We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, Spacious, well priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Modern, Spacious, well priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed here recently (July 2012). The room was spacious and the bed was huge and super comfortable. The room was very clean and modern. The hotel is only around a 5km drivebfrom the pubs and shops. We only stayed for one night so I can not comment on further things such as house cleaning, staff etc although the lady at reception was nice and welcoming. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ground floor has parking directly outside of you room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dave_and_Alannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    118
    37
    8
    3
See reviews for
86
156
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

A neat & tidy 1 bedroom deluxe with all the modern cons....well set out, but you have to stay 8 days or more before you get your room cleaned....yuck. The Resort needed more activities to do & the staff to promote the ones that they currently have.

Very helpful, friendly, down to earth staff that always have a smile and can do attitude. Danielle was our favorite as she displayed a bubbly personality & passion for her job...she organised a day trip for us...perfection.

Unfortunately the resort is let down by it's food.No breakfast menu, except muffins & bagels with coffee...no power food to keep a busy tourist going. Don't bother eating at the Restaurant either as the food is over priced & tastes like rubbish...over the top gourmet crap. it would be nice if the food was kept more simple with the gourmet option for those who like it

And just to end it, the wifi reception is useless...hardly any reception to check simple things like email.

Room Tip: If you want all the modern cons & luxury of life, choose the deluxe rooms...they are self contai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig W, Manager at Ramada Resort Wanaka, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Hi Corine

Thanks for taking time to post comments about your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. Feedback allows the resort to continue to improve our offering and is very much appreciated.

I noticed that you are one of our valued Wyndham Club Owners and that it was your first visit to one of our properties since joining the club. In the club environment we provide an apartment that is self contained with all the necessary cleaning materials. Our housekeeping team cleans the room at the end of each stay. When you joined the club you would have been told about how the complimentary housekeeping tokens work. I would welcome the opportunity of talking you through the housekeeping procedure and giving you an update and answering any questions.

Your disappointment at not having breakfast served in the mornings is understandable, with all of our units being self catering apartments the demand for breakfast service is low. We compromised by offering a coffee bar with hot takeaways. We always recommend some of our great local cafes in the village for a full breakfast offering. I am not sure if you tried our bar menu which offers more traditional fare than the restaurant, this may have been more to your liking.

Please accept my apologies for problems that you encountered with the wi- fi connection. Tomizone who is our service provider are usually very pro active with resolving problems with a 24 hour help line. We completely re fitted and upgraded the resorts wi- fi connection earlier this year understanding that this is a key service for any accommodation establishment to provide. The signal strength and service delivery is usually very good; I will take this up with Tomizone.

I remember having a brief chat to you at owner’s drinks on Saturday night and would value the opportunity of doing so again regarding the above.

Cheers
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our family of 5 spent a wonderful week here. As timeshare owners, we used our points for the 3 bedroom deluxe apartment and were not disappointed. The apartment was so beautifully appointed with plenty of space, comfortable, modern furniture and a gorgeous gas fire which we thoroughly enjoyed sitting in front of. The main bedroom had an ensuite, but the queen bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The 2nd bedroom also had a queen bed, and 3rd bedroom had 2 single beds. All 3 bedrooms had TVs, and the lounge had a TV and DVD player. The small kitchen had everything we needed, and there was also a washing machine and dryer. The apartment was very peaceful, and we had the most wonderful week enjoying Wanaka and Queenstown. There is lots of lovely restaurants in Wanaka, and the Rafters Restaurant onsite, is just as good as those in town. The lamb shanks are especially good. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddiOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our three bedroom apartment had everything we required and more (including heating to the tiled floor in the kitchen area). All room had king sized beds, heaters and flatscreen t.v.s. But the best part of the stay was the staff. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome, even ringing around town to see which restaurants served vegan food. Their happy hour every day was a bonus, their in-house restaurent very well priced. The outside spa pool was heated and very welcoming after a day of skiing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosB1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed here courtesy of friends (who came too). Lovely staff, especially our young waiter/barperson, very good food, and an lovely unit. It had everything we needed, plus a good outside spa pool.

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms over the pool in summer. We had one close to the Main complex it was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cher99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne-Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

5 star as expected from usual wyndham resorts. We had a studio apartment, quite comfortable for 4 nights, even though they don't advise it for that long. Slightly out of town. Nice hot pool. In house restaurant, was excellent and VERY REASONABLY prices, which was a surprise. Autumn time was magnificient. Only problem was parking, very limited, we were lucky to get parking inside the grounds, but several people had to park outside on the road. That is the only thing they can improve on. Had to pay for use of laundry, most of the other wyndham places we have used were free. Expensive WIFI.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeagleOwners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Average stay - bit far from the city centre. Garbage section close to the parking lot should be covered for clients. Room had no view at all. Internet in the room was too expensive.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Wanaka

Property: Ramada Resort Wanaka
Address: 109 Mount Aspiring Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#8 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Resort Wanaka is nestled on a quiet street just a short stroll from Lake Wanaka and the heart of the village. Recently refurbished rooms ensure you will be comfortable, offering a range of room types ideal for both relaxation and entertaining family and friends. The resort boasts superb facilities including a heated pool with water slide (seasonal), hot tub, sauna and barbecue area, as well as a café & bar. Lake Wanaka, located in the heart of the Southern Alps, is the ideal base for your holiday adventure. It offers something for everyone all year round including an abundance of activities and attractions, as well as breathtaking mountains, glaciers, rivers & lakes. The village offers a relaxed lifestyle - the perfect place to unwind or seek adventure. About an hour's drive from Queenstown, Wanaka is near a number of excellent ski areas such as Treble Cone and Cardrona. Extreme sports lovers have the opportunity to go canyoning, eco-rafting, kayaking, mountaineering, rock climbing and so much more. Warmer weather provides a myriad of activities including golf courses, hiking, walking, vineyards and water sports on Lake Wanaka. The area is a natural paradise close to awe-inspiring wonders including Mount Aspiring National Park, Rob Roy Glacier and the Clutha River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Resort Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Flag Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing