We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but delightful”
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2010

I only stayed the one night but it would be a very comfortable base for exploring the area. I went for the cheapest room I could and it came with kitchen, sitting area separate bedroom. The room had a balcony with partial lake view. The hotel is located on the lakeside outside the town about a twenty minute walk away. For some reason the restaurant was not available for dinner so ate in their cafe. Probably the same menu and quality was good but as there was also a tour group staying independant guests were sat in a side area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GravyMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
There are newer reviews for Edgewater
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 793 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2010

The hotel sits right on the lake and the views and access to the lake cannot be beat. Unfortunately, thats where the praise ends. They take a beautiful spot and plunk down an outdated dull hotel without any warmth. Its a real tragedy as it would take little more than a smile at the front desk, comfortable mattresses and just basic interior design to make it fabulous. But the rooms are bare and uninteresting and without color. They don't even bother to put out chairs on your deck so you can enjoy the lawn down to the lake. And they misrepresent their extras-- the mini golf course is a 9 foot by 15 foot putting green with nine holes drilled in it. The bikes and canoes are old, worn and inaccessible, and the spa is a dirty cold whirlpool. So if great location is enough, it creates access. If you expect any extras forget it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drewhughru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2010

Dear TripAdvisor member,

I wish to thank you for your encouraging comments on our lakeside views. Regarding the decor, I apologize our rooms were not what you had originally imagined, we at Edgewater aim to create a relaxed ‘home away from home’ type atmosphere, and feel our unpretentious look defines and reinforces that, see photos on main page.

I apologize for the confusion over our putting green, we do not have a mini golf course. This information may possibly have been misrepresented in some third party collateral. In response to the absence of chairs on your deck, ground floor rooms have either built in bench seating or two chairs, whilst upstairs rooms provide two outdoor chairs on the deck. Without further information on the room of your stay I am unable to provide any further comments on this.

With regards to your observations of our kayaks and bikes, we updated our fleet of mountain bikes to new 2010 TREK 3 series bikes, and purchased three new kayaks, but due to delivery issues we did not receive these until the end of January.

We also acknowledge your comments regarding our spa pool and am happy to advise we have just finished completely refurbishing this area including the installation of two large Chelsee Sundance Spas.

We appreciate your constructive comments and do our best to react positively to feedback from our guests.

Kind regards,

Ellen Cairns
Marketing and Event Sales Coordinator – Edgewater

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We paid $280 a night and I had negotiated breakfast in. Well the breakfast was so bad we only had it the first morning. After that we stuck with our home made musel, fresh fruit etc in our room. It also put us off dining at the hotel so we cannot comment on that aspect.

Nice peaceful location although rooms very dark inside. Our shower room was a joke too.

All in all too expensive and not to be recommended.

PS (Very disappointed to be charged for WIFI after paying for such an expensive hotel)

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank moooose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2010

Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you for your comments in regards to Edgewater, we do appreciate all customer feedback and after reading your review, I am happy to advise we have had a total revamp of our breakfast product and the presentation of such.

With our newly built ice well displays we offer a selection of fresh fruits, yoghurts, sliced cheeses and continental meats along with a wide selection of pastries and breads in conjunction with the traditional breakfast fare of cereals, juices and hot produce one would expect. I have loaded two photos of our new breakfast buffet for your perusal which should be available for viewing shortly.

Kind regards,
Ellen Cairns
Marketing and Event Sales Coordinator - Edgewater

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

What a beautiful place to stay! We had a view of the lake and we could walk straight across the lawn to the water's edge. The gardens are well kept and it made a lovely evening walk, in one direction reaching vineyards, in the other direction (inn 20 minutes or so) the little town, with a good choice of restaurants, cafes, and outdoor clothing/equipment shops. We ate in the bar, and had some tasty food, served with a smile, although the vegetarian choice was very limited (and we were driven inside by insects in the end).
A good sized room with a lovely big and clean bathroom.
The rooms are arranged in little blocks, which means some are upstairs with no lift, so ask for a ground floor room near the reception area if that's a problem.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olderromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

We stayed here for a wedding, fabulous views of the Lake and the staff were excellent. Nice buffet breakfast too. Rooms are in total need of upgrading though, I was expecting it to be pretty flash but it was a bit 70's and dreary, with textured ceilings and old carpet. Other than this we had a great stay and would recommend getting a deal with them or if you are looking for something a bit flash then maybe going elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MellySmelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Loved it - central to ski fields, close enough to town but not too close. Brilliant large serviced apartments with beautiful view over Lake Wanaka. Would go back in a flash. Restaurant Degustation menu BRILLIANT

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Very quaint hotel right next to the lake. Huge rooms with big comfy beds. Hotel was very tranquil but that meant a 20 minute walk into town, we highly recommend the Speights Ale House there, order the green lipped mussels and you won't be dissapointed. Very handy for Treble Cone ski area too.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowmansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
262 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: $140 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing