We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of The Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Moorings
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

The Managers are really friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. We found the rooms really clean and modern on the 2 occasions we stayed. The views are great and its just a 3 min walk to the main strip of restaurants and shops. It can get a little bright and warm on a sunny afternoon and there is some traffic noise but thats to be expected for the location. A continental breakfast tray can be organised for $12pp which is delivered the night before, a great idea if you have an early start.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekker065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    129
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
60
278
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The hotel was easy to find, and the location close to the beach was very nice.
Having no AC on one of the hottest days of the summer was a challenge and likely figured pretty strong in my opinion of the place.
The staff were all helpful, and I have to say Wanaka was a great surprise. We ended up staying there longer instead of going to Queenstown. There was easy access to many of the same trips (Milford Sound) and activities (river rides, skydiving...) but less of the hassles and congestion.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank draym85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were traeted like long lost friends.
room was comfortable and clean. We were taken to the room and warned about th metal legson the bed which can hurt with a stubbed toe. Nice compact kitchen and good shower. The manager Karlene was fantastic. Gave us some washing powder which saved us buying any.
The tip of the day was the local pizza restuarant called the cow.. really good thank you.

So try thei motel and i we are sure your going to enjot it.... did i mention the view... wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at this motel for two nights on our way from Franz Josef to Te Anau. It was fabulous. The property is right by the lakeside, just a road separates it from the lake. The views of the lake at night and the mountains in the background are very pretty. Make yourself comfortable in those chairs they placed outside, it is amazing. The hosts are very nice and took time to tell us what's available etc. The room is a tad small and a bit cramped at some places. Odd enough, the bathroom door opens outside, and not inside and opens right into the kitchen area. If someone standing there then be prepared to be knocked down! The house maintenance includes making the bed, but not the dishes, FYI. One can walk from the balcony door straight into the lake and everything is nearby - Four Square super market, 2 petrol pumps, 2 Indian restaurants, Subway, gifts shop....The other problem is parking. If you are coming in during a peak day, then be prepared to park far from the room. Overall, am quite positive about this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANANDKMOORTHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Great place to stay. I found the rooms to bed clean, comfortable, contained everything I wanted. What made my stay was the doors opening to a spectacular view. Well worth staying here, next time I'm in town I will return.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstie976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We had a long journey to Wanaka and arrived quite late but still received a very friendly welcome. The room overlooking the lake was superb and very well specified if a little warm. There is no aircon and the weather was gorgeous. But that's just a trifle concern, we slept with a window and the french door open, even though we were on the ground floor. Wanaka feels very safe. Highly recommended accomodation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I travel to NZ regularly on business and always spend time in Wanaka, Ive stayed at The Moorings many times now and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. The views are excellent from the studio balcony, the rooms are always immaculate, the hosts are always friendly and welcoming, and the tariff is very reasonable. Highly recommended !!!

Room Tip: Upstairs studio unit..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onthebeachat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
508 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Property: The Moorings
Address: 17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#2 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings Motel and Apartments offers stylish accommodation for the discerning traveller. We offer lakefront studio units with outstanding un-interrupted views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains and our family apartments are ideal for larger groups. Our complex is just one minutes walk to the nearest cafes and shops and the lakes edge or just a two minute stroll to town. Complimentary wifi available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Moorings Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing