We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“history”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Warbirds & Wheels

Warbirds & Wheels
Ranked #26 of 73 things to do in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our world-class visitor attraction showcases a collection of Warbirds aircraft, over 30 world class and privately owned classic cars, RealArt Roadshow of unique New Zealand art, wearable arts and tales of a local legend Sir Tim Wallis. This attraction also contains a 1950's retro diner with a wide range of delicious snacks baked on site daily, diner-style meals and refreshments, and retail shop with loads of exciting car and aircraft memorabilia. Open seven days 9am to 5pm. Located at the Wanaka airport, 9km from the township.
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

great place to visit and see a part of aviation history.
loved it
some beautifully restored aircraft here some thing I am interested in some of the group I was with were not into aircraft but enjoyed it also

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thanks. Lots of our visitors agree with this reviewer that our visitor attraction has so much variety. We have the Warbird aircraft, a world-class collection of cars, original NZ Art, the story of a local legend, a retail shop and a great cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    65
    24
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“I like the cars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The collection of Packard cars are just wonderful. They have been lovingly restore back to original condition. The exhibition on dear hunting in the mountains was fascinating

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We are very proud of our classic car collection especially the Packards and the only Model J Duesenberg in the Southern Hemisphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fascinating and interesting place with a good cafe for after”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The collection of aircraft and motor vehicles in this museum is very interesting and make for an enjoyable hour or so. There is a lot of information available to read as you go, so its a quick romp of 'look at that' then leave. I love old war planes and this exhibit was good. I'm not really a car buff and found their collection to be really interesting. It was well worth it. A hot cuppa in the cafe after was very nice too. It is done out in an American diner style and was good. The only down side for me at the cafe was not being able to get gluten free food (other than chocolate), but apparently they do usually have one item for the likes of me. I was just unlucky that day. Recommend a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Possumcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We are glad you had such a good time at Warbirds and Wheels. As you were told we usually have a gluten free option available in the cafe and your comments have been passed on to the chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Wow! what a great place to visit. I could spend hours here. The exhibits were exceptional and extremely well maintained. Ed Taylor the owner of Warbirds & Wheels has some exceptional stories to tell! I loved the museum and only wished I had a lot longer time to spend here. Its a must do activity in Wanaka! They have a little shop with some great stuff. I bought 6 coffee mugs that were shaped liked trucks...my gosh! carried them like a baby so it reached home safely and what a big hit they have been with all my friends!Thank you Ed for a great time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shobhana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Glad you enjoyed it so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Warbirds and Wheels, Wanaka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

A rainy day in Wanaka was well spent visiting the Warbirds and Wheels museum in the beautiful Central Otago township of Wanaka. A delicious brunch was enjoyed in the retro cafe and then a stroll around the museum to admire the array of spectacular vintage cars on display. We were enthralled with the stories that accompanied each car and in particular the beautiful Duesenberg that once belonged to Carol Lomard, wife of Clark cable. Also on display, a past history of flying machines Well worth the visit - particularly if you are car/plane enthusiast. Definitely put this on your 'to do' list if you are visiting Wanaka

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warbirds & Wheels also viewed

 

Been to Warbirds & Wheels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing