We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, mediocre service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, mediocre service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

In terms of location, Edgewater was brilliant. A great view of the lake, excellent grounds and easy access to town.

Unfortunately the quality of service from the staff severely let them down. We found that the housekeeping staff was useless, with room service trays taking two days to be cleared and daily room tidying to be superficial at best (bins weren't even emptied). The concierge was nowhere to be found, however his "back at 4:30" sign was always there. While the desk staff did try a bit to help out you could tell they really didn't want to be involved. In the end we just did our best without them.

On one occasion we booked kayaks for the next day only to find that there is no booking system. Not really the sort of news you want to hear when you plan your morning around an activity.

The restaurant was pretty good, but the menu became very limited after the second visit. Bookings were hard to get, however the first time we ate there it was supposedly booked out despite there only being two active tables which we found odd. Their room service was extremely slow too.

The rooms were large, but quite dated in terms of fittings. This isn't a big issue, except that there was no air conditioning in them at all. This turned out to be the deal-breaker for us, as a summer visit meant that the rooms were up around 30 degrees C each day. Sleeping in the bedroom became impossible, as opening the window meant sleeping in plain sight of the walkway. In the end we slept on the couch in front of the balcony window. This made for an awful sleeping experience and meant that we'd be hard-pressed to recommend this hotel to anybody during spring, summer or autumn.

Another catch was the with the downstairs rooms opening onto the lawns we found that many people dragged their dining table outside and setup directly beneath the balcony as a family. This became loud and annoying, but unavoidable since closing the window meant dealing with stifling heat.

Overall quite disappointed. No doubt it would be somewhat different in winter, but as a summer destination the hotel simply doesn't work.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms lack privacy on both sides, while upstairs rooms have bedrooms which open directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattDugganAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, General Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Mr Duggan,

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us, although you did return to us after your initial one night stay for a further three nights !

As always we are more than happy to assist our guests with any concerns whilst they are with us yet you made no mention of any issues whilst with us or upon your departure from either of your stays.

I note from your room charges that you did in fact hire the Kayaks as you wished for your morning activity. The front desk staff responsible for hiring out the Kayaks make a safety call on lake conditions at the time of the kayaks going out and hence they would not be in a position to confirm your booking until the day required.

With regards to air conditioning, due to the design of our rooms with large ranch sliders onto patio’s or balconies and direct access to outside from your front door combined with a prevailing lake breeze the rooms can be cooled by utilizing the supplied in room oscillating fan. With regards to the bedroom, the windows have both net curtains and black out drapes so not quite sure on your issue there.

Indeed the hotel is very popular over the summer season with visitors taking advantage of our grounds and position directly on the lake shore to enjoy the holiday period with friends and family

I apologise if your stay was adversely affected by noise created in association with these activities, again if you had bought this to our attention at the time we could have assisted you. I trust you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand and made it safely home. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    250
    71
    20
    14
See reviews for
181
374
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

My favourite hotel on our tour, The room was large and comfortable but the view was gorgeous. walking out of the sliding door and across the lawn, we could sit on the lake beach. after dinner in town, we walked back along the lake, a lovely 20 minute walk and then watched the sun go down and stars come out.
The breakfast was tasty with plenty of choice, but could have been improved with someone to welcome you into the eating area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elfenears55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Elfenears55

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater.

Our location, on the lake shore of Lake Wanaka, is stunning.

We're pleased you enjoyed the shore-line walk into Wanaka (and the sunset!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had stayed on 1 - 3 Jan 2013 with One Bed Room Suite ( Room 411 ) , the room was fabulous and facilities inside the room was great , Again , the views from the room was stunning and breathtaking. But the when we went to breakfast the next day , the staff was not bothered or very careless and the same is not expected from this category of hotel , I would definitely ask the manager with this platform to improve the behaviour of staff towards guests staying . Either they are working overtime or they are not bothered as they think the hotel location is indispensable.

Location , Views - All good , but Staff Behaviour very very bad.

Room Tip: Do not expect anything from staff... They are not bothered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RISHI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, General Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear RISHI C,

On behalf of our Food and Beverage team, please accept our sincere apologies should you not have been treated in the manner you had expected.

Over this peak time we have been working hard to ensure that all guests are looked after in the manner that we are renowned for and if this has not been the case on this occasion, again please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I am currently (January 2013) staying at this hotel with my family because i read the good ratings on Tripadvisors. However I am more or less disappointed. The lake and location is great -- breathtaking indeed. However the Hotel itself is outdated. Rooms are old and worn out. I would give the hotel 3 stars instead of the 4.5 advertised. Also its noisy from people outside or neighbors. Anyways i would check out other hotels the next time

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amadeu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Amadeu 1

Thanks for taking the time to share you thoughts. The lakefront location is superb.

It is unfortunate the you considered our rooms 'old and worn out'. If there were issues with any items being worn out or not to your satisfaction our team would have one their best to assist. Alternatively if you note any items on your guest survey response our maintenance manager will be sure to attend to items following your departure.

We refurbish the rooms on a regular timetable.

The hotel is graded as a 'four star hotel' property with silver enviro status. This is awarded by Qualmark New Zealand - an independent quality assurance agency. You may notice that we use this grading on our own website and promotional material.

Indeed the hotel is very popular over the summer season with visitors taking advantage of our grounds and position directly on the lake shore to enjoy the holiday period with friends and family,

I apologise if your stay was adversely affected by noise created in association with these activities, again if you had bought this to our attention at the time we could have assisted you. I trust you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand and made it safely home. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The 1 bedroom suite was large and comfortable but most of all, opened into a lovely green and faced the lakefront. Was wonderful for the kids to play and generally run around. We spent a whole day unwinding in front of the lake.
The room itself was nice enough with basic cooking facilities, washer dryer and enough space for a roll away bed for the kids.
Decent cafe - restaurant esp loved the evening scones. Service at the cafe was a mixed bag. Some excellent friendly staff and some were rather unresponsive.

Room Tip: Groundfloor 1 bedroom suites lake facing are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BVtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear BV Traveller

We're pleased you and your family enjoyed the spacious and convenient aspects of Edgewater.

The made to order scones are definitely a favourite but we're sorry to hear of your experience with some of our team. We have noted that.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Like many others who reviewed this hotel, I cannot dispute the amazing location of this place. However, Edgewater in my opinion does not measure up to its 4 and a half stars. Here's why: tired decor with minimal upgrades, noisy rooms, no air con, basic cooking facilities, no outside chairs, basic sky tv, basic bathroom....personally I also think the Edgewater is having an identity crisis and can't quite work out whether it wants to be a hotel, motel or self contained apartment complex and therefore succeeds as none of these. If you want a 4 plus hotel for $355 per night, suggest you go somewhere other than Edgewater.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoutiquetravellerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, General Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Boutique Traveller,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

Edgewater is a 4 star Qualmark property that provides 104 rooms of differing configurations. Indeed we have Studio units for the budget conscious traveller, One bedroom suites, providing additional space and kitchenette facilities and then Two Bedroom apartments for families. We provide 10 TV channels including Sky Movies and 3 Sport channels which are displayed on 32" and 26" Panasonic LCD panels, our bathrooms offer both bath and shower, along with vanity space, heating and an opening window.

With regards to outdoor seating, all upstairs balconies are equipped with two outdoor chairs and downstairs patio's are fitted with bench seating.

I apologise that we did not meet your expectations but as your TA name would suggest perhaps you were looking for more of a Boutique experience as opposed to our property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

the studio was beautiful - very well appointed, clean and very spacious. Large bedroom and very big living area with well equipped kitchen - stunning views over the lake through huge corner picture windows and patio doors onto the balcony. The bathroom had a washer / dryer built in. we got a deal on this for under half the normal price - amazing value.
Staff were friendly when we checked in and out but we didn't use any of the hotel facilities so can't comment on them.
Lovely wak into town along the side of the lake - 20 mins
Would definately go back just for the stunning setting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Debbie
Thanks for your recent review. We're pleased you found the room so comfortable and great value.
Next time you visit we hope to welcome you to our Wineglass cafe or you may wish to add biking around the lakefront also. We've bikes on site. Kind regards, Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Property: Edgewater
Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing