We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed there for 3 weeks !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers
Ranked #40 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Athens
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Stayed there for 3 weeks !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed in the Matterhorn South for 3 weeks and I just loved the place. A hostel with very nice atmosphere, in the hart of the town, helpful management and cosy rooms. You can see that the focus of the location is not the money-making, the manager really cares about quality, cleanness and order.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    20
    9
    14
See reviews for
8
34
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Clean, tidy, super friendly! Right in the centre, close to all amenities, Toby at reception was more than happy to advise us on activities and little town secrets as well as making sure we were comfortable. Reasonably priced. Good to have kitchen facilities available.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge not the backpackers and our room could sleep 4 people. Maybe more quiet and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 974Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

What a beautiful setting. Close to all the attractions of wanaka. Only a minute from the supermarket and bars. Its not cheap but in saying that it was the least expensive hostel in the town with other hostels quoting us prices ranging from $3~$5 more per person. Its small and clean and its got a hot tub. Awesome! Nice clean kitchen and great communal area to meet other travellers. No bar so if you want a few drinks you've gotta go out to town, but if you're like me grab a wine from new world, pick up some plastic glasses in the kitchen and hit the hot tub. Love Wanaka. Love the matterhorn!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenv2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

My friend and I stayed in a room with facilities. It was nice enough although we thought it a bit expensive for what it was.

Room Tip: Don't stay at a motel near traffic lights or roundabouts - noisy with trucks braking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess1247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
162 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

We just left this hostel after 3 nights in a double room. The hostel was easy to find and the manager Toby at check in was really helpful and gave us advice on what to do in Wanaka, and where the good restaurants were. He also gave us advice on the best places to see as we rented a car for a day.

The room was very clean and had a heater. There was no noise at night. The bathrooms and kitchen were also very clean. The kitchen was fully equipped and had plenty of storage space.

There was a spa pool and a nice area outside to relax. They had laundry facilities as well, and a clothes line outside. The kitchen has a dining area with a fire that is perfect to relax in.

The location is perfect, a 2 minute walk from the supermarket and a 5 minute walk to the lakefront.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Very nice hostel with a very friendly manager who helps whenever he can!
After an awesome day with skydive or snowboarding it's the best to relax in the hotpool!
The rooms are very clean and big enough for everyone!

This hostel is definitely not a party hostel! If you want party you have to go 3minutes to the center of the city!
The supermarket is only 2 minutes down the street!

Everyone will enjoy the stay at the Matterhorn!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HabOlll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Separate buildings: lodge (in which we stayed) and backpackers. Comfortable motel-style room with and small fridge & TV. Separate heater in each room, bedroom & bathroom. The lodge's communal kitchen & TV/internet rooms gave the best of both world's: our own comfortable room plus opportunities to mix with other travellers. Well located in the centre of town only one block from a supermarket. Washing machine & clothes dryer available.

The manager, Toby Panter, was most efficient and helpful. He happily fielded questions on the fly whilst hurrying to carry out some duty or other, and always delivered on what he said he would do. He helpfully perused the internet and made a call to book us into accommodation at our next destination.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatterhornSouth, General Manager at Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Very much appreciated, thank you. Was a pleasure to welcome you at the Matterhorn. Toby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.2 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 47 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Base Backpackers Wanaka
Base Backpackers Wanaka
#41 of 47 in Wanaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain View Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Aspiring Lodge Motel
#15 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers

Property: Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers
Address: 56 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide all travellers a home away from home to take a break from your break. So Climb on in! A homely relaxing atmosphere set in beautiful Wanaka with friendly kiwi’s and travellers from all around the world.We have log fires to warm you up in winter and sun decks with plenty of shade to chill out in summer.There are two fully equipped kitchens one each for Lodge and Backpacker Accommodations.This blend of affordable Backpacker and Lodge Accommodation with friendly management and superb location will give you a very enjoyable stay.Top floor of the lodge accommodation overlooks the lake and the mountains. We are located near the centre of the township, just a short walk from the Lake. There are separate areas for backpackers and Lodge guests but we encourage everyone to join in and get to know each other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing