We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Edgewater
Nearby Hotels
Ramada Resort Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Moorings(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manuka Crescent Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$75
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$101
$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairway Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wanaka View Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$123
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (894)
Filter reviews
894 results
Traveler rating
482
287
88
21
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
482
287
88
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone bedroom suiteduck pondtennis courtslake edgebuffet breakfastwalking trackwasher dryerstunning locationwalk into townfirst floornew zealandthe ground floorliving areagreat roomsouth islandcomfy bedfantastic views
Filter
Updating list...
650 - 655 of 894 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This 4+ star hotel is situated right on the edge of the lake just out of town.The huge 1 bedroom suite we stayed in had a fantastic view of the lake and the mountains and we purchased it on a special deal of second night for $1!
The staff are so friendly especially Hayley and nothing is a problem
The bar and restaurant look great and there is a great terrace area.
There are walking tracks and plenty of activities
This hotel is a real find in a beautiful part of New Zealand!

Room Tip: ask for lake view rooms
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchie0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Hi Frenchie

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater.

Pleased you managed to grab our second night $1 special!

We appreciate your great feedback.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Edgewater for one night on our drive up the west coast of NZ. It was reserved by the iSite office in Wanaka - when we mentioned we wanted a quiet room with a view. It was exactly that! The Edgewater is about 15-20 minutes walk from the centre of the town along the lake path.
The room and view was exactly as pictured in the pamphlet. Very clean and comfortable room.
We had a late lunch in the restaurant and sat on the outside patio - which we also enjoyed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 102 - a hotel/studio room at the end of the buildings (upstairs). Very quiet with a great view - no one stayed in the apartment below.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Face1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Kia Ora

Great news that our local i-SITE matched your needs and sent you to Edgewater. The lakefront location and spacious setting is special.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in New Zealand and perhaps, one day, we may welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Edgewater is located along the western banks of Lake Wanaka, 15-20 minutes walk into town. It was perfect for our stay as we enjoyed being close to the lake and being away from the busyness of the main town centre.

Look out for their $1 rooms (one bedroom apartment) which must be booked with another full fee paying night. With this deal we found it to be one of the better valued options.

We stayed on the first floor which afforded slightly more privacy (than the ground level units). However when other guests rolled their suitcases outside and walked up/down the stairs it was noisy with the bedroom adjacent to this.

The apartments were a little older but the location made up for it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKPhotographics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

HI CK
Thanks for your review.

The location is quite special and many of our guests, such as yourself, do enjoy being away from the hustle and bustle. Makes for a more tranquil stay.

I a sorry to learn of the noise from guests along the walk way. In the event of persistent or extraordinary noise our team is always happy to assist.

Keep you one on the $1 deals...there may be some more.!

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great motel, we had a washing machine and dryer. The view was awesome. The suite was large and spacious the kitchen was new and the bathroom pretty tidy. We ate in the restaurant and had a good meal. One downside was there was a wedding with a band and it was hard to sleep until the band finished. Ask for a room on the outskirts of the complex.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BidzHopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

HI BidzHopez

Thanks for your review. The lakefront location is certainly a plus and we are pleased you enjoyed it.

Equally we're pleased you enjoyed the spacious suite. I totally agree.....a washing machine and dryer is very handy when traveling!

However I do apologise for the inconvenienced you experienced with our festive wedding party. We do our best to ensure guests who aren't involved in the wedding enjoy their stay equally.

We hope to see you again if you visit Wanaka in the future.

Kind regards
Trish May

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and two friends stayed at Edgewater Club for a week ending 23rd March. What can I say! Perfect weather - perfect location- beautiful grounds. The villa we had was beautifully appointed with good quality cookware, new washing machine, comfortable furniture, BBQ, outside furniture. Bikes complimentary when staying at the timeshare. The Millennium Walkway runs around the lake front and has beautiful views both towards town and to Waterfall Creek. We had a 2 brm with one brm up with bathroom and one down with bathroom. The Hotel was very helpful and service impeccable. The hotel is very close to town 15 minutes walk or a couple minutes drive.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or fitness centre. Some villas have 2 brms same floor but I think they all have views of the mountains or lakes.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holsaddictGlendowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Holsaddict

Thanks for taking the time to share your time in Wanaka.

From your review it seems you stayed at the timeshare Edgewater Club, which is adjacent to Edgewater Hotel but is a separate entity.

Nevertheless we're pleased the Edgewater hotel staff were helpful and the service impeccable when you visited from the Club.

The spacious grounds are very welcoming and tranquil. Pleased you enjoyed yourselves.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews