We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T BOOK UNIT 11!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manuka Crescent Motel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DON'T BOOK UNIT 11!!!”
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Yes, we prebooked two nights for $80 /night. It sounded reasonable and the pictures on the AA site looked fine and offered a King size bed. When we got there we were shown our unit (No. 11) which was dark, dingy and very uninviting. The bed was only a Queen, plus a single in the same room. We were told it had cooking facilities, which turned out to be a plug in electric hob top which was located in the bottom of a kitchen cupboard and looked well used. The power-saving light bulbs did nothing to dispel the sense of gloom in the room. The view out of the largest window on the back of the unit was to a close hedge, giving no light at all. It really coloured my stay in Wanaka, and I would never go back to that motel. I think we were given the worst unit in the place, and I would have gladly paid extra to get better accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bessie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    74
    27
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
87
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South East
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Weird location - in the suburbs....

Weird signs and notices all over the place - NZ$10 charge if we didn't wash up - kitchen is equipped and as we were only there for a night's stop over, only cereal bowls and coffee mugs used but still a notice saying that we'd be charged if we didn't wash up....very odd!

Also - if they found any 'stains' on the towels, we'd be charged a cleaning fee....

Got the feeling we'd be charged for breathing....!

Not the most welcoming....

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rustiesoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We came to this motel during low season in November and were offered a good price. The clean room was large with full kitchen, sofa and TV. They also had fairly reasonable wifi (for the area). There was a pool but it was too cold for that! We enjoyed the location and wandered around Wanaka easily. The lady owner was very friendly and we really enjoyed our stay very much.
In response to the review regarding full payment, we have found that it is not unusual to ask for full payment upfront in NZ.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotspur91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Located in a suburban street, this is an older style motel that provided the benefits of a bit more space and a kitchen. Bathroom was a bit on the old style and there were reminders about the consequences of not washing your dishes. Despite this, it has a playground and pool and you can park outside your front door. I also appreciated that our room was available at 11am, as we had only driven a short distance from Queenstown. This was at the cheaper end of the accommodation range for Wanaka and while we got better value for money at other South Island locations, it was still reasonable. Puzzle World was good as well as mini golf at the shooting range. Wanaka has a lot that Queenstown offers without the hype and crowds.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalwynCalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2009

Booked at $90 for a one night stopover. Booked in mid January and they took the full amount immediately - not the best sign!

Place was clean and serviceable if somewhat basic. Looked OK but irritatingly the doors (shower and kitchen cupboards) banged shut when closed and quietly drove us mad. Position was unusual in a residential area and not too convenient for the shops. It didn't worry us too much but would be an irritation if stopping longer. The bath towels were lovely - thick and soft - the best we had in new Zealand.

It was cheap and OK for the one night stopover. Nothing really dreadful about it but I would hesitate to go back and would caveat any recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spock999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

This motel is located out in Wanaka's "suburbia" away from most of the restaurant/pub/cafe action. The owner was extremely helpful and friendly. We chose this motel as it allows dogs and we needed somewhere for our pooch to stay. The room was spotlessly clean and had been renovated on a budget. The room was semi-self contained with microwave and hotplates but it was $120/night for the 2 of us and the dog. The newest hotels/motels in Wanaka are only charging around $125-$150 for the latest and greatest mod-cons and so I would recommend opting for somewhere else for something nice. There are notices all round the room - one saying if you leave marks on the towels that cannot be removed you will be charged, another saying to wash and dry the dishes properly otherwise a $10 surcharge applies. Quite ludicrous really when you consider the price they are charging for a place that is really a bit tired. Maybe charging around $80/night would not leave such a sour taste.

  • Liked — We could take our dog
  • Disliked — The hefty price tag for what you were getting
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueLag00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

This was a strange little place located out of the way in the middle of a residential area. If you want quiet, than this wouldn't be a bad option. The room was ok, the TV was tiny, as was the kitchen, but the bed was HUGE! The pool is a bit of a joke, more like a paddling pool. We thought it was a bit pricey for what we got.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaGrls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuka Crescent Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuka Crescent Motel

Property: Manuka Crescent Motel
Address: 51 Manuka Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wanaka
#10 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manuka Crescent Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in an extremely quiet location offering affordable spacious self contained studios & one and two bedroom apartments. Free wifi, 32 inch flat screen tvs with Sky TV. Kitchnettes with stove tops for two saucepans, Electric fry pan, microwave oven refrigerators and kettle/jug for tea & coffee making. All units have a dining area & couches for relaxation along with outside seating terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Manuka Crescent Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wanaka
Manuka Crescent Hotel
Wanaka Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing