We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good value accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manuka Crescent Motel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2011

This motel must be the best value in New Zealand, just $125 for a largish 2 bed apartment which was clean and tidy and had sky tv. It's a bit of a walk into town which we enjoyed and wifi was not available in our unit although I understand that it was in others. I would highly recommend this motel and will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Check that your room has wifi as not all do
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 199 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

This turned out to be one of the cheaper motel stays but it is a little out of the town. Our unit was very clean and efforts had been made to refurbish the interiour, we had a lovely view of the mountains from our window. A healthy walk into town or a car which takes a few minutes. Overall, no complaints and good for those on a family budget.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We were really pleased with this well kitted-out motel. It was clean, spacious, and had everything we needed for a week's stay in Wanaka. The staff were friendly and accommodating, and it was easily the best value we found here (confirmed by the local iSite office). Fast Wi-Fi connection!
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carafw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We were only staying for one night and wanted something cheap but self contained. We got what we paid for. We had a car so the location was fine, I think to walk to town could take up to half an hour though didn't prove this. The unit we stayed in was built alongside reception. The bedroom must be opposite the reception desk as we could hear people checking out next door. The bed was comfortable but most disappointing was the absence of pillowslips. I guess this just must have been an oversight on the part of the cleaners. We only noticed when we went to bed so too late to get some from next door. There was one spare pillow with a pillowslip in a cupboard, my husband put a tshirt over his pillow. The bathroom was ok, clean and nice large towels. The window in there had been left open as it was very hot that day. This meant debris from a nearby tree had collected in the shower tray. This room is a challenge for tall people due to slanting roofs, but we knew that when we booked. There was a plug in smelly scented wall Thimbu in the lounge area. This was very strong and unpleasant, We hid it away in a drawer:).

I have rated two for service because I mentioned the absent pillowcases to reception, in case he thought we stole them. I thought this would have been a cause for concern, but he barely acknowledged my concern.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afield2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We booked this motel due to having a stop over in Wanaka for 1 night & due to paying for extra in our other travels, thought we would go a little less budget.

It was a very average motel, that you do need a car for - would be about a 15+ min walk to town otherwise. It is a older style motel with basic equipment.

Room itself wasn't to bad in size & bathroom a reasonable size, along with the kitchen. If cooking there was a hotplate that plugged in. We dined out, so not a problem. The bed wasn't the best & didn't have a good night's sleep because of it. Also the shower was very very low presure - which was disappointing. Also there where a number of signs every where - felt like I was at school. Eg if you get makeup on the towels & we can't get out, you will iccur a cost, etc.

Also the TV was a 14" stuck up on the wall - which if you where a family wanting to enjoy a movie you would find it hard.

The only really concerning thing was that the armchair in our room was wet. When we first arrived the heater was on, which we thought was nice & I put my bag onto the chair & went out. On returning went to sit in the chair that I discovered was wet - reason why heater must be on. I'm guessing that maybe they had cleaned it - but it would of been nice to tell us that the chair was wet (no sign this time), so that we didn't use or at least give us another chair or room for the night.

It was ok & we paid for what we got - budget accommodation. I personally would look for somewhere else next time we go to Wanaka - closer to town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelObession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

The Wanaka Crescent Hotel is about a 5 minute drive from the main drag into suburbia. The owner was wonderful and very helpful. Off street, undercover parking is available. The rooms are very comfortable with a kitchen and a nice big bathroom. It would be absolutely perfect for an extended stay in Wanaka! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lil_Miss_Mooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We came here wanting a cheap but nice place to stay a couple of nights, but stayed only one in the end. Furniture was old and tired, and everything felt a bit mismatched and uncomfortable. Not good value for money either so i wouldn't really recommend it to anyone. Only good thing was the size of the bes, it was huge.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Getaways01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
850 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
269 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuka Crescent Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuka Crescent Motel

Address: 51 Manuka Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: $93 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manuka Crescent Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in an extremely quiet location offering affordable spacious self contained studios & one and two bedroom apartments. Free wifi, 32 inch flat screen tvs with Sky TV. Kitchnettes with stove tops for two saucepans, Electric fry pan, microwave oven refrigerators and kettle/jug for tea & coffee making. All units have a dining area & couches for relaxation along with outside seating terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Manuka Crescent Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wanaka
Manuka Crescent Hotel
Wanaka Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing