We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and cute”
Review of Wanaka

Wanaka
Book In Advance
More Info
$144.18*
and up
Wine Tour with Wine Tasting from Wanaka
Ranked #2 of 74 things to do in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wanaka is a gorgeous place on wanaka lake.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful and cute”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wanaka is really beautiful with plenty of things to do around. I recommend a stop here on the way to/from Queenstown.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Resigenochigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    727
    209
    35
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llangollen, North Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is our second time here but we are staying for a week this time because we enjoyed it so much. There is a vast amount of outdoor things you can do here with a stunning backdrop whilst you are doing them. If you come to NZ you need to visit Wanaka

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueD58_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wanaka”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a lovely town. Relaxed atmosphere, really friendly people, crystal clear water in the lake, loads to do , good shops, & beautiful scenery everywhere you look .

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Now for a real adventure!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Mt Aspiring Glacier Expedition with Mt Aspiring Guides was a perfect father and son experience with my 15 year old son. We were after a memorable adventure, and we sure got it. It was the two of us with an experienced guide, Tony.

We trekked along the valley, crossed freezing rivers barefoot, battled gravity 1,000m with our packs up very steep NZ mountains, stayed in a mountaineering hut amongst the mountains. And that was day 1. Day 2 involved crampons, ice axes and ropes. We came very close to crevices, but stayed away. Another 900m straight up, before descending down to the hut.

For anyone in need of a serious challenge, a memorable experience and a heap of fun - try this one.

The company is very experienced, the guides good and the pricing reasonable given the low ratio of clients per guide. They do moderate level walks through to ascents, mountaineering instructor courses, backcountry skiing and the like.

The weather is always variable in NZ and it is best to have some flexibility.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AjmSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wanaka”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Excellent town for ambling about, everything is walking distance, very very clean. Nice shops, bars and plenty of things to do all close by.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing