We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother; 3 star at best”
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Really disappointed. Photos are misleading - the hotel is 3 star at best and needs a complete renovation to bring it out of the 1980's. The walls are paper thin and you can hear your neighbours, the "kitchenette" consists of a hot plate and a bar fridge, and our room had a really bad odour and smelled like the cleaners kept trying to mask it with products. The hotel had a conference during our stay with a band playing late at night which was ludicrously loud - we ended up switching rooms in the end. We come to Wanaka every year but will be finding another place next time.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mezz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Mezz

We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with your stay and hope that your experience won’t deter you from continuing to enjoy Wanaka in the future.

As you mentioned you did change rooms which we were very happy to offer to you in the circumstances, though the two piece musical group and vocalist played from 9.30pm until only 11pm for the conference guests who happened to be in house at the same time as yourselves.

We are at pains to ensure that any of our hotel photography is an accurate representation of our rooms. We don’t embellish in any manner other than by using items that are readily available in that particular room type.

The suite and apartment rooms are, you rightly point out equipped with a “kitchenette”. However you may have overlooked the other items in the kitchenette such as the microwave, pots, pans, cutlery, crockery and glass wear. There are limited items of each for guests’ conveniences and we are very clear that the facilities are ‘kitchenette style’ not a full kitchen.

The property holds a four star grading awarded by the national accreditation organisation, Qualmark New Zealand. We undertake regular and rigorous appraisals based on their exhaustive criteria to achieve this nationally recognised standard.

Unfortunately we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion, despite our efforts in changing your room and the offer of a compensatory complimentary dinner for your inconvenience.

Regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
There are newer reviews for Edgewater
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 791 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have stayed on several occasions and will do again. I negotiated a for a multi night stay and was satisfied with our room. The hotel is lovely, although not new, it is still a lovely place to stay. Upon check out however, I was completely taken by surprise. When I went to pay the account by Visa, I was told I would have to pay extra ( 1.5% ) to cover the fee charged by Visa. I have never had this happen anywhere previously. The receptionist was very rude and argued with me re this, saying it was usual practise everywhere. Absolute rubbish. Apart from this bad experience, the stay was very nice

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrynheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Harry and Heather

Thanks for taking the time to make this review.

With regards to the credit card surcharge it is unfortunate you were taken by surprise as it was indicated on your booking confirmation, advertised at reception and we also accept EFTPOS debt card transfer (which would have avoided that charge).

As it happens it is also stated in our FAQ section on the website.

It is increasingly common to charged a credit card surcharge for payment, especially in the tourism industry.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Beautiful location, good service, rooms are small and not set up for doing any work for those of us compelled to do some work while on holiday - ie little room for working on laptop, what space there is sits in front of large mirror - when you are in a place like this I would far rather observe the view then my reflection. The real surprise is that the hotel has no Internet. They have instead outsourced to a local company to provide very limited and restricted access that you pay exorbitantly for by the hour. We have come to wanaka every year for conference, this is the first time we have actually stayed at the hotel, and we will not stay again. For the same price you can get Very Well Appointed houses with free unlimited Internet access. Furthermore, in your own accommodation you dont have to share laundry facilities (or pay extra to use) with 50 other people so that doing laundry becomes a 12hour exercise of waiting your turn, checking who has jumped the queue etc ( discovered upon emptying the dryer - just the one that they have) it was full of staff uniforms and tea towels. We just thought this year to treat ourselves - how very disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zimviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Kia Ora from Edgewater,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

As you may appreciate, by our location on the lakefront, and within Wanaka, that the hotel and room design was generally for leisure guests in a pre-internet age.

It is a shame that work needs to come with you but a sign of the modern times! Connectivity is very important to us all now.

I am pleased to say we are poised on full wireless, free interest access at Edgewater. There have been quite a few technical details to take into consideration but we have made some tangible advances.

Perhaps an option for the future may be our suite or apartment style room as these both offer a kitchenette and importantly for you an in-room washing machine and dryer. You can also enjoy our location and good service from our staff and we appreciate your comments in that regard.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We've been staying at the Edgewater at least once a year over the last 5 to 6 years. Always make a mental note to look for an alternative but end up at Edgewater. Why? Excellent lakefront location within walking distance to town.

Property is a little tired but suits the needs of family and this is made up for by an efficient housekeeping team. The reception staff do not recognize repeat visitors and have no qualms subtly letting you know that your five nights is insignificant compared to even longer staying guests.

Hotel has great potential...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAR_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Kia Ora from Edgewater

Thanks for taking time to provide us with your feedback.

You make a good point about recognising our many repeat guests and I am sorry on this occasion it seems we may have not recognised your many past visits. We know guest history from the name the booking is made under and/or guests’ home address. So this information needs to match exactly to identify a repeat stay.

At the time of your stay the property was extremely busy. Nevertheless we aimed to have your two rooms located near to each other. We trust you enjoyed one of your rooms being upgraded to a suite room type which was part of trying to place you near to each other. As it happened, there was a guest who was staying for a month nearby hence the reason why we were unable to situate your rooms exactly side by side.

We value all our guest visits, whether they stay for one night, five nights or a month. I am sorry on this occasion you felt less valued because we worked very hard to cater for your specific needs.

Thanks for your kind words about our housekeeping team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Edgewater and to enjoy our lakefront location and family friendly facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were an extended family group looking for a quiet place where we could relax, entertain a 2 year old, go walking, ski and enjoy the views of the lake. We had 2 x 2 bedroom units and were 6 adults and a toddler. We used the kitchenette facilities to prepare some of our own food and ate at the restaurant some evenings. We could have used some storage for our food and a few more kitchen utensils but these are minor quibbles.Bedrooms and common area in each unit was spacious with plenty of recreation room. Staff came daily and emptied rubbish, made beds and replenished toiletries and were really helpful. An incorrect discounted rate was quoted but held despite the mistake, which we very much appreciated. Nothing but positives for this excellent facility. All in all, it was the perfect spot for our holiday

Room Tip: close to the lake was a great place to be to enjoy the ducks which came to the apartment each day. O...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveljunkie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Hi there Travel Junkie

Sounds like you had a great time with your friends and 2 year old on holiday. I am sure the ducks provided hours of amusement for the small toddler.

I can imagine the kitchenette in the apartments may have been a little busy, with the various needs you had, especially catering for both the toddler and adult requirements.

Pleased you enjoyed your family time at Edgewater and we look forward to welcoming you back again next holidays.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I was booked into the Edgewater by Southern Lakes Heli Ski for six nights. The hotel staff were very helpful and attentive. The rooms were clean and comfortable and I had a lovely view over the lake. Breakfast was quite satisfactory without being wildly exciting: I was please when they changed from scrambled to eggs to order! The dinner menu was quite clever with a choice between light mains and full mains, some being just smaller servings. The food was well prepared and presented and the wait staff very friendly and attentive. The only real complaint was the Internet for which one had to purchase scratch cards. It was very slow and expensive. Better to go to Cafe Gusto in town and use their free service.

Room Tip: Ask for lake views and go elsewhere for internet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamishUrquhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

HI Hamish

I hope you enjoyed your heli-ski holiday in Wanaka.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater. Appreciate your comments about the team.

I am pleased to say that we're actively in discussions with a provider regarding quality wi-fi throughout (and no scratch cards!) and hopefully this will all be in place when you next visit.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I booked for 4 nights via a special deal with a fantastic rate and inclusions such as breakfast, wifi, spa, sauna and free use of other facilities. The staff were all friendly and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. The room was amazing - almost a suite with a separate bedroom/ bathroom area and a lounge as well as a kitchenette. The view from the balcony of the lake was gorgeous. The breakfast buffet had variety and everything tasted great. We ate one dinner in the restaurant which was delicious topped off with a local wine. All in all a fantastic place to stay and you'd be hard pressed to find a better hotel in Wanaka (although a deal is the way to go to save money). Only a short walk to the township of Wanaka. We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are great but building 4 is near reception and was a little bit noisy as people coming and...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Toomco

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such an extensive review. We're pleased you enjoyed our dining options and our spacious suites.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to soak up the fabulous views.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
262 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: $130 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing