We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”
Review of Wanaka Bakpaka

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wanaka Bakpaka
Ranked #4 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
mold
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

you could not fault the location of this back packers
the rooms were individual , ours was a double with private facilities.
the kitchen and dining room/lounge were great, with brilliant views with wrap around windows
great mix of people there
plenty of parking
and the kitchen was brilliant with free tea and coffee
a must stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Chris

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at Wanaka Bakpaka in December. We agree that we have some great guests that come to stay. We hope you enjoyed your time in Wanaka and were able to take in some walks or relax by the lake.

Wanaka Bakpaka : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    81
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
128
72
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Figeac, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hostel is definitely one of the best I've done so far in NZ. The location is just outstanding with great view on the lake and mountains. The kitchen is just great with fresh rosemary and free tea and coffee. The bedroom was big and beds really comfortable with super pillow!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex231187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hi Alex

Wow, thanks so much for your amazing review. It means so much when guests rate us as one of their top stays in New Zealand. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in May and noticed the little added extras to make your stay more comfortable.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels around New Zealand

Wanaka Bakpaka : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakhon Nayok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We just discovered that the staff at front desk take turns. That night we met a young couple as managers. They were nice and helpful. I like the location. The place is on a hill overlooking lake Wanaka and a marina. The lobby (also the dining area) was warm and very big accommodating, let's say, 50 people. The bedroom was not that big but what else we expect from the backpacker. I think the room size matched the reasonable rate. Not too clean but not to dirty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaiKusuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hi there

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in may! We appreciate your comments and do try to price the rooms according to the backpacker market. The view from the living room is stunning and right now we have just had a snow fall on the mountains!
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around New Zealand
Wanaka Bakpaka : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed in a twin room ensuite, it was out in the back, but was nice to have a little more privacy! Liz, who was running the hostel, was super nice and helpful. The views are amazing, lonely planet said it is a good place to work on your blog, they weren't kidding. You get 40MB of internet free and then need to purchase (at a discounted zenbu rate). I would highly recommend if you are looking for affordable accommodation in this lovely town!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi there

Thanks so much for your lovely review regarding your recent stay here with us at Wanaka Bakpaka. We agree Wanaka is a great town and especially this time of year it is easy to relax enjoy the autumn colours outside and catch up your blog. We are so pleased you found your stay here comfortable and enjoyable.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around New Zealand
Wanaka Bakpaka : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinatown, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Good view but very rude staff. Maybe reception need more trainng.
the reception treat guests always not friendly and vexatious,
we all feel her attitude is bad, it will let us feel unhappy.
she say if we are unhappy, you can change the other hostel,
we are so shocked,and feel bad.
it affect our mood,and we will never go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ko g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hi there

We would like to take the time and address the issues you highlighted in your review. You had made your original booking with us for a friday night for two people. You phoned up earlier in the week to change your date and arrive one day later which we said was not a problem. At this point we read out the date and day to confirm the new booking was correct.
We then had your booking as a no show and were fully booked that night so charged your card accordingly. You then turned up two days later saying you had a booking, we looked into this and informed you of what had happened. You spoke to Ian who had altered your booking on the phone and myself. We said you were welcome to stay but we would not discount this night. You decided to stay an another hostel.
When making or altering a booking it is important to double check the Day and the Date so these incidents don't occur.
Wanaka Bakpaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were there for 5 nights, double room. Brilliant, clean well sized room, shower/bathroom just across the hall, well set out kitchen. Great views = excellant facilities, cheerful and helpful staff. Definitely recommend for those not wanting to pay a fortune for great accommodation. Met some nice people from other countries. Excellant location from city centre and amazing views.
thank you

Room Tip: Excellan value for money, the double room without ensuite good size and very adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Manager at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hi Gail

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here in April. The walk along the lakefront into town is beautiful and at night time is great to see town lit up! We do try to keep all the common areas clean, tidy but also comfy so all guests can relax after a days walking or just chill out.
We hope to see you back here some time at Wanaka Bakpaka : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed there for a couple of nights last month (March 2013) during a weekend trip from Auckland. My visiting Australian friend and I had a really good time. Good location; friendly, efficient staff; simple but clean room and the bathroom didn't seem to be busy at all despite the number of people staying there. We really liked the common eating area with great views and plenty of room and conducive to meeting people. (We met some young German girls later in Auckland and they said it was one of the best places they had stayed) The kitchen was very clean and well organised with a good range of cooking and eating equipment. It was just a little cold at night so I asked for an extra blanket and it was no hassle at all. I would recommend this hostel for any age really. I don't normally stay in hostels and despite our 'mature' years we felt very included! Go Wanaka Bakpaka!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailsa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hi Ailsa

Thanks so much for your lovely review regarding your recent stay here at Wanaka Bakpaka. We love when past guests refer us to other travelers there's nothing like word of mouth : ) Winter has definatley arrived here in Wanaka with fresh snow on the mountains today. We hope the rest of your trip around New Zealand was great!

Wanaka Bakpaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
431 reviews
1.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
533 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 45 in Wanaka
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Bakpaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Bakpaka

Property: Wanaka Bakpaka
Address: 117 Lakeside Road | Otago, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic quiet lakeside location. Only 5 minute walk to the centre of town. "Bus and Group" free ambience allowing you to enjoy our garden courtyard. Our comfy, spacious and TV free lounge overlooks Lake Wanaka with it huge floor to ceiling windows. Its these views which are our biggest clincher, followed by the NEW kitchen, vareity of room types and outside areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wanaka Bakpaka Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing