We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warbirds & Wheels”
Review of Warbirds & Wheels

Warbirds & Wheels
Ranked #28 of 79 things to do in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our world-class visitor attraction showcases a collection of Warbirds aircraft, over 35 world class and privately owned classic cars, RealArt Roadshow of unique New Zealand art, wearable arts and tales of a local legend Sir Tim Wallis. This attraction also contains a 1950's retro diner with a wide range of delicious snacks baked on site daily, diner-style meals and refreshments, and retail shop with loads of exciting car and aircraft memorabilia. Open seven days 9am to 4pm. Located at the Wanaka airport, 9km from the township.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

An excellent modern well laid out museum featuring military aircraft and mainly American Cars which are presented in 'showroom condition'. There is an American style diner cafe and good shop. Nice friendly staff. Easy to spend several hours browsing.

Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hi Alan - Thanks for your kind comments which have been passed on to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"on display"
in 21 reviews
"vintage cars"
in 14 reviews
"retro cafe"
in 7 reviews
"military aircraft"
in 6 reviews
"aviation history"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful cars"
in 4 reviews
"small museum"
in 4 reviews
"souvenir shop"
in 4 reviews
"interesting collection"
in 3 reviews
"great coffee"
in 4 reviews
"worth a stop"
in 5 reviews
"toy museum"
in 6 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 6 reviews
"new zealand"
in 10 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 4 reviews
"restored"
in 20 reviews
"exhibits"
in 27 reviews
Filter

159 - 163 of 219 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

This place is so polished and in such good maintenance, that you must applaud them. Those vintage cars in there are to die for. The Dusenbergs and Cadillacs and Fords...Oh wait I just love fighter planes. So this was the ideal place for me to see them up, close and personal.

Thank PriyahGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thanks for your review. We get lots of comments like this from people who come in not really sure what they're going to see and going away very happy with the high standard and diversity of our various exhibits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Was very interesting great history awesome vehicles and planes. Would recommend to anyone that is into the history of these plane and cars.

Thank BoBo6977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thanks for the review which we have passed on to the staff. We think it's a 'pretty cool' place as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

As some others have mentioned, not worth he price of admission. $20 per adult for a couple planes and a few cars.

My biggest peeve, being a car buff, was the display of the cars with their hoods CLOSED. Seriously? Who goes through the effort of restoring these things and then doesn't even prop the hood open so you can see the engine?

Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Warbirds and Wheels visitor attraction features five aircraft which trace the evolution of the fighting aircraft from the WWI SE-5A to the A4 Skyhawk Jet. Our car display features more than 20 vehicles. In terms of our cars we get many fantastic responses about the quality, as opposed to quantity, of vehicles we have in our facility. For instance there are museums in NZ with more Packards but we would argue that our Packards are the best overall quality collection in the country Also we have had hoods up on some of the cars in the past but then we have had people asking us to put them down so they can take photos so we have now left the hoods down. If someone wants us to put up a bonnet to see the engine all they have to do is ask. Thanks for your comments we are sorry you didn't have the same experience as the majority of our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Like a previous reviewer we were disappointed with the number of items on show. We had been expecting many more planes and tributes to fighter pilots, instead we found just 5 planes, some engines, a collection of beautifully preserved motor cars, a display of modern art and a gallery feature about the founder of the "Wings over Wanaka" air show, none of which sot comfortably together.

What was there was beautifully displayed and explained and the whole place was bright and clean, bit the experience was not worth the $20 adult admission fee.

We had lunch in the retro-style café. The food was good and reasonable and the place bright and clean.

Thank Caslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Just another reminder that we are NOT the NZ Fighter Pilot's Museum which used to be at Wanaka Airport until it closed down a few years ago. By the time that facility closed down most of Sir Tim Wallis' fine collection of Warbirds aircraft had left Wanaka. However, we do have five aircraft in our display which seeks to trace the evolution of fighting aircraft from our WWI SE 5A through to the imposing A4 Skyhawk jet. As the reviewer points out our facility is more than a Warbirds museum. It features the story of Warbirds Over Wanaka International Airshow founder Sir Tim Walls, a world-class collection of cars - including the only Duesenberg Model J in the southern hemisphere - an impressive collection of original NZ art, a retail shop and a diner serving great food and coffee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warbirds & Wheels also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Warbirds & Wheels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing