We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our best place ever, extremely good value for price!”
Review of Wanaka Bakpaka

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wanaka Bakpaka
Ranked #4 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our best place ever, extremely good value for price!”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My sister & myself stayed at Wanaka Bakpaka early February & absolutely loved it so much, we returned & gladly stayed again.
Staff the best & so helpful, all areas spotless including huge designer kitchen, laundry facilities,plus internet desks & extra huge lounge & foyer with large picture windows overlooking Lake Wanaka & the green bays opposite ~ views gorgeous by day, sunset & at night.
One night was a long yacht race which was great to see ~ went for hours until dark at nearly 9pm. The lake~front was just a few steps down from the green front lawn ~ nice for sunbathing!
Well organised kitchen with storage & ample cooking facilities, plus tables & BBQ outside.
We stayed in twin room 1st time, then double room next time, both with ensuites & very comfortable & clean.
Will certainly stay again someday!

Room Tip: Choice of twin rooms are nice around the courtyard, with view out to Lake Wanaka, but our inside roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    79
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
127
70
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My husband and i stayed here for 3 nights. It's a lovely place, and we love it so much. The staff was friendly and helpful. Nice and spacious room, clean and tidy kitchen. Comfortable sofa at guest lounge... My husband love the view from the guest lounge - view of Lake Wanaka. :) He spent his noon time just lying on the sofa. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mc-Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2012

we are sorry that we stayed only one night. the kitchen was great and the terrace outside even better. would come again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urskakrajnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in January 2012. The hostel is in a beautiful setting, a short distance from the town centre but with amazing views. Our room was clean & very comfortable. The cooking facilities were superb and the staff helpful. If we had more time we would have stayed longer and if we return to NZ I am sure we'll visit Wanaka just to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JULIE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toyokawa, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I loved the cat who hung around although I don't really know whom s/he belongs to. The backpackers itself was okay. Clean room and kitchen. Spacious guest lounge with a beautiful view of Lake Wanaka. You have to walk for 10 minutes from the city centre. But, away from the town, it was very quiet at night. The only thing I didn't like was that they started to vacuum the guest lounge at 9am. My dorm room being next to the lounge, I was awoken by the noise. On the last day of my stay, I was enjoying the beautiful view of the lake over a cup of tea before checking out. Then, again, the staff decided to vacuum around the sofa I was sitting on, which sort of ruined the mood... It's good they keep the facility clean, but I wonder why they didn't wait till after 10am when there were less guests around. They could have been a bit more considerate.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elysiriarelsila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Great place for budget travellers. Self contained facilities (kitchen, bath, washing and drying) and well appointed rooms. helpful staff. Awesome view of the lake from the lounge.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rokhshad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was the first hostel we stayed in in NZ. We are in our 60s so felt a little like the grandparents or the teachers, but it was still a pleasant stay. We had the ensuite double room with the lake view, which is small but very clean, very inexpensive, and quite cozy. The kitchen is amazingly well organized and we managed to cook and then eat on our tiny terrace (in spite of the rain). It was fun, and made us kindof wish we were kids again ourselves.

Room Tip: the lakefront ensuite double is the nicest, though priciest, room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tg1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.6 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 45 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Bakpaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Bakpaka

Property: Wanaka Bakpaka
Address: 117 Lakeside Road | Otago, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic quiet lakeside location. Only 5 minute walk to the centre of town. "Bus and Group" free ambience allowing you to enjoy our garden courtyard. Our comfy, spacious and TV free lounge overlooks Lake Wanaka with it huge floor to ceiling windows. Its these views which are our biggest clincher, followed by the NEW kitchen, vareity of room types and outside areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wanaka Bakpaka Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing