We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely accommodation, friendly staff”

Bayview Motel Wanaka
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayview Motel Wanaka
Ranked #41 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

we stayed at Bayview Motel earlier this year and we thought the staff and facilities we great! The room was nice and cosy with great full kitchen facilities. We could un-wind with a relaxing spa, totally private and free of charge and then the staff dropped us into town for dinner in the courtesy coach! All of the added extras like free wireless internet and a meal voucher, made our stay in Wanaka totally enjoyable- we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webbsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

This property is on the outskirts of town but they do a free drop of in the evenings if you feel like a few drinks in town. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were tidy and clean.
Stunning views of the mountains!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiskigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

We chose this motel for our winter visit to Cardrona skifields. It was certainly not the cheapest available, but the room with the fire looked cosy and we thought it would create a lovely atmosphere for our family holiday. We phoned the motel managers before we booked to check that there was ample heating and were assured there was. This was pure fabrication. The only heating was the one log fire in the loungeroom, and electric blankets on the beds. When we asked for an additional heater we were given a little bar heater which was very inadequate. When we asked for another heater we were treated rudely and refused, and eventually told that if we had two heaters it would blow the fuses. The end result was that our stay was miserably cold and not the good time we had hoped for at all. Talking to others we found we were not the only people to have felt so cold and been treated badly. The four stars are self-rated stars - in reality this is a 2.5 star at most. Check their testimonials and see how many are written in winter! Do not stay here!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiierOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wanaka hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sussex
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2007

Booked by our agent (who only uses Golden Chain) we wished we'd looked for ourselves. Our 2 bedroom unit was very tired, and needs serious refurbishment, though I don't know how they overcome the separate unit at the back which is only feet away and completely overlooked our windows. Not cheap ($165 a night), and not the claimed 4 star (you'd have to be generous to even give 3 stars).

  • Disliked — Very poor value
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wartling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

My husband and I travelling round South Island.
We are kiwis. Hadn't booked. Got last available room at these motels. Only reason we stayed as was late and didn't know where else there would be a room. The room was kinda at the bottom of other rooms real tacky. Over $100. Very dated alright. The rest of the place looked much of the same. Would never stay here again. Asked if we wanted the paper in the morning, I said yes and we never got one - ha.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank SAINTCHRISTOPHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2006

Bayview is a nice property on the edge of Wanaka, probably taking 15 mins to walk to the centre so difficult without a car. The decor was a little dated but it was clean, excellent views with a nice garden. The shower was very weak however the kitchen was excellently equipped. There is free DVD rental (from a fairly limited selection), access to a pay laundry and free spa, which could have been more bubbly. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

We paid $140 NZ for this per night and I was a little disappointed given the price. The room whilst clean could do with modernisation.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayviewwanaka, Manager at Bayview Motel Wanaka, responded to this review, November 15, 2009
Thanks for your nice feedback! :)
We now offer a free courtesy coach into town daily between 4pm and 8pm to save the hassle of a taxi- enjoy as many drinks over dinner as you like!
We hope that you can make it back again sometime soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.4 mi away
Distinction Wanaka
Distinction Wanaka
#12 of 52 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Motel Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel Wanaka

Property: Bayview Motel Wanaka
Address: 263 Studholme Road North, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality spacious and family friendly, units with modern amenities on extensive grounds, only 2 kms from Wanaka township with nearby fishing, skiing & tourist attractions. Qualmark 3 1/2 Star accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bayview Motel Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing