We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wanaka Bakpaka
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Wanaka
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moorings(Wanaka)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeside Apartments(Wanaka)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wanaka Hotel(Wanaka)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveler rating
209
85
14
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
85
14
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble roomthe kitchenfree wifibig windowsgreat kitchenfree tea and coffeeoverlooking the lakecommon roomprivate ensuitecommon areasfridge spaceshared bathroomper daythree roomsenjoyed staying herelounge areaquiet at night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 313 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Wanaka Bakpaka is a good hostel base conveniently located about 7-10 minute walk along the lake arm of Wanaka. In all honesty, I would probably give it 3.5 stars. While I read such great reviews, I wasn't wowed by anything at this hostel. It seemed very ordinary, though done in a very honest and positive way. It has a large dining/relaxation area with pay-per-use computers and a beautiful kitchen space. We stayed in the private ensuite, which had its own entry off the side of the building. The room was completely functional but basic. Everything we needed was there without any extras - aside from the view. (However, I will go as far to say the view was actually better from the dining area!)

At any rate, this hostel is run by very proficient and friendly individuals. While there were limited aspects to wow us, it is a typical laid back, more quiet hostel that stands on its own.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Hi Laura

Thanks for writing your review about your stay here at Wanaka Bakpaka in September. We appreciate your honest comments and agree that we are a Hostel not a lodge or motel. We strive to provide our guests with clean and affordable backpacker accomodation but are lucky to be situated where we are, with one of the best views for any hostel in New Zealand.
The room you stayed in - the Lake View Double Ensuite is just that a Backpacker private room with it's own bathroom. If our room's were to provide more facilites we would then qualify as a motel/lodge and would such would be charging for these extra's.
We try not to pretend to be something we are not and aim to provide a relaxing stay for our guests here at Wanaka Bakpaka.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in New Zealand!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Wanaka Bakpaka is a fantastic hostel. Infact, its not much like a hostel at all. The modern and fresh decor, excellent facilities and great service are more like a B&B or a hotel than a hostel.
We were lucky enough to stay in Room 16 (request if you can!) as it is the only room that has views overlooking the lake. The ensuite was excellent and exceptionally clean, the bed comfy and we had a decking area outside of our room where we could sit and enjoy the views.
The kitchen is really homely and well stocked and the "common room"/eating area has fantastic views over Lake Wanaka with plenty of tables and chairs to enjoy your breakfast or dinner.
Stay at the Wanaka Bakpaka if you're visiting Wanaka.... you will NOT be disappointed!

Room Tip: Room 16 has views over Lake Wanaka. Its a double ensuite and well worth the little extra in cost!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ab3b4y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Hi there

We love to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay it makes the hard work worthwhile! What a lovely compliment comparing us to a B & B.
Room 16 is by far our most popular room and agree there is a great view from the deck, in the warmer months a great place to relax and have a drink and map out the travel plans for the next day.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Wanaka Bakpaka it is the most rewarding part of the job. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and hope to see you back at Wanaka Bakpaka in the future : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is one of the bigger backpackers hostel I have stayed during my trip. It got a very big kitchen that very well equipped. Dining room is big too and facing the beautiful Lake Wanaka; there are coin operated internet which I think is cheap 50 cents/15 min, 1 dollar/30 min.
We stayed in a comfortable twin ensuite which away from main building. Spaces for both room and bathroom consider moderate.
No worry about car parking as there are a lot.
And ya, laundry hour is strictly according to as stated, please bare in mind ;-)

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Nt_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Hi there

Thanks for reviewing your stay here in september at Wanaka Bakpaka. We try to keep all the facilities well stocked, clean and tidy so all guests can enjoy. The laundry does automatically turn off as you must have found- this is to keep noise down for guests near the laundry.
We hope you enjoyed your holiday in New Zealand.

Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great stay! This is probably one of the best hostels we stayed at in NZ. It's a lovely homely place located by the lakeside. We stayed in a triple - great room, big window, spacious, soft mattress, big and clean bathroom! Love the kitchen too, it's big and clean and lots of cooking utensils for everyone. There is also a BBQ pit and outdoors area but we didn't have the opportunity to use it. They also have a laundry room with three washing machines and three dryers for use. The owners are really friendly and helpful - we ran into a bit of trouble with our coach schedules and they were so helpful in giving us transport information in the area. Downtown with all the restaurants, supermarket, shopping and I-site is just a 7 mins walk away, a really lovely walk along the lake. You can also hire bikes but you should check the gears first. (The one I got was a bit rusty and needs to be oiled.) But my favorite part of the hostel is the big windows in the lounge / dining area. It's got a great view of the lake, an awesome view to be greeted by every morning, and a great reminder that you're in New Zealand.

The only thing I didn't like was that the shower in our room was a little weak and I had to wait a while for the water to be heated up before showering, but really, that's not a big issue.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alienshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Hi there

It's so great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Wanaka Bakpaka! We really appreciate your comment that we are one of the Best Hostels your group stayed at in New Zealand - it's one of the nicest things a guest can say : ) The walk along into town is beautiful and allows you to see all angles of Wanaka.
We were sorry to hear that you experienced some trouble with a bike you rented here, we try to maintain the bikes regularly but sometimes a bike may need a tweak. We have quite a few bikes here for rental for cases like this so we can always swap to a better bike if there are issues.
It's also a shame to hear about the water in your ensuite unfortunaltey the pipes in our main building can take a minute or two to warm up first thing in the morning as happens in most older buildings.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in New Zealand !

Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

It surprised me when I stepped in to this hostel. It does not looks like a bacpackers accommodation, with the excellent location up a slope overlooking Lake Wanaka , you can enjoy your meals either indoor or outdoor with these wonderful view. Our double room simple yet modern with a toilet just outside assigned to 3 or 4 rooms and you will be given password to enter the bathroom, cool idea! The only drawback is the wooden structure made the sound proof almost none existen, you can hear people walking and the worst is our room is next to a bathroom but this happen in all the accommodations in NZ. This is place is always fuuly booked and despite they have a very big kitchen but when come to dinner time it will be full and you might have to wait for your turn but its a cool experience watching people moving around doing their cooking while enjoying the nice from from the window. The location is about 15minutes walk to the centre and the view walking along the lake is breathtaking. The friendly staffs will help you with you need to know about Wanak. We tried to extend our stay but it was fully booked, so plan to stay here , book early.

Room Tip: Not to get a room next to bathroom
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Hi there

Thanks for your positive review regarding your stay here at Wanaka Bakpaka in march. We do sometimes take for granted how lucky with are with our location and the views we enjoy here but always nice to get reminded by guests. We appreciate that you understand that this is a backpackers (which can be busy and noisy) and also that our backpackers has character and age to it. This means that our buildings unfortunatley don't have high quality sound proofing as modern buildings do now but we try to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible : )
It's great that you enjoyed that atmosphere here, we are very fortunate to have a great mix of travellers stay with us throughout the year. This means guests can meet other guests here and share their experiences and travelling stories!

I hope you enjoyed your holiday in New Zealand in summer and some great memories to look back on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews