We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, helpful staff, good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manuka Crescent Motel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“clean, helpful staff, good facilities”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed for a week over the winter season. First thing we noticed in our motel room was the cleanliness of the bathroom and kitchen- for us a big positive! The beds were comfortable, and the staff even recommended a restaurant and gave us a voucher. I think for the the cost it's great value and we could store our skis in the dry room. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Studio is very good value we found, we could cook dinner before we went out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    76
    28
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
91
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a nice time staying at the motel. We stayed in a studio room and enjoyed the room very much. It was clean, comfortable, and the owner was very kind and helpful. great value for price. Much recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meyblum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manapouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I used to stay here, and the old owners were really considerate. I think the new ones need to learn how to run a motel. The taps leaked in my room. I told the owner, and he said that several other people had also mentioned it, and he would fix it.

I arrived at the motel, after having booked. They had a room picked out for me. When I got there, the door to the room was open, and it was about 7 degrees outside, and the inside was no different. A wee heater was supposed to do the trick. Which it didn't. I finally asked for more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCM47126, Owner at Manuka Crescent Motel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Edith thank you for your review we are very disappointed with the comments made and can only offer our apologies for the treatment you received from our staff. We have owned the motel for nearly 10 years so I am guessing you have visited during that time? It is practice to air our rooms after cleaning and then close them up late afternoon and turn on the 10 bar oil fuelled radiators for those guests checking in. Statistically speaking the radiators are sufficient to heat the area once they have heated the room up and during our ski season when temperatures outside at often below freezing we receive very few negative comments about them. I understand you were provided with an additional radiator when asked so hopefully that kept your room warm. As regards the leaking taps, I am unsure why our staff would tell you he had many people say they leaked as this is untrue the taps were not leaking just dripping and the washer was changed the day you checked out as it would have been had someone made a complaint previously? I sincerely hope you will visit us again in the future and apologise once again for any discomfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Found this gem of a motel in the AA NZ Visitor Guide. A little way out of town but that suited us as a good walk is great after a day travelling, also it was quiet. Very welcoming, neat, very clean and good sized room with really pleasant surroundings. The helpful, friendly owners are working on updating the motel as they have not been there overly long - and are doing a great job!!!
Good reasonable rates. Would definitely return if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We found this motel on Wotif and we were pleasantly surprised. Overall the standard was better than similar priced accommodation we had found previously in Wanaka. Although the decor wasn't as modern as some we had stayed in, our one bedroom unit was very spacious - a must for 3 females and lots of gear.Being a few street back from the main it was very quiet. The laundry closed early but the proprietor picked up our washing and bought it back to the unit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raroa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is our third motel in NZ. We rang the night before to book a unit for 3 people plus Moms standard poodle as they took pets. We made it clear on the phone we had a dog. Yes that was OK. Arrived and person at reception denied that we mentioned a dog. This person was the person we spoke to on the phone. She then said no dogs and no refund as it was too late to cancel.After an arguament she then said yes to the dog but the dog would be an extra $15,00.

We will never go back to this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCM47126, Owner at Manuka Crescent Motel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Peter thank you for your review we were very disappointed with your comments and can see that the situation was not handled very well by our staff and for that we apologise. We do allow pets by arrangement and have allocated specific units for those reservations and do make a small charge of $15 which should all have been explained at the time of booking and clearly wasnot in your case. The staff member that was dealing with you had very little english and I am guessing that this is where issues may have arisen as you were booked into a unit that is not allocated for pets? She is no longer with us and we can only apologise once again for the confusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Very friendly personal welcome at this spacious and well-appointed motel in a quiet part of town. Also very good value of money - one of the cheaper motels we found in our New Zealand travels.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
779 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
1.1 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuka Crescent Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuka Crescent Motel

Property: Manuka Crescent Motel
Address: 51 Manuka Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wanaka
#10 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manuka Crescent Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in an extremely quiet location offering affordable spacious self contained studios & one and two bedroom apartments. Free wifi, 32 inch flat screen tvs with Sky TV. Kitchnettes with stove tops for two saucepans, Electric fry pan, microwave oven refrigerators and kettle/jug for tea & coffee making. All units have a dining area & couches for relaxation along with outside seating terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manuka Crescent Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wanaka
Manuka Crescent Hotel
Wanaka Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing