We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, mediocre service”
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, mediocre service”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We've been staying at the Edgewater at least once a year over the last 5 to 6 years. Always make a mental note to look for an alternative but end up at Edgewater. Why? Excellent lakefront location within walking distance to town.

Property is a little tired but suits the needs of family and this is made up for by an efficient housekeeping team. The reception staff do not recognize repeat visitors and have no qualms subtly letting you know that your five nights is insignificant compared to even longer staying guests.

Hotel has great potential...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAR_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Kia Ora from Edgewater

Thanks for taking time to provide us with your feedback.

You make a good point about recognising our many repeat guests and I am sorry on this occasion it seems we may have not recognised your many past visits. We know guest history from the name the booking is made under and/or guests’ home address. So this information needs to match exactly to identify a repeat stay.

At the time of your stay the property was extremely busy. Nevertheless we aimed to have your two rooms located near to each other. We trust you enjoyed one of your rooms being upgraded to a suite room type which was part of trying to place you near to each other. As it happened, there was a guest who was staying for a month nearby hence the reason why we were unable to situate your rooms exactly side by side.

We value all our guest visits, whether they stay for one night, five nights or a month. I am sorry on this occasion you felt less valued because we worked very hard to cater for your specific needs.

Thanks for your kind words about our housekeeping team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Edgewater and to enjoy our lakefront location and family friendly facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    259
    72
    20
    14
See reviews for
194
388
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were an extended family group looking for a quiet place where we could relax, entertain a 2 year old, go walking, ski and enjoy the views of the lake. We had 2 x 2 bedroom units and were 6 adults and a toddler. We used the kitchenette facilities to prepare some of our own food and ate at the restaurant some evenings. We could have used some storage for our food and a few more kitchen utensils but these are minor quibbles.Bedrooms and common area in each unit was spacious with plenty of recreation room. Staff came daily and emptied rubbish, made beds and replenished toiletries and were really helpful. An incorrect discounted rate was quoted but held despite the mistake, which we very much appreciated. Nothing but positives for this excellent facility. All in all, it was the perfect spot for our holiday

Room Tip: close to the lake was a great place to be to enjoy the ducks which came to the apartment each day. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi there Travel Junkie

Sounds like you had a great time with your friends and 2 year old on holiday. I am sure the ducks provided hours of amusement for the small toddler.

I can imagine the kitchenette in the apartments may have been a little busy, with the various needs you had, especially catering for both the toddler and adult requirements.

Pleased you enjoyed your family time at Edgewater and we look forward to welcoming you back again next holidays.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I was booked into the Edgewater by Southern Lakes Heli Ski for six nights. The hotel staff were very helpful and attentive. The rooms were clean and comfortable and I had a lovely view over the lake. Breakfast was quite satisfactory without being wildly exciting: I was please when they changed from scrambled to eggs to order! The dinner menu was quite clever with a choice between light mains and full mains, some being just smaller servings. The food was well prepared and presented and the wait staff very friendly and attentive. The only real complaint was the Internet for which one had to purchase scratch cards. It was very slow and expensive. Better to go to Cafe Gusto in town and use their free service.

Room Tip: Ask for lake views and go elsewhere for internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamishUrquhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
HI Hamish

I hope you enjoyed your heli-ski holiday in Wanaka.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater. Appreciate your comments about the team.

I am pleased to say that we're actively in discussions with a provider regarding quality wi-fi throughout (and no scratch cards!) and hopefully this will all be in place when you next visit.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I booked for 4 nights via a special deal with a fantastic rate and inclusions such as breakfast, wifi, spa, sauna and free use of other facilities. The staff were all friendly and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. The room was amazing - almost a suite with a separate bedroom/ bathroom area and a lounge as well as a kitchenette. The view from the balcony of the lake was gorgeous. The breakfast buffet had variety and everything tasted great. We ate one dinner in the restaurant which was delicious topped off with a local wine. All in all a fantastic place to stay and you'd be hard pressed to find a better hotel in Wanaka (although a deal is the way to go to save money). Only a short walk to the township of Wanaka. We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are great but building 4 is near reception and was a little bit noisy as people coming and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Toomco

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such an extensive review. We're pleased you enjoyed our dining options and our spacious suites.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to soak up the fabulous views.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We booked the Edgewater on a "surprise" package.  On arrival we were gone a king suite - excellent facilities - a kitchenette, dining table, living room, bathroom with a washing machine, and a separate bedroom (with TV).  We even had a balcony with a lake  view.  Excellent value!  The resort also has tennis courts and hot tubs and a sauna.

Two minor issues.  Firstly there appears to be a limited amount of hot water - not good in winter.  Secondly some minor cleaning issues but nothing too significant to put you off.  

Also note as with most places in NZ wifi is extra.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Linda,

We're pleased you enjoyed our facilities in the suite room, especially the balcony and the lake view. All our rooms have lake and mountain views, along with a balcony (or patio on the ground floor).

It is unfortunate you found the hot water to be limited. Each suite, apartment or hotel room has its own hot water cylinder. The cylinders are at least 135 litres in size (some are more!). Each has their own heating system, but it does take a little time to re-heat water.

We have noted your comments regarding cleaning. We are always happy for guests to bring any matters to our attention during their stay and we'll endeavour to rectify at the time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wanaka sometime soon.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel itself is just fine. But the view is breathtaking. The room was wonderful the food was good but not great, a bit to pricey and the waitstaff was not the most attentive and yet I would return for the room, the view, the ducks that came up to my back sliding door and the wonderful nature hike from the hotel into the center of town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Emmy

We're pleased you enjoyed our location at Edgewater. The direct access to the lakefront is certainly a benefit of staying with us, as is the easy lake-edge walk into Wanaka.

I am sorry our restaurant wasn't quite up to your expectations and this has been noted by us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Edgewater and Wanaka in the future.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel, stunning location, awesome food and lovely attentive staff......another of my elderly parents favorite places to go in Wanaka..(and mine)..A huge thank you to all the staff for looking after them !!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VWPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear VW Photos,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. It certainly is appreciated, especially by our staff.

Pleased to hear that Edgewater looks after your parents so well.

We look forward to continuing to look after you all in the future.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Property: Edgewater
Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing