We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Experiences”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glendhu Bay Motor Camp
Ranked #11 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Glendhu Bay is a camping ground with elderly but clean facilities which has developed for regular campers over 75 years.Casual short term visitors need to understand that they may be part of a 2000 person community at Xmas times .Early and late arrivers ,non arrivers and early and late departers create logistical nightmares for management. My experience with all managers over 45 years has found that good communication and respect has never led to a single problem. Chris and Keith are hard working and outstanding in the way they look after the vast majority of campers who have respect for management and fellow campers. Sadly a minority will always try to advance their own selfish demands. Their remedy is to go elsewhere.To expect new management because of a casual experience confirms that persons self centred outlook.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 62 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

We have been holidaying at Glendhu Bay for 40 years. Our children and now their children all camp wth us in their own vans each year. We were very saddened to read some of the very negative comments about the present management. Perhaps management have no option to respond to how they are being treated We have witnessed some of the agravation thrown at them when they are only trying to do their job. The camp is as well managed now, if not better, than it has been since we have been coming. Both Chris and Keith put their all into running the camp, sometimes under difficult conditions. We were here before Christmas and the camp looked a picture. Treat them with respect and they will treat you with respect!
With regard to the facilities any blame for the state of these should be blamed fairly and squarely on the QLDC. The management's responsibilities are to maintain them to a high standard of cleanliness which they do exceptionally well.
To management and staff we thank you all for another great holiday and we look forward with anticipation to the next holiday season.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We were invited by friends who have been going to Glendu Bay for 3 generations so was very excited to check out this idyllic campground.. We turned up to check in and was greeted by a very rude and abrupt woman at the front desk her name was Chris. Chris checked us in an charged us for 15 booked days not 10 that we were staying as circumstances changed and couldn't stay longer I understand in peak time but camp was half empty. The campsite amenities were basic and showers were miles away from our site. My wife fell very ill at 2am and they did not answer the Emergency Phone so had to call an ambulance (at our cost) as we could not get gates open to drive her this is totally unacceptable. Due to my wife's illness we had to leave early so went to check out asked Chris if she would kindly refund us the balance of our stay but she queried if we had even paid I had to prove from my bank account before she would even consider it. Not sure wat kind system you use but with computers u would think we booked and paid for it so it should show up on your system. Chris finally refunded us after we proved had paid. Beautiful setting but after talking to few campers u will not have a lot left if you keep Chris there!! Maybe she should be kept away from customer service.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Over our many many years of loving Glendhu Bay, like many of the long term campers who have written reviews, I am astounded by the ignorance shown by the management responses. Yes, it is good to see that management are responding to comments by the reviewers however the fact remains, the campground has aways been busy every December/January, due to it idilitic location (one of the most scenic in New Zealand), however the previous management have successfully kept harmony amongst the campers, including the long term campers whereas the current management, in particular the "rude woman" is ignoring such as the 'true and honest' people are saying. This in my view is going to be and is the only downfall of this wonderful place. It's has got to the point where I ask myself, have the management been hired to destroy and chase the campers away?

Guys, it breaks my heart to encourage you to alternative campgrounds as the New Zealand 'ambassador' of this campground are a poor representation of the New Zealand service industry.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank NewZealandAmbassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We enjoyed our stay, not flash but clean and comfortable and well priced. Could you please put a light down the side of the building that leads to the ladies toilets as a bit dark at night.
Thanks heaps, office staff very nice friendly and helpful. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeside1127, Manager at Glendhu Bay Motor Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thanks for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you back again soon. Thanks for the tip about the light - until someone lets us know that a bulb is out, we are sometimes unaware!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The setting over the lake might VE beautiful but this holiday park is not nicely layed out especially for the number of people it caters for. It feels too overcrowded. Staff are friendly enough but I generally didn't feel comfortable there.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank jmt12london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeside1127, Manager at Glendhu Bay Motor Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the holiday park. The campground was established in 1938, and by the request of the majority of long-term campers here, very little has been done to change the layout of the camp. We pride ourselves on being an iconic Kiwi camp, and the thousands of people that visit us year after year, agree that this is the case. We are sorry in this instance it did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had a few family and friends getting together in Glendhu bay for Christmas & New Years because it is a great place for boating, kids, camping and a beautiful location. The moment we arrived the lady serving us was nothing but rude, disrespectful and unwelcoming. She was the only thing we had to complain about.

Beautiful place would go back but not if this lady is still there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeside1127, Manager at Glendhu Bay Motor Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the campground. You visited in the busiest time of the year for our campground, when we have thousands of campers on site. Managing that number of people, vehicles and boats can be a huge job, and at times can be very stressful. Sometimes the minority can sometimes ruin things for the majority of people, and it is our management's job to ensure that everyone has an enjoyable time, but also that rules had adhered too. We are sorry that in this instance you were not happy with our management, as we have so many positive, supportive comments about the job they do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wanaka
4.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
851 reviews
6.4 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
4.9 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
6 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
385 reviews
12.2 mi away
Lake Hawea Holiday Park
Lake Hawea Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Lake Hawea
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendhu Bay Motor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendhu Bay Motor Camp

Address: 1127 Mt Aspiring Road | Glendhu Bay, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true iconic Kiwi camp on the shores of Lake Wanaka. Stunning location 11km from Wanaka on the road to Mt Aspiring National Park. Only minutes from Treble Cone skifield, Mt Roy and the Motatapu Valley. One hours drive away from Queenstown. Powered and non powered sites available along with rustic cabins, a new lodge sleeping 21 in total (separate rooms sleep up to six) and a fully furnished 3 bedroom house to rent. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing