We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanaka Walks”
Review of The Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Moorings
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
new zealand
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wanaka Walks”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

no complaints about the hotel, ok it would have been nice to have been told there was scaffolding round the hotel when we stayed and on our balcony, but still views were great.
Rooms are clean and cosy but lacked a few bits you would normally expect.
Very near to town and service was excellent so all in all a good experience.
Double glazing would help to drown out the drunks and early morning traffic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macfod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Manager at The Moorings, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We would just like to address some issues you brought up - the scaffolding was due to a new roof being fitted to the Motel. While every effort was made to lessen the impact on guests, unfortunately due to Health and Safety regulations, the scaffolding was essential.
Also, while we believe our units are well appointed we would appreciate any specifics that you can recommend be added to the rooms to make guest stays more enjoyable.
Thank you again, we do appreciate the time you have taken to write to us and we are pleased that your overall stay was an enjoyable one.
Thank you and regards
The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    128
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
60
275
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was one of the standout places we stayed in during a 4 week road trip round New Zealand. We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted by a very friendly lady who pointed my father in the direction of the nearest Vodaphone shop so he could get his email working & also recommended several good local restaurants. Our room was nicely decorated and well equipped & the weather made sitting on our balcony overlooking Lake Wanaka an absolute joy. Would have loved to have stayed longer but time was not on our side. Wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthew_graham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Manager at The Moorings, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at The Moorings and that you also enjoyed our beautiful town! It is very much appreciated that you have taken the time to let us know your thoughts and it is never a problem to help our guests!
Thank you very much and regards
The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed for 1 week in a two bedroom apartment. Location is excellent, walking distance to central Wanaka cafes shops and restaurants and if course the Lake itself! Decor and fittings are a little dated and probably needs a bit of refurbishing. WiFi a bit slow and can only purchase in 2 hourly lots from reception which was a bit annoying.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

What can I say... the hosts where fantastic from helping me with my luggage to helping me get rid of the ice off my car. They went above and beyond! The location has to be one of the best in Wanaka. You are directly opposite the lake and the views were fantastic!!! However you are also only a few minutes walk into the centre of it all. I cannot recommend The Moorings highly enough and I will be staying there on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeapfrogFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I can only say positive things about The Moorings. The hosts were so friendly and accomodating and the rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. The view from our balcony was incredible and it was only a few minutes walk into town.
I would definitely stay here again without hesitation as it met and exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickRumpff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Manager at The Moorings, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at The Moorings. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that your expectations were met. It is reassuring for us to hear such positive feedback. Thank you again.
The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week with my husband for a skiing holiday. Unfortunately he broke his leg skiing but the hosts were very accommodating, providing pillows and offering DVDs for us to watch indoors. The motel rooms are warm and clean, with a nice mini kitchen and good sized bathroom with under floor heating The only downside is the ridiculously expensive wifi - although we gratefully accepted comped wifi on our last day while my husband was laid up, I balked at getting it when it was full price.
If I was returning to wanaka in the future I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RC3804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed one night at the Moorings and it is in a great location. Situated overlooking the lake, we were able to sit in the afternoon sun overlooing the lake and the mountains with a bottle of wine on the comfort of our balcony. Comfortable bed and lounge area. Bathroom is ok.
Walking distance to town, so no need to drive.
Would stay again and would reccommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairehardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
504 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
778 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Property: The Moorings
Address: 17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings Motel and Apartments offers stylish accommodation for the discerning traveller. We offer lakefront studio units with outstanding un-interrupted views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains and our family apartments are ideal for larger groups. Our complex is just one minutes walk to the nearest cafes and shops and the lakes edge or just a two minute stroll to town. Complimentary wifi available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Moorings Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing