We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Recently stopped at this resort. As we stopped in the summer months the temperature was around 26c. The bedroom was hot and stuffy. The resort does not have air conditioning . There was a fan attached to the wall that vibrated that loud we had to turn it off as it was too noisy. We didn't sleep due to the heat . The queen bedroom had no security screen.the window opened wide on a latch,seeing as the room was on the ground floor it would have been easy for anyone to climb through the window into the room and steal valuables. While wiping down the kitchen bench I spotted a cockroach behind the toaster. There was no free wi fi . The hotel was not in Wanaka central . It
Was a good drive out of town . I would not stop there again

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 359 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

Its a Club Mahindra / RCA tie up. We visited wanaka in the 2nd half of our tour. Though we had a great time in North Island, Wanaka was the 2nd city we visited in South. The bus journey from Christchurch to Wanka is long. But its so beautiful that you don't feel you have travelled that far.
The rooms are nice & cosy. They have lot of entertainment options. Wanaka is good place to stay for 2 days. The city is small but has all the necessities. We were really excited to see an Indian restaurant, amazing food. All in all a fun experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitnsanghavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Our stay at this resort was nothing short of amazing - the presidential suite lived up to it's name, with 7 of us staying in absolute comfort and with plenty of space for all. Loved the spa and bbq on the deck, along with quality furniture and fittings throughout, including touch screen tv in the ensuite. Kids loved the pool and waterslide. Looking forward to our next stay

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

What a wonderful 3 days (thanks to my Daughter and Grandchildren )spent at this Resort the week prior to Christmas. Fantastic facilities, staff unbelievable BUT the only negatives were the closing time of the Bar(& cocktails) and then being thrown out of the awesome spa each night at10p.m. We should just have started earlier. Barbecue facilities around pool,gym ,sauna and swimming pool with slide is all a family with children could wish for regardless of the weather. Thank you to the amazing staff for making our stay so memorable and we highly recommend this as a family resort .

Room Tip: When booking just tell them your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My review is in 2 parts, first the accomodation was ok, parking was tight and sometimes not available, 2 km walk into town to a restaurant not really ideal. Wifi very pricy and the continental breakfast very expensive! $14 for 2 croissants! We were given vouchers to use in the cafe bar but they had to be used per day. Staff were very friendly.
The second part is to do with the time share sales pitch, relaxing by the pool one day we were approached by one of the staff suggesting we should do the time share seminar, she said it was no pressure only 90 minutes and " you get a voucher for dinner at a Nice restaurant in town" we decided not to do it as it wasn't really something we wanted to do on our holiday, another night the same lady approached us while we were having dinner and told us how great it was so we decided to give it a go. Boy I regret that!
The 'no pressure, 90 minute' sales pitch turned out to be 2.5 hours culminating in a high pressure pitch to sign up and spend $37,000, after repeatedly telling them it was not for us (I had to tell them to back off and re-visit the definition of high pressure) finally they got the message and asked us if we could just wait a moment to do a exit interview, we agreed thinking it a good chance to tell them what we thought but I couldn't believe it when they started trying to sell us a trial package for over $3000!! We politely said no and left thinking at least we get dinner for 2.5 hours of our holiday time wasted, all this time our 2 kids are waiting downstairs having breakfast and were charged $14 for 2 croissants unbelievably they asked my 9 year old to sign for it, it wasn't till he mentioned it later that we even knew we were charged for it remember they were only there because they had to wait for us! so we waited till 3pm and decided to ask for our voucher at reception, we had to use it that night as it was our last night, they said they would follow up and let us know, we waited till 6.30pm still nothing so we left for dinner. When we returned at 9pm we were given a $50 voucher to Lonestar, I got the impression we only got this because we asked for it and then it was too late to use. All in all this experience soured the 7 day holiday for us, I won't be staying at Wyndham again they are just too tricky, they make promises they don't intend to keep and didn't want to listen and hear our experience if they had I probably wouldn't be writing this review.
I gave 2 stars because the general staff downstairs were very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spent a week at this hotel and found it to be satisfactory for our needs. The room was small but comfortable and reasonably modern. Location was just outside of town, which was fine. My biggest gripe with the room was that the only place to wash up dishes (from breakfast or if we ate in) was the tiny bathroom sink. The shower was also annoying in that it was an 'open' design, so often I ended up with water all over the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrb0h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Upon arrival at Queenstown airport on 1st Dec, we drove over an hour along the long & winding road to Wanaka in a rental car.
The resort is only less than 10mins drive from Wanaka town centre along the scenic Lake Wanaka route.
Friendly resort staff Wendy walked us to a clean and cosy ground floor 1bedroom with kitchen facilities and a private courtyard where we stayed for three nights.
The resort is conveniently located and a great place to relax after hours of driving & taking photos at many scenic spots around the lake and the snow-capped mountains in the background.
The few days of fine weather really enhanced the picture quality and certainly an enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Close to the pool but this ground floor unit is not affected by any noise from those in or at the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank May Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
820 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
522 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.5 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
264 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Wanaka

Address: 109 Mount Aspiring Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#8 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: $107 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Resort Wanaka is nestled on a quiet street just a short stroll from Lake Wanaka and the heart of the village. Recently refurbished rooms ensure you will be comfortable, offering a range of room types ideal for both relaxation and entertaining family and friends. The resort boasts superb facilities including a heated pool with water slide (seasonal), hot tub, sauna and barbecue area, as well as a café & bar. Lake Wanaka, located in the heart of the Southern Alps, is the ideal base for your holiday adventure. It offers something for everyone all year round including an abundance of activities and attractions, as well as breathtaking mountains, glaciers, rivers & lakes. The village offers a relaxed lifestyle - the perfect place to unwind or seek adventure. About an hour's drive from Queenstown, Wanaka is near a number of excellent ski areas such as Treble Cone and Cardrona. Extreme sports lovers have the opportunity to go canyoning, eco-rafting, kayaking, mountaineering, rock climbing and so much more. Warmer weather provides a myriad of activities including golf courses, hiking, walking, vineyards and water sports on Lake Wanaka. The area is a natural paradise close to awe-inspiring wonders including Mount Aspiring National Park, Rob Roy Glacier and the Clutha River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Resort Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Flag Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing