We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wanaka Bakpaka

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wanaka Bakpaka
Ranked #4 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
200 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Are you sure this is a backpackers? Really nice rooms and friendly staff. Location is good to walk into town for an evening meal. We had two room; a twin with an ensuite and a double. The bathrooms for the double were allocated to only three rooms and were really nice, big and clean. The bed was comfortable and felt more like a hotel. Friendly greeting on arrival and plenty of parking. The views from the lounge are fantastic too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi there

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Wanaka Bakpaka in April. We always hope guests will enjoy there time here and find the backpackers a comfortable place to relax and enjoy the view!
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in New Zealand
Wanaka Bakpaka : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    77
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
125
67
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

As excellent as 3 years ago, perfect location, super friendly staff, a dream kitchen (well equipped and fresh garden herbs), a lounge I could have sat in all day, cheaper bike hire rates vs town and the list could go on...
Toilets & showers all over the place. Comfy mattress. Good age mix, young, medium and older travelers. It is easy to get in contact. I stayed in a twin room and enjoyed having a washbasin inside the room.
Only downside: very loud door-locks.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank jboe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi there

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in march and that you are a returning guest! We are very lucky with our location and love to hear that guests have enjoyed talking and meeting fellow travelers. We are fortunate to always have a broad range of guests stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments regarding your stay, we will look into the door locks and try to improve these.

We hope you enjoyed your travels in New Zealand : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Wanaka Bakpaka is a perfect place to stay! The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the kitchen is new and fully equipped, the people are friendly, the view of the dining room is amazing and Wanaka is just lovely. What else can I say? Enjoy your stay and spend an afternoon in puzzling world! I stayed there four times and it doesn't matter if it's winter or summer. It's great every single time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhileasFogg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Felix

What a great review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us not once but four times! We agree that Wanaka is a great destination all year round and has activities for both summer and winter. Puzzling World is always a popular choice with our guests and since they have added a second illusions room you can definatley spend a good part of the day there! We love to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay.

We hope you have taken away some amazing memories from your travels in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a four bed dorm with a bathroom in the dorm.

I was only at this hostel briefly (just a quick overnight stay) so I can't comment fully on all the facilities.

There is a car park on site (bit steep to get into). Without a car it is about 10 minutes into town I would guess.

Great view from the lounge, really nice place to sit - sunny and comfortable. Did get a bit crowded.

Room and barhroom clean, bunk beds sturdy and comfortable. No problems with noise. Room was small and felt a bit cramped.

Was a bit disappointing that no-one was there to greet me - I did arrive in the evening but not late. My key was left in an envelope and I was greeted in a friendly way the next morning but other similar sized hostels had reception open until later.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtwopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Manager at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi there

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in march. Its great to hear you enjoyed the views from the living room. We do have to reply to your check in, we state on our website, in our email confirmations and ask with phone bookings time of arrival. This is because our office is open from 8.30 am - 7.00pm each day. If guests chose to arrive after this we leave keys in envelopes etc. We are a small 20 room hostel and believe that these hours are correct.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in New Zealand

Wanaka Bakpaka : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hostel is one of the best in New Zealand. Everything is clean, kitchen is nice and big, the staff was really friendly, our room was cosy and nice! But the best thing is the communal area.-the living room and the dining room, there is a beautiful view of Lake Wanaka :-) Thank you for a lovely stay!:)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misa_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi there

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here in march. We really appreciate the comments you made and agree with you that the view overlooking the lake is a stunner!
Look forward to seeing you back here another time : )
Wanaka Bakpaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I know this is a kind of hostel, but for me, not so pleasant. First, housekeeper iwas lazy girl with dull sttude, not a good welcome. It was crowded, so she might be very busy and tired. The fare I was charged was much more than the price I had reserved on the web. With only limited 30 minuted Wifi, I won't stay here again. Cheap hostel for sheapie like back packer.

Room Tip: Better frin somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank アブマニア
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hi there

It was disapointing to read your review this morning regarding your stay with us in january. We have looked into your comments and would like to take the time to reply to them.
We noted that you stayed with us in a single room- we no longer offer these but made an acception for you, this was at a charge of $53 this room is normally $62 per night. We also need to verify that if a booking is made for a certain room type e.g double or twin we will not move this booking into another room type unless requested by the guest.
We offer on check in a 40mb wifi voucher which can last up to one hour depending on what you are uploading/downloading.
We have also noted that your other reviews are for hotels and motels and need to clarify we are a backpackers and our prices reflect this.
lastly your check in was after 7pm (Reception is open 8.30am-7.00pm) so a key was left at reception and our onsite staff member showed you to your room.
We hope that you take the time to read this reply as we took the time to read your comments.

Wanaka Bakpaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I've been in NZ for 4 months and stayed in many hostels - this is quite simply the best of the lot! Great staff, big, clean kitchens (with everything working!), great communal areas, cheap internet, free coffee (I am an addict!) and really, really nice rooms. The free parking hasn't been an issue for me but I'm returning there tomorrow with a hire car so I'll be using it.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martinjohngreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi Martin

On check out this morning I meant to thank you so much for this kind review about your stays here at Wanaka Bakpaka. Were so pleased your enjoyed your stays with us and we have to agree we to our coffee nuts too! We hope your tramping in New Zealand was enjoyable and you have taken away some amazing memories from this trip.

We might see you another time here at Wanaka Bakpaka : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 47 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Bakpaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Bakpaka

Property: Wanaka Bakpaka
Address: 117 Lakeside Road | Otago, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic quiet lakeside location. Only 5 minute walk to the centre of town. "Bus and Group" free ambience allowing you to enjoy our garden courtyard. Our comfy, spacious and TV free lounge overlooks Lake Wanaka with it huge floor to ceiling windows. Its these views which are our biggest clincher, followed by the NEW kitchen, vareity of room types and outside areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wanaka Bakpaka Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing