We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort and best customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We just returned from our New Zealand Holiday. The Resort was great, large rooms with clean bathroom as well as nice balcony. Enjoyed staying at Wanaka.
We had dinner at Rafters Restaurant, food was just great and dishes were so tasty and portions are huge.
Front desk staff was very helpfull, we were recommended where to go and what to see during our 7 day stay at Wanaka.
I would say 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gocika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 353 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed one night on a rapid tour of the south Island. We were in the older wing fronting onto Mount Aspiring road so a little walk away from the pools. The hot pool and swimming pool were really welcome after a long day walking on Fox Glacier in the morning and then driving down to Wanaka

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed for 9 nights at this resort with my brother and his wife. We have stayed at a number of Wyndham resorts and this is definately one of the good ones. The interiors of the rooms are very nice, with new furniture and comfortable beds.

We were staying in the area for skiing, so the resort was a good location. About 45 minutes or so drive to the top of both Cardrona and Treble Cone which were both great ski fields. After a long day on the slopes we made good use of the hot tub back at Wanaka. It was a decent size so never seemed too crowded.

We had a two bedroom unit and were a little dissappointed that there was only one bathroom. This made it inconvenient with four people having showers before trying to head off early to beat the crowds to the ski fields each morning.

We did eat at the resort restaurant twice and were not dissappointed. Good size portions and I can recommend both the lamb shanks and the steak. I wouldn't recommend the chocolate fondue desert though, it didn't live up to expectations, but that was party due to the lack of good seasonal fruits in winter.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkearp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for only one night and found it on rates to go for only $130 per night. When we arrived we had been driving for a long time and were hot and tired but we were welcomed and guided through the check in by a very friendly receptionist and this made our day. It is so good to see such great customer service, and it was right through Wanaka even at the cafes. The other woman at the desk was just as friendly, giving us advice on the pool and so on.
The room we had was huge and clean and modern with a balcony and the bar did room service to the balcony. Then we got to the pool with a sauna and hot pool. It was beautiful and a great birthday.
I would reccomend this to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank young_traveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

We got a really good last minute rate for this hotel using Wotif (NZ$99 per night with no room service) and we were not disappointed with our three night stay. It was a studio room with a king bed and a single, with a kitchenette, bath/shower room and our own balcony area overlooking the courtyard, which had a large artificial fire nearby. The room was spacious, beautifully furnished, comfortable, well equipped and spotless. It had a good TV with a range of channels but wi-fi is expensive. There are laundries on site as well as a pool with water slide, small gym and steam room. The staff were all exceedingly helpful and friendly. While we were there the kettle in our room fused the circuit and the staff were very quick to put things right.

There is a small shop at reception but it does not stock milk unfortunately. It takes a good 20 mins to walk along into the centre but it is very pleasant alongside the lake. We used the hotel bar a couple of times for their happy hour and also had a good meal there one night. We should have gone there again as we were not generally impressed by the restaurants in Wanaka, except from the good Thai restaurant. We can recommend the walk up Mount Iron and also the Fighter Pilots Museum.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackcat2york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 15, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
801 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
515 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.8 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Wanaka

Address: 109 Mount Aspiring Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wanaka
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#8 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: $107 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Resort Wanaka is nestled on a quiet street just a short stroll from Lake Wanaka and the heart of the village. Recently refurbished rooms ensure you will be comfortable, offering a range of room types ideal for both relaxation and entertaining family and friends. The resort boasts superb facilities including a heated pool with water slide (seasonal), hot tub, sauna and barbecue area, as well as a café & bar. Lake Wanaka, located in the heart of the Southern Alps, is the ideal base for your holiday adventure. It offers something for everyone all year round including an abundance of activities and attractions, as well as breathtaking mountains, glaciers, rivers & lakes. The village offers a relaxed lifestyle - the perfect place to unwind or seek adventure. About an hour's drive from Queenstown, Wanaka is near a number of excellent ski areas such as Treble Cone and Cardrona. Extreme sports lovers have the opportunity to go canyoning, eco-rafting, kayaking, mountaineering, rock climbing and so much more. Warmer weather provides a myriad of activities including golf courses, hiking, walking, vineyards and water sports on Lake Wanaka. The area is a natural paradise close to awe-inspiring wonders including Mount Aspiring National Park, Rob Roy Glacier and the Clutha River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Resort Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Flag Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing