We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warbirds & Wheels

Warbirds & Wheels
Ranked #24 of 74 things to do in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our world-class visitor attraction showcases a collection of Warbirds aircraft, over 30 world class and privately owned classic cars, RealArt Roadshow of unique New Zealand art, wearable arts and tales of a local legend Sir Tim Wallis. This attraction also contains a 1950's retro diner with a wide range of delicious snacks baked on site daily, diner-style meals and refreshments, and retail shop with loads of exciting car and aircraft memorabilia. Open seven days 9am to 5pm. Located at the Wanaka airport, 9km from the township.
Cirencester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We went there principally to look at the aircraft but it was the cars that stole the show. An amazing variety of vehicles on display all were immaculate. Nice shop & American style diner once you have looked at the exhibits.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MasterMariner_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thanks for your review. We are certainly very proud of our car collection. We get rave reviews from people from around the world. I think it's the amazing QUALITY of these cars that wins people over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    64
    24
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Had a walk through while friends were off on a joy flight. Inside the door was a very sobering memorial wall to those that served and died during the war. Very sad to see how young many of the aircrew were. Display of cars was well laid out and I wanted to concentrate on the aviation side Worth a look.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thanks for your review. The memorial wall is certainly a sad but relevant part of our history. We also get lots of positive comments about our tribute to NZ's fighter aces. Glad you enjoyed your visit to Warbirds and Wheels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cars and Planes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

A very nicely laid out museum.
unfortunately since I was last there many of the aircraft had been sold
There were some beautiful restored cars on show

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Once again we have to point out that we are NOT the NZ Fighter Pilots' Musuem. That was closed down several years ago after many of the aircraft were sold off. We have five warbirds and our display traces the evolution of the fighting aircraft. Then of course we have the Sir Tim Wallis story, a world-class collection of classic cars, an exhibition of original NZ art, a retail shop and retro-style cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
242 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good Afternoon Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

A weather day in Wanaka so we drove out for a visit. All displays excellent with sufficient history regarding the artifact. The car restorations were brilliant in detail!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We find lots of visitors are blown away by the standard of our motor vehicles on display. We're glad you enjoyed your visit so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Allow bit of time to pop in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We were the only visitors in the museum. Concessionary price. Wandered through the planes which were quite interesting, but not spectacular, then turned the corner and was bowled over by the marvellous collection of vintage cars. Fantastic for anyone with an interest in the beauty of early 20th century engineering. The gallery of NZ art was a bonus, the cafe fun too. An hour well spent. Absolutely recommend.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank swiftfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and that you would recommend us. Thanks for popping in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warbirds & Wheels also viewed

 
 

Been to Warbirds & Wheels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing