We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good views and food. Rooms ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whare Kea Lodge & Chalet
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Beautiful views, very friendly staff and excellent chefs. Loved the way we were introduced to the chefs in the kitchen on our arrival and were invited to bob in at anytime. The food was excellent, although fourteen guests dining on one table was not ideal, fine while there was only six or so.

However the bedrooms were very ordinary, not large and bathrooms rather tired, not the standard one would expect from a Relais & Chateaux.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hope-you-save-time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 49 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2011

Great chef, brilliant food, a comfortable bed and a major view.

Lake Wanaka is so much better than Queenstown, and Whare Kea has a premium location. A morning walk on the lakeside path below the chalet is a reward in itself.

Although it’s a lodge it feels like a private house. The suites are really only large rooms, and the rooms themselves are small. If it was full it would feel too crowded for me.

But you don’t go to Whare Kea to lie about, it’s all about getting out and doing things. And the excellent staff can arrange just about anything.

Overall it’s a good experience , although I am not sure it warrants its price point.

Room Tip: If you are staying more than 1 night you will need a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFoggSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The location in the main attraction - awesome mountains surrounds and first class skiing nearby, particularly heliskiing - but Whare Kea is also in a class of its own when it comes to comfort and service, particularly the incomparable meals prepared by the Chef.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zlejins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We (me, my wife, our 12 year old daughter and her friend) stayed in this hotel for three nights from 7 to 10 July, 2011. To be honest, it was an extraordinary experience. We were the only guests at the time and it was as if we were staying in our own home but being waited on hand and foot by a friendly and attentive staff. Perhaps the highlight for us as regards the stay in the hotel was the food. James Stapley, the chef, and Craig (who kind of doubles as a "butler" and sous chef) were absolutely fantastic. My wife is a food fanatic and they were very happy for her to come in to the kitchen whenever she felt the need to watch them prepare our food, exchanging tips and discussing ingredients. The two girls also treated the kitchen as if it was their kitchen at home (and if the guys found it irritating, they didn't say anything!) James spoke to us each evening discussing what we wanted to eat for dinner the next day - he managed to get oysters, venison, crayfish and, for me, made a magnificent rhubarb crumble on the last day (I embarrassed myself by eating (nearly) all of it) as discussed the previous evening, amongst other delights. We cannot speak highly enough of James and Craig. My wife is looking forward to James's Whare Kea cook book which we understand is coming out shortly.

I should also mention the other staff who went out of their way to help with everything including trips notwithstanding the non-stop rain that accompanied our stay. They organised a horse riding trip for us (Timber Lake) one afternoon and we were delighted to see Carol the riding instructress cooking us breakfast the next morning!

We were also privileged to have dinner on the first evening with the owner and his son . We had a very good conversation about skiing, Wanaka and the hotel and chalet, amongst other things.

The views from the hotel across Lake Wanaka are absolutely stunning as has been well documented in other reviews. It is only a few minutes drive from the town of Wanaka and on the road to Treble Cone - say 25 minutes from here - and around 30 minutes or so from Cardrona - if you want to go skiing.

The architecture of the place is interesting in a modernist sort of way. The "living room" was extremely comfortable with a log fire in the centre of the room and spectacular views of the Lake and the mountains.

The rooms themselves did not quite justify the price of the hotel - they were large and comfortable but the fittings could be improved. My wife was unable to have a hot bath one evening because there was only cold water at the time - not sure why this happened given that we were the only people staying.

There is no doubt this place is expensive. For us, the price was justified by the food, the friendliness of the staff and chefs, the views and the fact that we had the place to ourselves. If money is of no object (and subject to some quibbles about the rooms), this is the place to stay in Wanaka. I would definitely return - would love to go to their chalet in the mountains - and would recommend Whare Kea to anyone with means.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank side11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

During our three weeks vacations this sapcious 6 ****** Hotel was together with the
Split apple retreat simply the best. Charming service angles are always taking care of you. We stayed alone in ths wonderfull lodge, extra for us the cook came in and served us one michelin star quality food.

Gorgeous, unfortunately we have not seen something like this in Europe.

ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hhrhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

My s/o and I spent a little over three weeks driving across New Zealand. We stayed at many of the premier lodges in the country, and Whare Kea was one of our favorites. Heck, maybe just our favorite. First, there's the great location. We just adored Wanaka. A beautiful and very charming town on the lake with gorgeous trees and a great atmosphere. The proximity to Mount Aspiring National Park with its great hikes and scenery was awesome.

But the lodge itself! The photos don't do it justice. The architecture is stunning and elegant, and the views of the mountains and the lake are world class. The staff are very competent but not at all stuffy, just friendly and full of information. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and while it didn't have the 'wow' factor of some of the other rooms in some of the lodges we stayed, it was just fine (and I'm picky).

We were only there two night, sadly, and one day we were to do the "Siberian Experience" which involves a small plane flight, hike, and jetboating. We were very much looking forward to it, and when we woke up and saw the lousy weather we knew it was probably going to be a bust. The staff kept us informed, calling the operator every few minutes, before it was finally determined it was cancelled. But they had several other suggestions for us, and even though the weather wasn't the best, we perused the maps and hike descriptions provided to us and decided to drive about an hour to hike to the Rob Roy glacier. What a good choice! The major rain held off until we were back and it was a spectacular day through some of the prettiest scenery I've ever seen. We only got a glimpse of Mt. Aspiring herself because of cloud cover, but the next day was clear and gorgeous and we drove a few minutes from the lodge to a great viewing point and got some good photos. After the hike we returned to the cozy fire and wine in our beautiful lodge. It was really the perfect NZ experience, reflecting the openness of the country, but also the innovation in terms of architecture and furnishings.

Lastly, a word about the food. It was the best we had in NZ. The chef, whose name unfortunately escapes me, is a treasure. My s/o and I still talk about stealing him and opening a restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

The heli picked us up from the lawn in front of our suite on our wedding day! The staff added magic to our wedding day and honeymoon by making our stay at Whare Kea Lodge perfect. They are so warm, friendly and helpful you never want to leave. They are extremely thoughtful and proactive in their care. The Lodge is welcoming, homely, clean, spacious and bright. The food is delicious, the chef took care of our dietary needs and cooked a wide variety of tasty meals over our stay. The location is stunning. All-in-all you cannot help but fall in love with Whare Kea Lodge. Did I mention the staff are AMAZING?!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynneCB333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
834 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
528 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
457 reviews
3.6 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
2.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whare Kea Lodge & Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whare Kea Lodge & Chalet

Address: 494 Mt. Aspiring Road, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
#9 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: $365 - $6,935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Whare Kea Lodge & Chalet 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting above the shores of Lake Wanaka, Whare Kea is the perfect luxury accommodation for families or groups of friends wishing to soak up the splendour of the area a private location. Our superbly comfortable lakeside lodge offers an ideal combination of shared and also private spaces well suited to accommodate small groups of up to 12 guest whether you prefer rest & relaxation or want to experience Wanaka's myriad of outdoor pursuits. Our fully equipped kitchen at Whare Kea allows guests to self-cater whilst looking out at the stunning vistas over Lake Wanaka. Alternatively, catering can be arranged. Additional Services to compliment your stay are extensive & unlimited with our property manager available to tailor make your exclusive retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whare Kea Lodge & Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whare Kea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing