for us.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor with lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidH118WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi David, thanks very much for your review and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our stay at The Moorings certainly lived up to expectations. We had an upstairs studio unit and the views across the lake were spectacular. I was also impressed by the reasonably spacious interior and very clean bathroom and kitchen. The balcony was a superb spot to relax and watch the village go about its business. Finally, a word about the service. Tremendous. Ian and Bev were friendly and attentive hosts.

Room Tip: Upstairs studio units are great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmycomms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Moorings is a great complex only two minutes walk from town and lake with great views over the lake and surrounding mountains. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment which was well equiped, spotlessly clean with good quality bed linen. We all slept so well because it was heavenly quiet, the apartment had great private outside space with a declk, table and chairs, barbeque.Milk provided along with tea and coffee which is a great touch in New Zealand's Motels. Bev and Ian were friendly and efficient recommending places to eat and things to do. They have great knowledge of the area and were very helpful. We went up to Rippon Wines which has the most amazing views over the lake and good wines to taste. Puzzling world is also great fun - for all ages from young to old - with a maze for the children which is the best one ever done. We wished we could have stayed longer - will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedRocket14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in January, 2013 and loved it. We managed to secure the last room available on the day we arrived which just happened to be a 2 bedroom family apartment. The Moorings is just in the perfect spot for when visiting the gorgeous town of Wanaka. Just a 2 minute walk to town, the lake and the beautiful park near the lake front. The apartment had everything we needed including 2 bathrooms one upstairs and one down - perfect. And it is in a very quiet position given the number of people that visit there in January we were extremely pleased. Have no hesitation at all in recommending The Moorings and the Managers ( both lots ) were extremely helpful. And also recommend when in Wanaka have a meal or two at Soul Foods - they make a superb breakfast omelete and delicious soul it's just a 1 minute walk up behind The Moorings. Also recommend Wanaka River Journeys - absolutely excellent and the Train & Toy Museum is just amazing kids of all ages will be amazed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstenRoslyn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at this homely accommodation. We had a ground floor corner unit which was bright, clean, well equipped with a spa bath. The views from the room were outstanding, overlooking the lake and mountains. Easy walking distance to town which has a bit of everything for all tastes and pockets. The owners were very helpful and friendly. Although this isn't 5* accommodation, it is very good value for money and well recommended.

Room Tip: All motel rooms are lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Property: The Moorings
Address: 17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#2 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings Motel and Apartments offers stylish accommodation for the discerning traveller. We offer lakefront studio units with outstanding un-interrupted views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains and our family apartments are ideal for larger groups. Our complex is just one minutes walk to the nearest cafes and shops and the lakes edge or just a two minute stroll to town. Complimentary wifi available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Moorings Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing