We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View”
Review of Wanaka Bakpaka

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wanaka Bakpaka
Ranked #5 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Amazing View”
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Good beds, nice staff, GREAT kitchen, good showers. Best possibly imaginable view. Seems to caters to an older crowd of backpackers so Atmosphere is more chilled out with no TV so everyone seems to talk to talk and socialize together in their huge lounge and outside area overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    81
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
128
72
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2009

I stayed in one of the solo rooms which was serviceable but was right next to the bathroom. So whenever anyone went to the bathroom during all hours of the night, I was awoken. The location is convenient as it is only a 10 minute walk into town. The cleanliness is on par with what I've seen at other hostels. The other backpackers are pretty friendly. Wireless internet is charged on a data transfer basis at $0.10/MB with a minimum of 50 MB at $5.00. There are 4 kitchens for food as well 4 laundry machines.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnumgis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

This hostel, despite the naff name, is a pretty good place to stay. My room was nice enough without being spectacular. The kitchen is big and modern, although it did get a little crowded. The best thing about the hostel, though, is its location - overlooking the lake, a short walk from the village centre. The views are amazing! I highly recommend staying in Wanaka rather than Queenstown, and this hostel is definitely a good choice.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Busy
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mirumir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2008

This was a large rambling backpacker hostel on the shore of Lake Wanaka. Some of the fittings were dated but clean and comfortable, although the cookers needed an in depth scrub. Staff extremely helpful. Probably more suited to younger people but I was comfortable enough.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cookers needed a scrub
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LancashireTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner/Operator at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, October 6, 2008
Thanks for the advice on the dirty ovens. We are usually so busy cleaning bathrooms, making beds and cleaning our amazing lounge overlooking the lake that we completely forgot about the ovens. Thanks for the advice and subsequently we have added it to our weekly tasks to thoroughly clean those ovens. Subsequently my partner gets a large amount of enjoyment out of ticking this task off her weekly cleaning list, whereas I have the disadvantaged position of getting down on my hands and knees to give them the good scrub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
535 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Bakpaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Bakpaka

Property: Wanaka Bakpaka
Address: 117 Lakeside Road | Otago, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic quiet lakeside location. Only 5 minute walk to the centre of town. "Bus and Group" free ambience allowing you to enjoy our garden courtyard. Our comfy, spacious and TV free lounge overlooks Lake Wanaka with it huge floor to ceiling windows. Its these views which are our biggest clincher, followed by the NEW kitchen, vareity of room types and outside areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wanaka Bakpaka Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing