We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful lakefront suites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Beautiful lakefront suites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

This was one of our best overnight stays on our tour of NZ. Our suite was excellent, modern and bright, and its doors led out to the well-kept lawn that bordered Lake Wanaka, fifty yards away. Walking around the lake was quite a pleasant experience, though it would have been better still with less whining of jet skis and more sailing boats. One rider in particular who was practising sharp turns with his jet ski was no doubt enjoying himself, but also ruining the tranquility of the lakeshore for dozens of other holidaymakers. The 'motorization' of the lake is a downside of Wanaka.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us here. I hope the rest of your trip around New Zealand bought you some wonderful memories to share with friends and family back home.

Best wishes,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    209
    61
    15
    8
See reviews for
153
304
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We have been travelling the south island for 5 days now and stayed in hotels that either offered great service or really good venue. This is the first time we've found both in the one place at Edgewater.

We scored an amazing deal and were made to feel extremely welcome from when we first arrived. Complimentary welcome drink, a free hour of internet and breakfast buffet were all included and really appreciated.

On arrival, we were upgraded to an executive suite and it was amazing. Huge windows that opened to a spectacular view of the gardens and lake. Hint: Keep the curtains shut at night, and crank the heaters up to max and you will be totally cozy!

Theres a washer and dryer in our bathroom, full bath tub and shower with 2 shower heads in it with great water pressure!

The onsite spa cranks up to a perfect 40 degrees and the massage jets are so powerful, they can push you off your seat at full blast- which you can control.

The staff were incredibly helpful and the hotel is literally on the lake front- about 1km walk from the town along the water, or a $10 flat rate taxi fare. Excellent place to stay- highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyBolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Stayed at Edgewater for 1night on my NZ Trip. Wanaka is a small town and 1night is quite suffice. Edgewater is in a lovely spot on the lake. Upon driving into the hotel i had a few reservations as it looked as though i was driving into and old 80's Motel. However once entering the looby and restaurant/bar it wasnt as bad as i first thought. Lovely staff and good food and wine to be found here. Was great enjoying a wine by the open fire in the evening. Room was what was probably a motel room once, now has a nice modern feel. Living room, kitchen, bedroom, Bathroom and balcony ovelooking the lake. Overall a great place to stay in wanaka.

The only negative was our room was very cold. We had all heaters on yet still struggled to get the room cosy and warm.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydneygirl10389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Kia Ora

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Edgewater. It is a lovely spot and we're pleased you enjoyed the property and the staff.

It can be a little chilly in Wanaka in the depths of winter. We're sorry you found didn't feel as cosy as you would have liked in the room. Our reception or portering staff would have only been too happy to check on the performance of the heaters during your stay and/or provide additional heating.

Thanks for letting us know and it is a good reminder that our guests are coming from much warmer countries or climates.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Sadly we only had one night at Edgewater. It is a lovely hotel with huge surrounding gardens right on the lake front. We had a cute little corner window seat in our one bedroom apartment with a view of the garden and the lake. There was lots of room for our family of four with a separate bedroom, sofa bed for the kids and dining and kitchen area. The food in the restaurant was good, as was the atmosphere. The buffet breakfast was also enjoyed. As the hotel is situated little bit out of the main town of Wanaka a car is necessary. If we'd had more time I would have loved to have had a good walk along the lake and around the gardens.

Room Tip: Try for a room with views of the lake and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We checked into our room and walked straight across to the picture window to enjoy the stunning view. Spectacular. Had we known how great the location was, we would have cut short our stay in Queenstown and checked in here for more days. The room was fine, decor modern, clean bathroom adequate but not particularly luxurious. This did not deter from our stay here. We decided to dine in the restaurant and enjoyed the food and choice available. Only downside was the senior (I think) manager serving us whose attention appeared to be easily distracted elsewhere ie. not on serving! However, we had a pleasant evening.

Top marks to the gardener/maintenance chap who changed our flat tyre for us the following morning and would not accept any payment.

Bottom marks to the "senior restaurant manager" who poured our wine and then left it cooling on the counter until we flagged down another waiter to bring it over - this same senior manager was however pretty swift rushing over when (after being left alone for some time -which to be fair we don't mind at the end of a meal) we stood up to leave. He was bringing pieces of paper for us to sign (as if we were going to do a runner!) We had assumed that, as is normally the case, we would either deal with this outside in reception or as we had checked in as hotel guests that the bill would be added to our room. The young waiting staff were however very pleasant and more attentive we thought.

Room Tip: Worth asking for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveFrenchWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

If you want an amazing location on a lake front then go here, rooms are comfortable but bathrooms need updating to go with the rest of the rooms. The restaurant was ok but having cold steak and finding a hair in the salad wasnt great for an award winning restaurant. Overall though was a pleasant stay and would recommend for a long weekend.

Room Tip: If you dont ask you dont get..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We had very small wedding at edgewater. We live in Wanaka so we knew this location is exceptional.

Devin, who was responsible for taking care of us and our wedding was great.

Because we live in Wanaka, we went over to talk to her and she showed us some rooms. The rooms were basic and ok but not much special we thought then, we just made sure to tell her what we wanted.

We invited our family for two nights stay and one night for ourselves at the wedding night. The rooms were clean and very very nice, we asked for the good location facing to the lake and hoped for the upstairs. She made everything happen.

The dinner was very good too.
That was shame we were pretty full and most of us couldn't finish our plates...
We just should have started the canapes earlier before dinner.
Well presented with presents from family overseas at the dinner, that was a nice and very thoughtful presentation.
Thank you so much to the person who did that for us.

We took helicopter from the heli pad and landed there back.
Yellow leaves blown by the heli were so so beautiful, their lawn was amazingly green, that was just a simply beautiful place.
Most of staff we met that day and next morning congratulated us, they made our special day very very special.

There is a small pond as well, ducks are cruising and that would be nice to read or relax on a bench there.

Thank you all so much for your great hospitality and massive thank you to Devin who made our wedding day such a great memory.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grumptomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
1.8 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Property: Edgewater
Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing