We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place if you get the right room”
Review of Wanaka Bakpaka

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wanaka Bakpaka
Ranked #5 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
long beach
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A great place if you get the right room”
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Our first night in this hostel we had a room with the window right on the courtyard and it was terrible. The beds were mush and the smoke from people smoking in the courtyard came in the room and choked us out. BUT, the second night we moved into a different room and it was great--nice hard bed and a quiet location. The only negative about the room is picky but it when you are backpacking it's important--I wish the owners would put towel racks and hooks on the walls. There was no place to put anything--just putting stuff on the floor. Again, that's pretty picky for for $10 they would make the room much more functional.

The location of the hostel is great and the front room's picture window has a fantastic view of the lake.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    81
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
128
72
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

The staff were friendly and easy to find packing spaces. The location is really convenient and every morning you will see the beautiful lake wanaka. Its very pleasing to the eye. They have fantastic kitchen, computers and chill out room. The room rate is really affordable. The heater is not powerful enough to keep us warm during winter climate. At night, there is no light near our room to lead us elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence_Tay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2010

My partner and i stayed in Wanaka for 2 nights as part of our south island trip. It was by far the best place we stayed, such great value for money! Usually double rooms in hostels can be on the small side when your on a budget of about $60 per night, but this had a kingsize bed and views of the mountains and lake!! We were incredibly impressed, it was a big spacious room and although we decided to go for the option without bathroom, it was only next door! Bathrooms and showers were very clean and the staff were very nice, especially helpful when helping book our skydive! Wanaka is a gorgeous town with beautiful scenery - and all of this can be seen from the communal areas in the hostel.
I would definately also recommend the cinema in Wanaka. Its a tiny little independant cinema where they serve freshly baked cookies in the interval - that the way cinemas should be!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Great hostel to stay at. lovely kitchens and living area. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyedinburgh_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We highly recommend this hostel. It is in a very nice location overlooking the bay. The rooms are simple but have good mattresses and are very clean. The communal kitchen is great and there's a lot of space to have your meals outside. The owners are very nice and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay here. Good value for your money (double room with private bath).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPConny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

One of the best we stayed at. Good location, quiet, great view over lake. New owners are friendly and actually care.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2010

I stayed here for 3 weeks while I was working in town. It's social in a chilled out kind of way and a lot of interesting solo (mid twenties) travellers stay there as a rest stop on otherwise busy trips. the living and communal areas are all at the front with a view over the lake which seems to add to the social side of things as everyone hangs out either out on the grass or in the lounge talking and reading and sussing out their next tramp/destination If you get the right room the view is amazing. The kitchen is big and well stocked. When I was there they'd renovated the main bathroom but were planning to do more (for the skiing shower load). You can hire a bike for ultra cheap or walk the track through the park that wraps around the point and feel completely away from everything or walk into town- a lazy 5ish min stroll. Wanaka in summer is pretty blissful

Brilliant

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erica_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
535 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Bakpaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Bakpaka

Property: Wanaka Bakpaka
Address: 117 Lakeside Road | Otago, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic quiet lakeside location. Only 5 minute walk to the centre of town. "Bus and Group" free ambience allowing you to enjoy our garden courtyard. Our comfy, spacious and TV free lounge overlooks Lake Wanaka with it huge floor to ceiling windows. Its these views which are our biggest clincher, followed by the NEW kitchen, vareity of room types and outside areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wanaka Bakpaka Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing