We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, far from town”
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice view, far from town”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We got off to a bad start at the Edgewater. We arrived at 4:30 pm and our room wasn't ready. I needed to use wi-fi and had to buy an expensive card to get spotty, interrupted service. The room was spacious but lacked charm. The view, however, was spectacular and the long walk to town was quite beautiful. What we did enjoy about the Edgewater was the bar restaurant. Nice atmosphere, attentive staff and a very tasty meal.

Room Tip: make sure you book an upstairs room, much more private!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bickles27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Bickles 27

In response your message we've made some preliminary investigations with regards to your comment about our room readiness and wi-fi.

It is difficult for us to investigate this thoroughly as we don't know your booking details, such as the name the room was booked under and the date(s) you stayed.

If you would like to revert these directly to myself on email (bd@edgewater.co.nz) I would be able to find out more information.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    259
    72
    20
    14
See reviews for
194
388
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights with my parents in law in adjoining rooms/suite. The rooms were certainly comfortable and spacious and the views from the balconies were lovely. The hotel is in a great location on the lakeside, with easy walks straight from the front door, but it's a couple of kilometres to the town centre (not a problem for us, but you can't just pop into town unless you have a car or bike).
We had chosen Edgewater because there was a choice of B&B (plus restaurant) or self catering. My in-laws were keen to self cater and we found that the kitchen facilities, while clean and in good condition, really didn't allow for any proper cooking. There was a microwave and small hob, but not many of the accessories that you really need for cooking (eg no sharp knife, only a bread knife). We managed OK, but it wouldn't be any good for people anticipating cooking meals from scratch. There was a washing machine in our bathroom though, which was very handy and was restocked with washing powder daily.
We didn't try the restaurant, but my in-laws had one breakfast there and felt that it was not good value for money. My husband was unimpressed at having to pay for Wifi (other hotels and B&B's on our trip provided it free).
The housekeeping team seemed pretty efficient, although they did seem to come to clean quite early, so that we were still eating breakfast on most days. I thought this was a bit odd in a holiday hotel (rather than a business hotel, when guests have usually left quite early).
Overall we had a pleasant comfortable stay, and there wasn't any serious fault in the service or accommodation. I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms are either at ground level, with access straight onto the lawns, or one floor up with balconie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anntheartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Anntheartist

Thanks for your very extensive review.

We are pleased to be able to provide flexiblity in our services and facilities to suit travelling parties such as yours, including the various needs of your parents in law.

We are looking very extensively at our wi-fi situation. The first 15mins is free and there is a computer at the reception area that is 'hard-wired' to the internet. Notwithstanding this we are looking at various options to meet the fast changing needs of our guests in this regard.

With regards to the cooking facilities we advertise the suites and two-bedroom apartments as having 'kitchenettes" as opposed to full scale kitchens. However in this instance I am sure reception would have assisted with any particular needs you may have had - such as additional knives. We are sorry for any inconvenience in this regard.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Edgewater.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We recently spent three nights at Edgewater Resort over the New Year period and enjoyed every minute. Fabulous location on the lake with amazing views from our large one bed aparmtent. The apartment was very well equipped and the grounds of Edgewater are just beautiful and very well maintained. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The staff on duty for dinner on New Years Eve were very good and it was great to see them able to celebrate the new year just like the rest of us. Reception staff were also excellent and helpful. Being a short distance out of town was an advantage around New Year as the town is so busy. It is a very easy relaxed walk into the town centre from the resort around the shoreline of the lake. This is a must stay place in my opinion. We will definitely come back to Edgewater Resort for another visit. Have already recommended it to others planning a future trip.

Room Tip: Bottom rooms have sliding doors that open out directly onto the lovely grounds. We could enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Debbie B

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about Edgewater.

We're pleased you had such a great time during your stay over New Year. Our tranquil, lakefront location certainly has advantages.

Thanks too for your kind words about our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wanaka is our favourite holiday destination but this is the first time we have stayed at Edgewater Resort.
Fantastic location, beautiful views from our unit, immaculate grounds as was the room and really friendly helpful staff and a very comfortable bed.
Edgwater is situated right on the lake front and only a 15 minute walk to the village.
Thank you Edgewater we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Paula

Thanks for taking the time to share you experiences at Edgewater. The location is pretty special that is for sure!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Keep an eye on our website for great offers for your next holiday.

Kind regards,
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

In terms of location, Edgewater was brilliant. A great view of the lake, excellent grounds and easy access to town.

Unfortunately the quality of service from the staff severely let them down. We found that the housekeeping staff was useless, with room service trays taking two days to be cleared and daily room tidying to be superficial at best (bins weren't even emptied). The concierge was nowhere to be found, however his "back at 4:30" sign was always there. While the desk staff did try a bit to help out you could tell they really didn't want to be involved. In the end we just did our best without them.

On one occasion we booked kayaks for the next day only to find that there is no booking system. Not really the sort of news you want to hear when you plan your morning around an activity.

The restaurant was pretty good, but the menu became very limited after the second visit. Bookings were hard to get, however the first time we ate there it was supposedly booked out despite there only being two active tables which we found odd. Their room service was extremely slow too.

The rooms were large, but quite dated in terms of fittings. This isn't a big issue, except that there was no air conditioning in them at all. This turned out to be the deal-breaker for us, as a summer visit meant that the rooms were up around 30 degrees C each day. Sleeping in the bedroom became impossible, as opening the window meant sleeping in plain sight of the walkway. In the end we slept on the couch in front of the balcony window. This made for an awful sleeping experience and meant that we'd be hard-pressed to recommend this hotel to anybody during spring, summer or autumn.

Another catch was the with the downstairs rooms opening onto the lawns we found that many people dragged their dining table outside and setup directly beneath the balcony as a family. This became loud and annoying, but unavoidable since closing the window meant dealing with stifling heat.

Overall quite disappointed. No doubt it would be somewhat different in winter, but as a summer destination the hotel simply doesn't work.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms lack privacy on both sides, while upstairs rooms have bedrooms which open directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattDugganAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, General Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Mr Duggan,

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us, although you did return to us after your initial one night stay for a further three nights !

As always we are more than happy to assist our guests with any concerns whilst they are with us yet you made no mention of any issues whilst with us or upon your departure from either of your stays.

I note from your room charges that you did in fact hire the Kayaks as you wished for your morning activity. The front desk staff responsible for hiring out the Kayaks make a safety call on lake conditions at the time of the kayaks going out and hence they would not be in a position to confirm your booking until the day required.

With regards to air conditioning, due to the design of our rooms with large ranch sliders onto patio’s or balconies and direct access to outside from your front door combined with a prevailing lake breeze the rooms can be cooled by utilizing the supplied in room oscillating fan. With regards to the bedroom, the windows have both net curtains and black out drapes so not quite sure on your issue there.

Indeed the hotel is very popular over the summer season with visitors taking advantage of our grounds and position directly on the lake shore to enjoy the holiday period with friends and family

I apologise if your stay was adversely affected by noise created in association with these activities, again if you had bought this to our attention at the time we could have assisted you. I trust you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand and made it safely home. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My favourite hotel on our tour, The room was large and comfortable but the view was gorgeous. walking out of the sliding door and across the lawn, we could sit on the lake beach. after dinner in town, we walked back along the lake, a lovely 20 minute walk and then watched the sun go down and stars come out.
The breakfast was tasty with plenty of choice, but could have been improved with someone to welcome you into the eating area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elfenears55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Elfenears55

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater.

Our location, on the lake shore of Lake Wanaka, is stunning.

We're pleased you enjoyed the shore-line walk into Wanaka (and the sunset!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had stayed on 1 - 3 Jan 2013 with One Bed Room Suite ( Room 411 ) , the room was fabulous and facilities inside the room was great , Again , the views from the room was stunning and breathtaking. But the when we went to breakfast the next day , the staff was not bothered or very careless and the same is not expected from this category of hotel , I would definitely ask the manager with this platform to improve the behaviour of staff towards guests staying . Either they are working overtime or they are not bothered as they think the hotel location is indispensable.

Location , Views - All good , but Staff Behaviour very very bad.

Room Tip: Do not expect anything from staff... They are not bothered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RISHI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, General Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear RISHI C,

On behalf of our Food and Beverage team, please accept our sincere apologies should you not have been treated in the manner you had expected.

Over this peak time we have been working hard to ensure that all guests are looked after in the manner that we are renowned for and if this has not been the case on this occasion, again please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Property: Edgewater
Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing