We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK room...excellent view”
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK room...excellent view”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The location is great. The view of the lake any time of the day is wonderful. However, maybe you can find that in other hotels as well. My concern is the room. Although it is spacious, it really is just OK..considering the price. A little renovation wouldn't hurt. :) so next time, maybe I'll look for other hotels in the area.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank symphony88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Kia ora

Thanks for taking the time to share your impressions of Edgewater.

The location is very special and unique within Wanaka, offering uninterrupted access to the lakefront.

We aim to refurbish regularly and trust that by the time you come back to Wanaka we will have completed our next round of refurbishments.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    256
    72
    20
    14
See reviews for
190
388
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We decided to spend a night at the Edgewater en route Queenstown while on our honeymoon. This hotel has an excellent location but apart from that there is really nothing on offer. To our surprise, even though they were well aware that we were on our honeymoon, the hotel didn't even have the basic courtesy to at least put in a small card in our room (what to talk of a bottle of sparkling wine or champagne) to congratulate us (not saying that its mandatory but that's the least they could have done just to make the guest feel special, as we had stayed in some of the finest properties in NZ prior and afterwards like the Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments in Queenstown and they ensured we were made to feel special).

Secondly, the food. We had ordered lamb chops just cse the menu had about 8 dishes and you cant go wrong with lamb chops, they r that standard. But to our surprise, the food was so bad that we actually left the meal midway and drove to the nearest Subway outlet in the heart of town and had our dinner there.

It gets better. The next day we got up a lil late as we had been driving the previous night and were curtly told we had to vacate the room by 11 otw extra charges apply! I mean cmon people, youre not running a shady bed and breakfast that you have to be that rigid with guests, come over to India some day and stay in a 3 star property and ull see what true luxury really means. (deliberately mentioned 3 star cse u wont b able to handle the pampering and luxury ull be showered with in a 5 or 7 star property).

Be that as it may, Wanaka and NZ as a whole are absolutely stunning and all other 5 star properties in the Country offer reasonable comfort and luxury, but this hotel should actually be rebuilt and the staff should be sent to other parts of the world for some real hospitality training.

Wouldn't advise anyone to stay at this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raj212013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Kia Ora
Further to your review we’ve analysed all our guest stays during March and unfortunately, without further detail, we are unable to identify your visit and thus investigate details further to more fully respond.

However I can confirm that during the month of March our review showed that we had no guests from India where we knew those guests were on their honeymoons. But again, without specific detail (such as the origin of your booking) we are unable to check further as to the manner of how we might have been aware of your particular honeymoon visit.

We presume you ordered Cardrona Valley Merino Lamb Shank, not lamb chops as the Shank was the only lamb item on the menu in March. We are sorry this was not to your taste.
On occasion we may be able to extend our check out time beyond 11am, with prior arrangement, so guests can enjoy their time at Edgewater.

It is unfortunate that we were unable to meet up to your expectations during your stay in March. Edgewater holds a 4 star hotel grade from independent agency Qualmark New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Really disappointed. Photos are misleading - the hotel is 3 star at best and needs a complete renovation to bring it out of the 1980's. The walls are paper thin and you can hear your neighbours, the "kitchenette" consists of a hot plate and a bar fridge, and our room had a really bad odour and smelled like the cleaners kept trying to mask it with products. The hotel had a conference during our stay with a band playing late at night which was ludicrously loud - we ended up switching rooms in the end. We come to Wanaka every year but will be finding another place next time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mezz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mezz

We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with your stay and hope that your experience won’t deter you from continuing to enjoy Wanaka in the future.

As you mentioned you did change rooms which we were very happy to offer to you in the circumstances, though the two piece musical group and vocalist played from 9.30pm until only 11pm for the conference guests who happened to be in house at the same time as yourselves.

We are at pains to ensure that any of our hotel photography is an accurate representation of our rooms. We don’t embellish in any manner other than by using items that are readily available in that particular room type.

The suite and apartment rooms are, you rightly point out equipped with a “kitchenette”. However you may have overlooked the other items in the kitchenette such as the microwave, pots, pans, cutlery, crockery and glass wear. There are limited items of each for guests’ conveniences and we are very clear that the facilities are ‘kitchenette style’ not a full kitchen.

The property holds a four star grading awarded by the national accreditation organisation, Qualmark New Zealand. We undertake regular and rigorous appraisals based on their exhaustive criteria to achieve this nationally recognised standard.

Unfortunately we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion, despite our efforts in changing your room and the offer of a compensatory complimentary dinner for your inconvenience.

Regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have stayed on several occasions and will do again. I negotiated a for a multi night stay and was satisfied with our room. The hotel is lovely, although not new, it is still a lovely place to stay. Upon check out however, I was completely taken by surprise. When I went to pay the account by Visa, I was told I would have to pay extra ( 1.5% ) to cover the fee charged by Visa. I have never had this happen anywhere previously. The receptionist was very rude and argued with me re this, saying it was usual practise everywhere. Absolute rubbish. Apart from this bad experience, the stay was very nice

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrynheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Harry and Heather

Thanks for taking the time to make this review.

With regards to the credit card surcharge it is unfortunate you were taken by surprise as it was indicated on your booking confirmation, advertised at reception and we also accept EFTPOS debt card transfer (which would have avoided that charge).

As it happens it is also stated in our FAQ section on the website.

It is increasingly common to charged a credit card surcharge for payment, especially in the tourism industry.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Beautiful location, good service, rooms are small and not set up for doing any work for those of us compelled to do some work while on holiday - ie little room for working on laptop, what space there is sits in front of large mirror - when you are in a place like this I would far rather observe the view then my reflection. The real surprise is that the hotel has no Internet. They have instead outsourced to a local company to provide very limited and restricted access that you pay exorbitantly for by the hour. We have come to wanaka every year for conference, this is the first time we have actually stayed at the hotel, and we will not stay again. For the same price you can get Very Well Appointed houses with free unlimited Internet access. Furthermore, in your own accommodation you dont have to share laundry facilities (or pay extra to use) with 50 other people so that doing laundry becomes a 12hour exercise of waiting your turn, checking who has jumped the queue etc ( discovered upon emptying the dryer - just the one that they have) it was full of staff uniforms and tea towels. We just thought this year to treat ourselves - how very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zimviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Kia Ora from Edgewater,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

As you may appreciate, by our location on the lakefront, and within Wanaka, that the hotel and room design was generally for leisure guests in a pre-internet age.

It is a shame that work needs to come with you but a sign of the modern times! Connectivity is very important to us all now.

I am pleased to say we are poised on full wireless, free interest access at Edgewater. There have been quite a few technical details to take into consideration but we have made some tangible advances.

Perhaps an option for the future may be our suite or apartment style room as these both offer a kitchenette and importantly for you an in-room washing machine and dryer. You can also enjoy our location and good service from our staff and we appreciate your comments in that regard.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We've been staying at the Edgewater at least once a year over the last 5 to 6 years. Always make a mental note to look for an alternative but end up at Edgewater. Why? Excellent lakefront location within walking distance to town.

Property is a little tired but suits the needs of family and this is made up for by an efficient housekeeping team. The reception staff do not recognize repeat visitors and have no qualms subtly letting you know that your five nights is insignificant compared to even longer staying guests.

Hotel has great potential...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAR_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Kia Ora from Edgewater

Thanks for taking time to provide us with your feedback.

You make a good point about recognising our many repeat guests and I am sorry on this occasion it seems we may have not recognised your many past visits. We know guest history from the name the booking is made under and/or guests’ home address. So this information needs to match exactly to identify a repeat stay.

At the time of your stay the property was extremely busy. Nevertheless we aimed to have your two rooms located near to each other. We trust you enjoyed one of your rooms being upgraded to a suite room type which was part of trying to place you near to each other. As it happened, there was a guest who was staying for a month nearby hence the reason why we were unable to situate your rooms exactly side by side.

We value all our guest visits, whether they stay for one night, five nights or a month. I am sorry on this occasion you felt less valued because we worked very hard to cater for your specific needs.

Thanks for your kind words about our housekeeping team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Edgewater and to enjoy our lakefront location and family friendly facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were an extended family group looking for a quiet place where we could relax, entertain a 2 year old, go walking, ski and enjoy the views of the lake. We had 2 x 2 bedroom units and were 6 adults and a toddler. We used the kitchenette facilities to prepare some of our own food and ate at the restaurant some evenings. We could have used some storage for our food and a few more kitchen utensils but these are minor quibbles.Bedrooms and common area in each unit was spacious with plenty of recreation room. Staff came daily and emptied rubbish, made beds and replenished toiletries and were really helpful. An incorrect discounted rate was quoted but held despite the mistake, which we very much appreciated. Nothing but positives for this excellent facility. All in all, it was the perfect spot for our holiday

Room Tip: close to the lake was a great place to be to enjoy the ducks which came to the apartment each day. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi there Travel Junkie

Sounds like you had a great time with your friends and 2 year old on holiday. I am sure the ducks provided hours of amusement for the small toddler.

I can imagine the kitchenette in the apartments may have been a little busy, with the various needs you had, especially catering for both the toddler and adult requirements.

Pleased you enjoyed your family time at Edgewater and we look forward to welcoming you back again next holidays.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Property: Edgewater
Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing