We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Moorings
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great to wake up to views of the lake and the location is really good. Walking distance to everything and no need to use your car. Everything you need is in the room which has a full kitchen. Room is medium sized and a small detail - television is medium size (usually like a large screen to watch from bed) but is was still good. Decor is middle of the road. Good parking and the hosts were pleasant. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annieb107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
There are newer reviews for The Moorings
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 437 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

We rented a 3 bed apartment for 5 adults, the apartment was of high quality with nice furnishings. Location excellent. My only critisism would be that for a 3 bed apartment the living and kitchen area was somewhat small. The bedrooms were spacious enough especially the main bedroom. Great gas log fire, lovely deck with BBQ and great views. In the summer the deck area would add to the living area making it much biiger as it opens up from the living room. management are very welcoming and helpful. Overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wegz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very lovely comfortable rooms. The staff were friendly and always asked us how we were enjoying our stay. The view over the lake was just gorgeous and a very short walk into town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhp_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Did a week long trip in NZ and this was our 3rd hotel stop for the trip. Staff at reception were VERY helpful and would do anything for you. Rooms were great, loved the headed floor tiles and towel racks, very helpful on the cold mornings and after skiing all day.

Felt like that the owners were in it for the $ at times and not the customer satisfaction. Had to pay $6 for 2hrs wifi which was rude considering most places we had been to previously offered it for free. And washing powder was $1 per packet whereas other places once again gave it to guests free.

All in all the location was great, very clean and nice homey feel to it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Hello Miles
Thank you for your comments and we were pleased to hear that you were happy with the level of service you received during your stay with us at The Moorings. We strive to offer a superior level of service to all our guests and it pleasing to hear that we are achieving this.

We are sorry to note however that you felt management were 'in it for the money". We do feel this comment was a little unfair especially as upon your arrival you were upgraded to a superior apartment free of charge along with receiving complimentary wifi for the first day.

Thank you for taking the time to write and we have taken your comments on board. Thank you for visiting Wanaka and we hope the remainder of your trip was enjoyable.

Kind regards
The Moorings
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed here when visiting our sons who were working for the ski season. We were on holiday from Scotland and made welcome in Wanaka. This is a good place to stay, good view of the lake, comfortable room, clean bathroom and a place to park the car. We would be happy to return here to stay again.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Macleod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while traveling around the South Island. The laundry facility was very convenient after finishing our backpack on the Milford Track because we had many clothes to wash. All the restaurants were within easy walking distance, and the view from our room of Lake Wanaka was very relaxiing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dort1gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

A boutique two-storey apartment equipped with everything you needed for your stay. a bit pricey but you will have three rooms in your apartment which more than enough for a big family. You also have hob, oven, microwave, dishwasher, premium-graded utensils and BBQ stove at the corridor. Just across the road is the wonderful playground "Dino Park" at the lake side.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ong-ard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
793 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Address: 17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: $127 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings Motel and Apartments offers stylish accommodation for the discerning traveller. We offer lakefront studio units with outstanding un-interrupted views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains and our family apartments are ideal for larger groups. Our complex is just one minutes walk to the nearest cafes and shops and the lakes edge or just a two minute stroll to town. Complimentary wifi available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Moorings Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing