We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Resort Right on Lake Wanaka”
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My wife and I had the good fortune of being in Wanaka for two nights, in truly gorgeous weather. The Edgewater Resort is located right on Lake Wanaka. The exterior landscaping is stunning, with large grassy grounds and beautiful ponds, which host all manner of wildlife, especially ducks and herons.
One can step off the Edgewater grounds at the lakefront and find lovely trails along the lake. It is only about a 15 minute stroll, right along the lakeside, to the center of Wanaka; walking in the other direction, one can enjoy sights of vineyards and the beautiful Ruby Island.
Breakfast and dinner at Edgewater were excellent.
We had a second floor room with a nice balcony overlooking a lovely pond and the lake itself. WiFi is available in your room for a fee. The vigorous Kiwis were forever racing their sailboats up and down the lake, a wonderful sight to watch from our balcony. Sunrise and sunset over the lake was also very special! The room was clean and fresh, if a bit small. No worries, we found spots for all of our luggage!
One activity we highly recommend is to kayak on Lake Wanaka. Simply walk into town. At about the center of the lakeshore there is a kayak rental kiosk, Wanakayaks. We rented a double and spent a most memorable afternoon kayaking to Ruby Island. We enjoyed the view of Edgewater from offshore, and then we headed to Ruby Island. We went ashore on the island at a little beach and relaxed with a tasty box lunch prepared by Edgewater. We hiked about the island, enjoyed unsurpassed views, and then reluctantly completed our kayak loop and returned to Wanakayaks’ kiosk. As an aside, Wanakayaks provided us with a cell phone for emergency use, and we were mightily impressed with this safety feature!
Wanaka is a terrific New Zealand destination, and we highly recommend Edgewater Resort.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Star_Peepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased you had a wonderful time in Wanaka, enjoyed the actitvies that are on offer here and had would highly recommend staying at Edgewater.

We look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (792)
There are newer reviews for Edgewater
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 792 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

Everytime when we stay in Wanaka we visit the restaurant. It is outstanding. Great atmosphere, very friendly and good service and of course the food is always fantastic!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear Monika,

I am pleased to hear you had a wonderful meal at our restuarant when you stayed in Wanaka. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in town.

Best wishes,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Recommended by a friend who lives locally.

good choice, and we offered a good rate when we rang the night before, for a nice room. In one of the adjacent buildings on top (first floor).

Staff very friendly and helpful (like most people in NZ hospitality).

Surprised WiFi is charged extra (although there was a computer in the reception where I could print our boarding pass, which was helpful). It is about time all hotels and resorts (especially high quality/cost properties) move into the 21st century and include complimentary wifi.

Nice restaurant area.....very good buffet breakfast included.

Wonderful walks around the lake.

I am surprised that it is not ranked higher than it is (probably because of high WiFi cost)

we would stay again,

Room Tip: First floor with good Lake View
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubacubaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to share your exprience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased you had a great stay here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed in a suite and it was very comfortable and very big. It was lovely to sit on the balcony and enjoy the gorgeous views.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank weary-traveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased you enjoyed the gorgeous views and had a nice stay with us.

Best wishes,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed in February and would recommend the resort. Bedrooms were basic but clean and offered great views over the lake. Dinner was good and service excellent. Breakfast let them down a bit as very little fresh fruit or pastries ( all looked fresh from the freezer!) but I would stay here again for location. Also a free computer which guests can use which was very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Dear Katie,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day.

Best wishes,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Edgewater and Lake Wanaka Area. January days are long and views are incredible. The Facilities was were very clean, rooms spacious and staff friendly. We enjoyed our buffet breakfast in the restaurant and the walks along the lake. We will come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl_Pressman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear Carl,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. The walks along the lake are stunning and January is the perfect time for this with the long evenings. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for our honeymoon so we had the honeymoon suite so I can only comment on that room.
The room was so luxurious with views out onto Lake Wanaka and the surrounding mountains. The restaurant was nice and served nice food. We were not given any assistance with our luggage however which is probably my only complaint. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is a pricey hotel and not centrally located - it's a fair walk into town but we loved it and would definitely like to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater during your honeymoon. I am pleased you had a wonderful stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best wishes,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
262 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: $130 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing