We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wish we stayed longer, amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
kildare
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wish we stayed longer, amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

While travelling down the west coast on the way to queenstown we decided to stay in Edgewater for 1 night, we got inking with road closures and ended up not arriving until 11.30pm where the night porter met us and brought us to our room. We paid a little extra for a suite and it was well worth it. As we arrived at night, we had no idea what the view was like so it was amazing to wake up to the view over Lake Wanaka. This has to be the most beautiful little town in New Zealand. As we arrived late, the hotel staff allowed us to have late checkout so we got the use of our room and the views. Would definitely recommend, the staff we're so friendly.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank amie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Amie F

Sounds like you made a good decision to have a night in Wanaka, given the uncertainty regarding the weather related road closures at the Haast Pass.

We appreciate your kind words about our team and so pleased you got to enjoy Edgewater's amazing lakefront location in the morning.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    209
    61
    15
    8
See reviews for
153
304
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Thanks Edgewater, we booked two nights in a self contained unit. We had such a peaceful time and loved the views and facilities we stayed an extra night. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hoping we'll be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yolande O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Yolande

Thanks for taking the time to write this review and we're so pleased you decided to spend an extra night to enjoy the peace just a little longer.

Fingers crossed you'll make it back. We look forward to welcoming you.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Booked mystery deal through wotif and was so impressed. Booking in was so easy & as we were having a break from the camper van appreciated the spacious & warmth of the room. Fabulous view too. Would definitely visit again. Although slightly out of centre of Wanaka was well worth the quietness & views.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VeeNZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear VeeNZed

Great news that you enjoyed your stay with us at Edgewater after booking your mystery deal.

We're pleased we added some welcomed relief from your camper-van trip.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

One of our favourite places in nz. The one bedroom luxury self contained apartment was brilliant. Excellent quality, spacious, our own small but private outside space. The views were stunning and the walk into the centre a must(leisurely 30mins). The grounds are really spacious and surrounded in areas for recreation.
The staff were great, food excellent and access to booking various activities around the area available on site.

Room Tip: On the far side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catharine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Catharine G

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay at Edgewater.

We're pleased you enjoyed our apartment accommodation and it sounds like you enjoyed the lakefront stroll into the centre of Wanaka too.

We appreciate your kind words about the team at Edgewater also.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were staying in the timeshare section of the resort so I can't comment on the rooms however the staff were fantastic. From the moment we arrived they made our stay great. We had our 9 month d with us and the staff were so friendly to him.

We were there during their quiet period so during dinner one of the waitresses played with our bub while we finished our meal which was really lovely. Just an example of thinking about how to help their guests have a lovely holiday.

Also need to make a special mention for George, the concierge, he was so lovely and accommodating. Full of local information and helped us so much on several occasions. He helped make our trip even better.

The location of the resort is beautiful. wanaka is a stunning place and really recommend a visit especially for families.

Thanks again Edgewater for making our first family holiday so great

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_traveller8619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Aussie Traveller

We appreciate you taking the time to write such an extensive review, especially being so busy with a young baby!

We're delighted George and our team looked after you and your family so well.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a one bedroom apartment. Big, spacious and absolutely clean.
Stunning view, overlooking the lake. A family of Paradise ducks was swimming quietly in it. Short drive to city centre. Nice to walk around the lake.

Room Tip: Choose rooms overlooking lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamilahAb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Kia Ora

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater. We are pleased you enjoyed our location and amenities so much.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

When you come to NZ, your here to shred.
And when your tired from that, u need a comfy bed.
A bed that's made and towels that are clean.
And staff that are friendly and anything but mean.
So avoid the backpackers that push u to the ledge.
And put your feet up, at the wonderful edge......water hotel

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Davohall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Kia Ora

Fair to say this is our first poetic review! Many thanks for your prose.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
1.8 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Property: Edgewater
Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing