We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor standard and bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #13 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We only stayed here for one night and this was plenty. The girl in reception was friendly and showed us our powered site on the map. It was a horrible evening and we knew that the park was at least 3km from the centre of town.

The park was in complete darkness and I drove the campervan up a steep hill away from reception to park. The whole area was in darkness and the sites were muddy.

The showers were dirty and drafty. The hairdryers in both the male and female shower rooms were out of order.

We were very disappointed and must say that the top 10 in Wanaka let's the company name down.

We stayed in five others and these were good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 232 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Service was friendly when we arrived, and we only required two powered sites. the camp ground wasn't particularly busy. We were given sites with partial views of lake which was lovely. We arrived early evening, and already found the toilet and shower facilities had either been used extensively that evening, or not been cleaned since morning. There was large amounts of water on floors and sinks, and much hair also on floors in ladies bathroom. The men's bathroom stunk of cigarette smoke of all things, not sure why anyone would want to smoke in bathrooms.
The cooking odours coming from the kitchens were dreadful. Very early next morning, and other guests were very noisy, with no consideration for others on holiday

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayeManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My only comment on this place is that it's getting a little shabby. The beds were comfortable both times we stayed, we appreciated the spa we used free with our Top 10 card, the service was quite ok, but there was a definite shabbiness to the rooms, and the second visit, the heater was smashed in and didn't work well.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToowoombaBilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here in our campervan on our recent South Island holiday. Great views from the upper level. Facilities are adequate with free showers. Swimming pool is summer only. Reasonably priced for the location and would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here in our motorhome for one night. We were on the upper level which gives a view. The site is ok but the shower blocks are a little tired and could do with updating. Behind our pitch we had a flock of Californian Quail pecking around. They make an unusual whooping sort of noise. It was quite nice to be close to the wildlife. The site is too far to walk into town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have just returned from a road trip around Central Otago, North Otago and the Caitlins Coast. Towards the end of our trip we thought we would stay in Cromwell as central to Queenstown and Wanaka. When we arrived it was packed, sites were small so we continued on to Wanaka. Family had told us it was fabulous and so it was. Very clean, full amentities, terrfiic views, great customer service with a smile and just that little bit out of Wanaka to bring peace and tranqulity. We extended our stay by a night as we loved that feeling of relaxation often not found in a camping ground.
Thanks guys and we will be back.

Room Tip: Elevated caravan sites flat with water at your door. Bliss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Amazingly situated site above the edge of the lake. We had a great pitch (25) along a high row facing the lake and the wonderful sunset! More spacious plots that the other Top 10s we have been to, though still not massive, but site felt nicer and less claustrophobic. Staff friendly and facilities clean and good. Wished we'd had another night here.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank Adelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
2.1 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
1.7 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 48 in Wanaka
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: Mt Aspiring Road, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: $49 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing